We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The ideal place to stay when visiting the Alhambra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
NYC Area
Level Contributor
173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The ideal place to stay when visiting the Alhambra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Parador is housed in a renovated monastery within the walls of the Alhambra. It is one of only 2 hotels thus situated (the other being the Hotel America). It is a luxury hotel in every sense of the word, from the rooms to the setting to the restaurants within to the public areas. It has its own gardens adjacent to the Alhambra gardens that provide a pleasant stroll. It also has free WiFi, a bit unusual for an upscale hotel.

We had a spectacular view of the Alhambra gardens from our room; most rooms have this view, and the ones that don't have an equally spectacular view of the city of Granada. Rooms are very modern, with "smart card" key entry (rather than swipe cards), remote lighting control, plenty of storage, a minibar that wasn't too overpriced, and comfortable bed. The bathroom was very modern and practical.

Entrance to the Alhambra itself is just steps away.

Overall, as close to a perfect stay as you can imagine, and worth the price.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay here, reserve VERY early; 3 months or more ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    288
    99
    46
    23
See reviews for
207
605
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

It is not a huge or grand parador like the ones in Leon or Santiago de Compostela, but a lot smaller and intimate. Its location for a visit to the Alhambra and Generalife can't be better; it's literally a hop, skip and jump away, which made our morning visit a lot more convenient and less stressful. If you're driving, there's secure parking onsite, which is a big plus.

Our room was in the new wing, and was very modern, unlike many of the other paradors we've stayed in.

We had dinner in the terrace overlooking the Generalife gardens. The food and wine was not bad, but not spectacular.

Breakfast was another matter altogether. Pepe at reception had assured us breakfast was very good, and he was not kidding. We stayed at 4 paradors during this trip, and came to the conclusion that breakfast at any parador is "muy bueno". The breads were particularly good.

We had planned this trip to Granada rather late, and of course one can't visit Granada without touring the Alhambra. We had tried to book tickets online but all tickets for the day were sold out. So I contacted the parador and made it known that our trip to Granada and our intended stay at the parador was contingent on our procuring tickets to the Alhambra. I was assured very promptly that 2 tickets would be reserved for us, which made planning the trip a lot more certain.

We checked out the next morning prior to our visit to the Alhambra and Generalife and were able to leave our car and luggage at the secure parking area until the afternoon.

All in all, a very positive experience. I would highly recommend this parador to anyone visiting Granada. It is not a cheap place, but well worth the price in my opinion.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The property exceeded our expectations. Fantastic location, just outside the Alhambra, yet quiet. I recommend a stay in the modern section. The bathroom was lovely, modern, and large and a beds were quiet comfortable. We had a lovely stroll around the property without all of tourist fuss and were able to get early tickets for the Alhambra itself. The staff was very friendly and the onsite food was much better than it needed to be given the location. All in all an excellent experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, va
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Parador de Granada fulfilled--and surpassed--our hope that the Alhambra would be the climax of a three-week journey through southern Spain. In fact, our stay in this parador, right inside the Alhambra yet sheltered from the sightseeing hordes, tops the memorable experiences which we have enjoyed around the world. Staying in the “unique room” 304, a duplex in the Torre del Alba, no doubt accounts for part of the bliss, but we are convinced that every room reflects the excellence of this hotel. In this former monastery de San Francisco, lovingly restored and ingeniously adapted, we found the most balanced combination of rich history, stunning surroundings, modern comfort, gentle friendliness, exquisite cuisine, and restorative peace. Everyone made us feel like VIPs, from the warm reception (especially by Ana) and the attentive dinner care (especially by Bartolomeo) to a personal tour by the Director, Señor Juan Carlos Sánchez Gálvez. Thanks to this extra treat, we could appreciate even better how wonderfully the Parador preserves the past while accommodating the present. This is convenience without compromise, luxury without frivolity, and class without ostentation. Reviewers have observed, quite sensibly, that this is a very expensive establishment. We found that this splurge was entirely worth the expense--even if it drained our piggy bank!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trimardWashington_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Granada is a real jewel and this parador location is a dream. Staff from arrival to departure was warm and faultless. You are in the Alhambra ... This is the secret and walking there under the stars brings you back to the Califat! But the room are small and you do pay for the location...don t expect too high standards. The restaurant food was good but again the restaurant itself could be less cold ... So warmer interior design would be necessary...after all it is Andalucia!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrsoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I last stayed here in 2002. It has since been upgraded and modernized but retains its charm and character.
Pepe and Nestor from front office were helpful and friendly. I was assigned a standard room - small compared to what I'm accustomed to in my Parador experience, but well appointed with modern anenities and very comfy!! Had it not been a busy weekend, Pepe would have upgraded me, as a returning guest, to a room with a city view. Food and service at the bar was fine. No complaints at all. I had run of the house and enjoyed exploring the old wing. Would I return? Yes, for proximity to Alhambra, the Parador de San Franciso just can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights and found the Parador to be a wonderful experience. The location is stunning and the building within which the Parador is housed is full of history. It's worth taking the short tour which is described in the hotel material. Our room was quite spacious and very comfortable and we had wonderful views of the Generalife and gardens. The staff were helpful and considerate. It is also only about 10 minutes walk into town (downhill) and a regular bus is available for the return (uphill) trip. That meant we had the best of both worlds - we could wander around within the Alhambra walls, but could also venture out to Granada in the evening to explore the bars and restaurants. Obviously this is not a cheap place to stay but for that special ocassion, it's quite an experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuxtonTravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#18 of 124 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Property: Parador de Granada
Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing