We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has to have the best location in Spain, if not Europe. We spent just one night here but had more than we could ask for, with the Alhambra a short, leisurely walk away. After arriving and checking in, we had a quick lunch in the restaurant before we went to the Alhambra, to see the great palace left by the Moors.

On return, we decided to have dinner in the parador, where we sat on the veranda, which proved to be a brilliant decision; becoming one of the best meals we had in our two week trip to Spain (due to the atmosphere and the food!)

After dinner we remained seated at the table and had a few more drinks and sunk all the atmosphere possible in. With that, we decided to retire to our rooms, leading to one of the best night's sleep i have ever had in the comfiest bed imaginable.

The next day we woke up early and attended breakfast which was delightful, as it needed to be to be worthy of it's hefty price tag! Finally after that, we departed but we will be back soon, it is a must stay at hotel, without a doubt!

-Pros:
incredible location, couldn't be bettered
steeped in history
exceedingly comfy bed
space-age like bathroom

-Cons:
The only thing you can argue with is the cost, as it is so much more expensive than any other parador, but considering what you get and where it is, you'd need to be very mean to feel grudged by it!
The Alhambra can be exceedingly busy in the afternoon, so i highly recommend going in the early morning!

Room Tip: as with many of the paradors, most double rooms come with two single beds, and ask for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fillan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    339
    126
    52
    30
See reviews for
251
752
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was a highlight of our two week trip to Spain. This Parador was the best value - the nicest hotel for the price in Spain. We stayed at a wide range of hotels and this one was special. We were in room 302 - great view, excellent wireless, each morning there was a perfect breakfast served on a lovely porch on the first floor. The hotel is on the grounds of the Alhambra - you can't get better than that. Helpful staff, quiet location, lush gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secondnightfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almunecar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent one night in the Parador as a birthday treat. We were, I think, in the old part, Cool patio with fountain orange tree and fountain with comfortable chairs in the centre.Lots of antiques and paintings. Room not large but very comfortable and well fitted, big modern bathroom and balcony overlooking the Generalife. Efficient airconditioning. Dinner on terrace under trees and softly lit was excellent staff friendly and interested and the fig ice cream to die for! Set in large sensory garden with scent of roses and lavendar and overlooking the Summer palace. After dinner strolled through to the Palace for a night visit (has to be prebooked). Very gently lit which shows the ancient palace at its best, and not as busy as day visits. Lovely views of Granada at night.
Superb location, expensive probably but worth every euro!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68maz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
301 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This wonderful parador has a spectacular location right in the heart of the Alhambra over looking the Generalife and gardens. We stayed 3 nights and used the opportunity the location afforded to spend chunks of time in the Alhambra attractions on each day. We had a comfortable room, not huge, but with good facilities. Like other paradors, the service and amenities here can be a little variable. The reception staff especially have a rather governmental attitude. The restaurant / cafe area, though, was wonderful with a lovely covered terrace with water sprays during the day and a glorious open area for evening. The evening meals were good enough that we had no desire to eat elsewhere. We ate a range of local speciality dishes, beautifully prepared, in a stunning location. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdandgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

No better or worse than any other Parador and certainly not as well sited as Hostal dos Rei Catholicos in Santiago, this Parador has the cachet of being actually inside the Alhambra. One pays very handsomely for this privilege, probably 30% more than an equivalent Parador in a less ritzy location; 849 Euros for five for one night in two rooms with tapas and main course apperatifs and one bottle of wine at the Parador's terrace restaurant, and breakfast. That's a lot for a Parador.

Rooms were good, clean and well equipped, like any Parador, and the service was efficient and polite without being in any way special. Very noisy music from the town kept us awake until 1am.

Complimentary car parking made an 8.30 guided tour of the Alhambra per se a breeze.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest that's very expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a couple nights. Plusses:

Great location. unbeatable if you want something near Alhambra. Easy to get to center of old part of town to but a bit of a hike back.

Food is good but the view from the restaurant of Generalife is spectacular especially when the lights come on at night.

Clean.

Minuses:

Very expensive. Not sure it is worth it. Rooms are small for what they are. Within the family we differ on whether it was worth staying here.

Somehow toilet paper must be pricey. Part of a roll in a room seemed to mean no more tp until that was used up. After asking a couple times, which produced another roll, we bought some.

Third person supplement is a rip off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poodledoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

No better place to be than right on the grounds of the Alhambra! The window of our lovely room looked out on the amazing gardens and the Generalife. The architecture and history of the building are truly remarkable and, as far as the lodgings are concerned, no detail is overlooked. The only disappointment was the restaurant in the hotel, which was unfortunately not what you might expect in a place like this. The weather was cool, so we couldn't sit on the terrace, which might have made it more appealing, but the food, service, and atmosphere in the dining room left much to be desired.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4life59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Property: Parador de Granada
Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing