We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life in a fairytale pop-up book!”
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Life in a fairytale pop-up book!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had high expectations when we arrived, and they were immediately met the moment we were lead to our room. The view from our balcony was absolutely breathtaking as was our four-poster king size bed and size of room. We organised for the half-board and there was no doubt to the quality and quantity of food available at both our 3 course dinner and buffet breakfast! I am so glad we budgeted to allow for this stay as it is certainly in my top 3 highlights of a 3 month long Europe trip!

Room Tip: We were recommeded to pay the extra fee to have a balcony and believe it was good advice and I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lm_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    347
    127
    53
    31
See reviews for
253
762
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We did not stay here, but had drinks & dinner on the terrace, yet we did walk around the hotel.

The hotel itself is wonderful, but a bit soul-less, in my mind.
The terrace is tricky to reach from the inside of the hotel, yet there is a door from the front courtyard.

The staff was polite & nice. The food was good, looked better than it tasted.
Prices were ok, 3 courses & a bottle of rosé wine for 2 was about 100 euro's.

The views of the Alhambra gardens was great, that was the major treat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Moors transformed a rocky mountainous desert into a water-drenched paradise in Granada, and staying in this parador is about as close as one can get to sharing that experience. The parador is within the walls of a very old monastery, dedicated to Saint Francis, and is itself historical enough. Isabella and Ferdinand, probably the most famous Spanish couple, were once buried there, although they now reside in splendid tombs within the Seville cathedral. A quiet stroll around the parador will reveal special historical moments which make the stay even more special. There is a magnificent courtyard within the parador, quiet and cool and very elegant.

We took a taxi from the airport, which is a long way from the city of Granada, and the ride up the hill from the crowded city to the Alhambra itself is exhilirating, through narrow steep streets where traffic lights control the flow to one way. When we pulled up outside the parador, we were thrilled by the ancient walls and the magnificent positiion it occupies. The reception staff were excellent, very friendly and informative, and our room was really very good, given we were travelling as a threesome (one couple and a friend). The double bed did occupy the best part of the room, but the second bed was discreetly tucked away so that we all felt we could sleep, dress and generally hang out without being in each other's faces. The bathroom was fine - marble, biggish, nicely appointed. But the main reason one stays at this parador is because it is inside the grounds of the Alhambra, and it offers views across the valley to the Generalife gardens and various palaces (our room had just such a view). To sit on the terrace drinking a beer as the sun goes down is a truly magical experience (matched only by watching the sun set on the Alhambra from over the valley, in the Albaicin, which we did the second night).

We did eat dinner at the parador one night and did find the food strangely bland. But the experience made up for it - sitting at the very edge of the terrace, drinking fine cold white wine and being fussed over by very attentive and friendly waiters.

Breakfast (which was included in our package) was superb - eggs cooked every which way, terrific fruit, cold meats, cheese, lovely breads and croissants - AND a bottle of cava (Spanish fizz) hiding discreetly in the chiller, a glass with breakfast definitely being the way to start a day!

I've read some of the unfavourable reviews here in TripAdvisor, and think I must have stayed somewhere different. The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly, laughing at my feeble attempts to speak Spanish and helping me out with words I didn't know. In fact, on the last morning there, the lovely woman who served at breakfast, who didn't speak a single word of English, took my hands and thanked me profusely for being a guest (my Spanish is good enough to understand that!).

Yes, the parador is expensive. I think it's worth every euro, and I would recommend it to anyone for their Bucket List. The whole Alhambra experience is #1 on my list of top 10 experiences on this particular trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Generalife Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Staying at this Parador is quite an experience! You're staying within the walls of the Alhambra in Granada, inside an old beautiful Monestery. To make the stay even more enjoyable, all the rooms are well appointed and very modern in style. The only issues could be getting a reservation and the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This parador within the walls of The Alhambra is an enchanting place. The staff are lovely, eating and drinking on the terrace overlooking the gardens of The Alhambra is a memorable experience.
To be in the palace grounds when all the day visitors have left in the evening is also special.
The rooms are very nice, good bed, great shower and a well stocked mini bar and a nice gift of olive oil.
It was expensive but all 4 of us thought it worth the premium PLUS parking in The Alhambra grounds right next to the hotel was a bonus.
Happy memories!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked this hotel in advance and, although it was expensive, it had been recommended to us so we felt it would be a real treat.

It is a little difficult to find and the car park is small and poorly signposted so we were a bit frazzled when we finally arrived after a long drive from Valencia. The gentleman who checked us in was perfunctory and slow, which didn't help with our stress levels.

The location of the hotel is beautiful but the room was only average. It was not as clean as I would have liked and, in particular, the bathroom was a bit grubby. The bed was rather uncomfortable and neither my husband or myself got a good night's sleep, although the room was quiet.

Dinner on the terrace was the real treat here with beautiful views and a very romantic setting. The food was lovely with local and regional dishes on offer. Dessert was a little disappointing though - my husband's tiramisu was still frozen in the middle!

I would recommend a visit to this hotel for lunch or dinner to enjoy the views and the historic building itself but perhaps find a more comfortable and less expensive hotel nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cat_laff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from August 4 to 6 2012. This is a beautiful property, and we had booked it with booking.com, paid in full in advance. When we got there, they did not have our reservation on file. To make up for this, they gave us two rooms at the price of one and apologized. When we got to the counter to check out, the manager (who was not there the day of checkin) refused to give us the second room free of cost and said he did not believe it and would not even check with the man who was on staff who had given us the two rooms. This made the entire experience sour. Other than that, this hotel has beautiful grounds, and is truly a place too see - but maybe not to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Property: Parador de Granada
Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing