We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Form Trumps Function”
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Fantastic location, but the newer rooms, at least, are so poorly designed and impractical as to be laughable - if we weren't paying aproximately $400/night. As others have noted, the rooms are small; we could live with that. What is nearly intolerable is the total absence of drawers and only one shelf in the entire room. Not sure where they expect you to put your clothes since most of us don't hang up our underwear. The bathroom is another design disaster; not a hook, no towel rack, nowhere to place toiletries etc..

We travel all over the world and are increasingly encountering this trend in "boutique" hotels that looked great on the drawing board but are utterly useless to the guest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moxieflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

we had a superior room which was on the small side to say the least and as for the lift! you could only get one person and one case in at a time. We have stayed at may paradors which we would wholeheartedly reccomend but not this one

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

If you are staying in Granada primarily to visit the Alhambra this is the place for you. Walk out of the hotel onto the beautiful Alhambra grounds. See the Alhambra at sunrise and sunset. The hotel has beautiful, modern rooms. Peaceful and quiet.

The only negative thing I can say about this Parador is it is overpriced. You pay a big premium for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were staying a pretty grim hotel near by & wanted a bit of luxury. The view from the terrace over looking the Generalife Gardens is breath taking. A great place to linger.
Lunch was fine but we go to Paradors for the other things they offer like a stately home for the price of a meal or room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Alhambra in Granada has always been a dream place for me. So when I decided to go and see it last spring, I chose to spend the night within the site, at Parador de Granada. Of course, the hotel is very expensive but the experience is exceptional in an exceptional site: the feeling to wonder at night in the site at sunset, after the crownd is gone, is pure magic. The quality of the hotel cannot be denied, from the staff to the size of the room and its perfect cleanliness, the size of the beautiful bathroom, and the restaurant.
A very good idea for a very special night in an exceptional site, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniZinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked through booking.com which gave us a great deal on a room although only could get one night. we wish we could have stayed there for longer!

it was not easy to reach the hotel by car as you have to drive through the crowds visiting the alhambra, but we were able right next to the hotel in a gated carpark - great asset for the hotel. we left the keys at the desk and trusted them with this.

The staff were highly professional and very friendly.

Although they offer internet the signal was intermittent in our room, but this did not matter - the views made up for any technical hitch!

the hotel is kept very clean and there is an air of exclusivity and calm away from the crowds.

we would recommend walking around the palace after the crowds have left in the evening.

the only let for this fantastic hotel is the restaurant. tasting menu was odd and waitress was miserable.

breakfast was excellent, and we were booked onto a tour by the hotel and the were most helpful in arranging this, but we would recommend that you email/phone ahead to book with them. 3 hour tour was well worth it.

we intend to visit the parador again soon, but we will eat dinner in downtown granada!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clancy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Everything was fine. For the price we paid I expected a few more bells& whistles. You are paying a or the premium for the location. You can walk right over to the Alahambra while others are left to walk up and down hills to get on the grounds.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,606 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
809 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,340 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $237 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing