We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Albero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albero
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this lovely little hotel last year when we visited Granada and this year we decided to take our two grown-up children with us. We were lucky enough to have the same room which had been beautifully redecorated since we last visited and had a balcony overlooking the tunnel. The family who run it are very friendly and helpful and got us tickets for the Alhambra which is just up the road. A bus runs there from outside the hotel and just down from the hotel to the town centre where there are lots of nice restaurants to eat. We would certainly recommend this hotel, it is very clean, friendly and convenient to all attractions and you can park in the street for free. We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Our room was onto the road but the windows are well glazed so no traffic noise and beds are really c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruciebonus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    196
    28
    6
    0
See reviews for
122
297
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a nice hotel, run by lovely people. The rooms are certainly more than one star standard; clean, fresh and modern. Because the owners/staff are so friendly I find it difficult to raise a couple of problems. Firstly the beds are not the most comfortable with very hard mattresses, but this seems to be normal in Spanish hotels. However, the biggest concern is noise. Well insulated from the outside environment it suffers from annoyance inside. Unless you are last in and first out you are liable to have disturbed sleep. All the rooms are on one level, served by a single corridor from the front door. The lower the number of your room the worse the problem is: rooms 101 to 105 should be avoided and if you can get 114 (the furthest from the door) you have a result. The aforementioned difficulty, I should point out, is lack of consideration by fellow guests. Good value, nice people, value breakfast, Proximity to town not a problem if you do not mind hopping on a bus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvversofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a great hotel value.
We had a little trouble finding it because the street where it is located did not register on our GPS. The owner said that was a common problem. My suggestion is to download the directions from the hotel's website, as those are very easy to follow. But back to the hotel. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. The owner was very helpful about booking our Alhambra tickets and also a fun flamenco show. My husband and I decided to ask him to book another dinner flamenco show and he set that up for us as well. Then he checked back with us the next morning about the quality of the show and whether we had had a good time. That was good service for a hotel that charges 40 euro a night. Another tip: one of the loveliest restaurants I have ever seen is located half a block away. I can't remember the name of it, but the owner will tell you where it is and it is very close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpup50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dfw, tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This lovely family run hotel was a bargain! Not fancy, but the place was clean and the bus stops just to the left to go to the Alhambra and down to the right to go to town. We booked at the last minute and got a room with 3 single beds but that was fine. The room faced the street but there was not much traffic noise once you pulled down the shutters, and that also made it nice and dark in the morning. Bathroom is a bit small but the shower pressure was great and the water hot. Good wifi. At night after sightseeing all day, we walked out to the right then right again and down the slight hill where we found several restaurants to eat in without having to go into town. About a 10 minute walk. Staff was very helpful, warm and friendly. We did not have tickets to the Alhambra as there were non available on-line but I phoned the hotel and they were able to get them for me, no problem. If you do not want to eat breakfast at the hotel, there is a place right down the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I chose this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and it lived up to expectations in every way. This is a well-run, high quality, budget hotel which offers excellent value and concedes little to establishments charging much more. The room was immaculate and of an adequate size, the shower-romm was spotless,the basic juice/bread/croissant/coffee breakfast was perfectly adequate and very inexpensive. The free wi-fi signal was very strong (unlike several far more expensive paradors we stayed at) and the location is very convenient if you are hiring a car, being directly opposite the start of the ring road and also an easy no.33 bus ride into town. Just don't forget to ask when the bus reaches the Cathedral (as you cannot see it from the road). Parking on street behind the hotel is free but spaces are scarce - although the hotel underground car park is only 5 euros a day. It is NOT within walking distance of Alhamba, though. You can walk there from the town but not from the hotel. Strongly recommended. Also, by the bus stop is an excellent local restaurant, Albanta, where we had a quality meal for 20 euros each with decent wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank npallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and had good lighting. The AC and WIFI worked very well. The bathroom was small but updated. It was very quiet even though it was close to the road. The optional breakfast at 3.5 euros, consisting of juice, coffee, rolls and pastry, was convenient and not too expensive. Two nearby bus routes provided easy access to the old town and the Alhambra. There was free street parking if you have a rental car. The hotel was a very good value for the price.

One minor complaint that we had was with the description of the hotel as being "within walking distance" of the Alhambra. While technically true, it is not an easy walk, especially when the weather is hot. We are seasoned walkers, and yet we found the 35 minute mostly uphill walk in 90 degree (F) heat quite a chore. So, if the weather is hot, take the 13 bus or your rental car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walk1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great family run hotel with very clean room and good warm shower. Jose was very helpful by helping us to purchase tickets prior to our arrival. Staff were very nice and friendly. They tried all their way to communicate to us although they only speak Spanish. The location did not bother us as we had a rented car and moreover the public bus stop was an easy ride from the hotel. Breakfast was served with nice cafe con leche and bread with marmalade. The coffee was good! A good choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryltps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#23 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albero

Property: Albero
Address: Avenida Sta. Maria de La Alhambra 6 1c, 18008 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#8 Family Hotel in Granada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albero 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Albero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albero Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing