We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you, Wilfredo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you, Wilfredo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We recently returned from a vacation in Spain that took us to Granada for 3 nights. Friends had recommended other hotels that were booked, so we again put our trust in our fellow Trip Advisors and we were not disappointed. This hotel hits the mark in the usual ways: charming, comfortable, situated in the Albayzin section with good access to great dining, and a short uphill to the Alhambra, making for unending evening monument gazing.
However, where this place truly excelled was in the generous advice provided to us by Wilfredo at the front desk. He explained the ticketing system for the Alhambra (ticketmaster take note--your website directions in Spanish don't help those of us who took French in high school), suggested excellent dining off the beaten path, and called EuropCar for us to make our rental car reservation. He was always cheerful, even when we had trouble with the front door buzzer. His English is impeccable, owing to an extended stint in Ireland and a brother in Miami. Thank you, Wilfredo!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    219
    44
    10
    2
See reviews for
77
480
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel could not be better placed to visit both Granada and The Alhambra. It has an excellent location (with parking) and excellent English speaking staff. It is an old building with rooms located around a central courtyard. Our room and en-suite were both large, well decorated and quiet. 15 minutes walk (uphill!!) found us at the entrance to the Alhambra without any problems at all. We bought tickets in advance on the internet and all went well. Finding the Hotel was a bit intimidating driving through the narrow streets of Granada, but the hotel website gives very good directions and our satnav did the rest. I don't give 5 "blobs" easily, but the hotel deserves them. Just being able to park directly outside the hotel was an absolute bonus and proved to be no trouble at all.
If you want to see Granada and The Alhambra, then The Hotel Casa Morisca is the base to do it from. Our thanks to the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Casa Morisca is a boutique hotel. The decoration is fantastic and you have a taste of the arabic atmosphere. The rooms are ample, clean and with a homely feeling. Nice shower, good toiletry. The location is fantastic: both Albaicin neighborhood and the magnificent Alhambra are reachable by a 10-15 minutes walking.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorganaHifeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We were on our honeymoon and wanted to stay only in small boutique hotels in historical center of the city away from the hustle bustle of the main town. This tiny little hotel was just the place. It's right at the end of the lane, has been converted from someone's old home and has a feeling of living in an old European mansion itself. It's just a stones throw away from Alhambra and allows you to explore the small bylanes of the town anytime you want due to proximity. The hotel itself has many small corners u can enjoy like a small library or the lounge area which seems more like living room. The breakfast was very fresh and the area where they serve it is thoroughly enjoyable, made of brick and mud and in the basement. While granada itself is a gorgeous town, casa morisca added to its beauty. Front desk was very warm and helped us a lot too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you want atmosphere then this Hotel has it in abundance. We followed the map the Hotel provided and we found it without difficulty. We had no problems parking our car opposite the Hotel and were barely out of the car before our cases were collected and carried into the Hotel. We upgraded on arrival and our room on the 1st floor was all we had hoped for. I could fault nothing in the room. After walking up the steep cobbled streets of Granada, the jacuzzi in our en-suite was very welcome. It is a very short walk to the Plaza and river at the bottom of the street and within very easy level walking to the main Plazas, shops and restaurants. The City tour bus passes at the bottom the street and a guided visit to the Alhambra can be booked at the Hotel.
We had a family emergency that caused us to curtail our visit to Granada and the staff could not have been more supportive or helpful. I would definitely wish to return and stay at the Casa Morisca again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

When we checked in Louis informed us we had the best room in Europe. Room 15, on the 3rd floor (lift goes to 2nd floor) is a corner room with windows on 2 sides. The view of the Alhambra is fabulous and the room is perfect. Downtown Granada is just down the street.

Only downside is that the entrance to the Alhambra is on the other side. We made the mistake of driving there and it took the best part of an hour.

Room Tip: Go for room 15. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent a lovely few nights at Casa Morisca esarlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
The hotel is well located, along the " river" toward the end of the road, with superb views from the street of the Alhambra, Nazrid Palace, which is spectacular day and night.
The rooms are not large but certainly were adequate. The building dates from the 1400s having (we were told) been a minor palace in its time. The rooms are around a central closed courtyard and the Moorish influence is very strong indeed. The breakfast room is a cavern downstairs.
On the first floor, our street-facing room was bright and full of character. The bed was fine; bathroom okay; and amazingly, the TV variety was easily the best we had in Spain despite the fact that this was the only 3 star hotel we stayed in (sometimes it is pleasant to relax with an English-language movie after a long day walking around the sights!)
Service was friendly and faultless. Only irritation was that noise on one night only came from "flamenco dancers" upstairs.
I reckon this is a top value hotel so am pleased to recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 5 on the first floor was just fine and enjoyed a pleasant location with great natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWGGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
17Chusa17, Gerente at Hotel Casa Morisca, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias.
Su opinion nos anima a seguir trabajando por los huespedes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Property: Hotel Casa Morisca
Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing