We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
324 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent a lovely few nights at Casa Morisca esarlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
The hotel is well located, along the " river" toward the end of the road, with superb views from the street of the Alhambra, Nazrid Palace, which is spectacular day and night.
The rooms are not large but certainly were adequate. The building dates from the 1400s having (we were told) been a minor palace in its time. The rooms are around a central closed courtyard and the Moorish influence is very strong indeed. The breakfast room is a cavern downstairs.
On the first floor, our street-facing room was bright and full of character. The bed was fine; bathroom okay; and amazingly, the TV variety was easily the best we had in Spain despite the fact that this was the only 3 star hotel we stayed in (sometimes it is pleasant to relax with an English-language movie after a long day walking around the sights!)
Service was friendly and faultless. Only irritation was that noise on one night only came from "flamenco dancers" upstairs.
I reckon this is a top value hotel so am pleased to recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 5 on the first floor was just fine and enjoyed a pleasant location with great natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWGGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
17Chusa17, Gerente at Hotel Casa Morisca, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias.
Su opinion nos anima a seguir trabajando por los huespedes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    227
    45
    10
    2
See reviews for
83
502
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claviers, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here for several days in January with my adult daughter. Many U.S. and European cities would be fortunate to have such an excellent boutique hotel. It is beautifully outfitted in both the common spaces and the individual rooms, with authentic historical details and, in the rooms, lovely combinations of exposed wood, colorful tiles, and Arabesque paint and plaster work. It is as quiet as a whisper; even the elevator near our door was noiseless. The breakfasts are copious, fresh, delicious, and a value for their cost. In fact, the entire hotel is a remarkable value. The staff personnel as friendly, helpful, and Anglophonic. Finally, the walk from the hotel to the Alhambra, across the Duro and up the "back" hill path is by far the more stunning way to approach the palace. Behind the hotel is the entire Albayzin, much the best other place to spend time in Granada. There are other good hotels in town, but for my experience this is the most pleasant, and one of the best I know in Europe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights , the hotel is very close to Alhambra Palace which is one of the reasons we chose it , it also has parking facilities which i think is pretty rare in Granada . The hotel is very quaint with interesting features , the reception staff were excellent and spoke great English . We were a party of 3 couples and each room was different , our room was a superior double with a side view to the street and palace , the rooms are very classic with moorish touches . and although on the small side they were great . They also had tea/coffee facilities which i think is unusual in Spain . The reception staff were excellent when we had a problem with very loud music coming from the room above in the middle of the night and it was dealt with very quickly .
This is definitely a hotel i would return to and Granada itself is a lovely city , i love the free tapas with your drinks . We don't get that in Murcia where i live . The only downside of the city was that some of the bars and restaurants seemed to close very early , not sure if that was because of the time of year and the city not being busy with tourists

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merc2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Having been here a couple of days last Sept., I fetl I needed another dose of Granada and Alhambra. The best thing is thatm having seen Alhambra, one can concentrate on the rest of it, like Albayzin, Sacromonte and other parts. This hotel is still wonderful, location is unbeatable and I enjoyed it thoroughly once again. everything was perfect. I did not bother with the breakfast here though, there are so many more places to have one... Let's see how long I will have this time before I come here again. Cannot be that long, that's for sure!

Room Tip: Room 9 if you are alone, 11 or 12 for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had two rooms (a deluxe and a standard) here during our recent visit to Spain, and found it to be a very good choice for us. Our room was nicely sized, with a comfortable bed and good bath; best of all we had a view of the Alhambra out our window…wow! The hotel has a central courtyard/atrium in the classic Moorish style. Both rooms were nicely decorated and the location is quite convenient to town and the Alhambra.
Service was quite helpful--including good restaurant recommendations and helping us get there (it is in the old city; they provide very good detailed directions upon booking but a few of the turns were tricky, we found). Breakfast was adequate, not exceptional, and is served (as we found at several hotels in Spain), in a basement room. So this location is apparently typical but to our minds, a bit odd.
A very good option, recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is a gem! A lovely, historic property right in the old quarter with lovely views of the Alhambra. We stayed in the Mirador room - you can lie in bed and gaze on the Alhambra, all lit up at night. Quite beautiful. The room itself was lovely, with intricate wooden ceilings and wooden-framed windows and furniture that added to the charm of the place, and the room was also impeccably clean. There is also free parking right outside the hotel. We found the staff incredibly helpful and warm, and always available. There are lovely restaurants right down the street, and breakfast is available in the hotel for a fee. For some reason, we misunderstood it to be included in the room price - perhaps because the front desk staff told us when breakfast was served, but didn't say the price. So just be aware that it is 10 euros a piece for the ample breakfast that they have available. We chose to get to the Alhambra by bus instead of making the steep climb up the hill - you need to walk about 10 minutes down the street to get to the bus stop, and it gets you right to the gates of the Alhambra. It is true that getting to this hotel is a little tricky, only because your GPS won't find it correctly. Follow the excellent directions (with pictures of landmarks along the way!) that the hotel sends you. We found it just fine using the directions. All in all, a wonderful stay. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The MIrador has stunning views of the Alhambra. Note that there is an elevator to the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smf86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

600yr old gem that's been restored perfectly to add to the experience. Staff we're fantastic location was as good as it gets. Very charming Moorish historic building which added to an amazing time in Granada. Loved everything about this place and would stay again. Worst thing was finding it whilst driving into the old town. That's not a complaint as only added to the experience though my beautiful wife may say different. Highly recommend and we'll be back to Granada and this little gem sometime soon, thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScarboroBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
963 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
916 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,198 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 122 in Granada
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Property: Hotel Casa Morisca
Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing