We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic charm just off the tourist trail”
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic charm just off the tourist trail”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel stay was a gift for our wedding. It's a bit of a harrowing ride if you're driving there, as the streets are crowded with tourists and really not intended for cars, but parking was a breeze once we arrived and the guest manager jumped out to provide assistance.
The hotel has an open interior courtyard and beautiful woodwork that has been preserved/restored. The room we had (11) had high ceilings and windows that easily opened up to the road, as well as heavy wooden shutters and pretty lace curtains. There was cable as well as wifi, and a small (but appreciated) selection of coffees and teas in the room. The included breakfast was fine. I think that this hotel is very well situated- just off the river and a short walk to all the sites. Overall a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: While not terrible, you will hear the elevator if you have a room next to it. We had room 11, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    228
    45
    10
    2
See reviews for
84
505
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just returned from a second stay at this fantastic small hotel in the perfect location in Granada and again would advise anyone to stay at least one night there, with the Alhambra above you outside the door or, depending on the room, outside your window. Breakfast isn't usually included in room rates but is well worth the modest charge. Again I found the reception staff exceptionally helpful and friendly, even parking the car in the tight parking spot in front of the hotel. The driving directions don't appear to have been updated (and are totally different from last year's approach to the hotel) so don't waste your time looking for the call button when you enter the Albayzin to confirm that you're staying at the hotel; you just keep driving and the hotel will report your registration reference. Incidentally the small buses to the Alhambra and Sacromonte stop at the foot of the street.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window as there are some internal rooms with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is propbably the most pictoresque hotel I ever stayed until now. Not only it looks fantastic, the service was great, the rooms excellent and extremely clean. The location is just pure magic AND also very practical: just a short stroll down a cobbled street, you enter the modern world with all the shopping, cafes etc. I really loved this place and am planning to come back in January to go to Alhambra again, this time with less people. I wish I knew about this hotel years ago!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this delightful hotel on the outskirts of Granada. When you walk out of the ancient and imposing front door, you turn right and there in front of you is the Alhambra. But first, you have to find the hotel.....

If you are driving, if you do nothing else, I recommend you download the hotel's instructions on how to find it. Granada is a large city and like many Spanish cities, the narrowest of lanes are open to traffic which can be a bit unnerving if you are used to wider roads. Before we left for Granada, I actually brought up Google maps on my PC, and did the journey using the street view and following the hotel's instructions. I made additional notes of any useful landmarks en route and in the event, I'm very glad that I did as Granada is enjoying many road work schemes at present (September 2013) and there are diversions everywhere. At one point, just when I thought we might be driving round in circles, I spotted a tunnel I'd seen on the Google street view and I knew exactly where I was.

We reached the hotel and they had reserved a parking space for us. A word of warning - the road is a dead end so when you leave, you will have to reverse all the way down the hill.

The hotel itself is a ancient oasis of calm. From the front door and small inner lobby you enter an inner courtyard. The small reception is behind you and the staff could not be more helpful. The two gentlemen we encountered spoke perfect English and were able to give us some useful information regarding restaurants and the collection of our tickets to the Alhambra the next day. Our room was quite small, with an antique wardrobe and chest of drawers but we had everything we needed, including a TV (which we didn't use) and tea and coffee making facilities, which we did. The room was beautifully clean and when we came back from dinner, our beds had been tidied and turned down. The wooden shutters kept out the light and the sounds and we slept well both nights on very comfortable beds. The bathroom again had everything we needed, including a hairdryer, nice towels, some decent shower gel, body lotion and hand wash.

The hotel is situated about ten minutes (interesting) walk along a very narrow street beside the river from the main thoroughfare where there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. We found a decent tapas bar serving real Spanish food as opposed to the usual fast food stuff widely available in all cities. The cathedral is worth a visit if you have time. It's not especially large and from the entrance you have no idea of the magnificent splendour that awaits as you walk round the corner and see the main body of the church. Try it and see.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. It wasn't cheap, but it was worth every penny we paid and I would like to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel and it was just as amazing as my last stay. The hotel is a beautiful 600 year old building in the most beautiful and interesting part on Granada. The rooms while simple are beautifully clean. The breakfast again is simple, but it is delicious and plentiful. There is limited parking outside of the hotel, however once you are at the hotel it is easier to walk to everything in the town. At the end of the road is a boulevard which had views of the Alhambra and several nice little bar/restaurants. In particular the one at the end closest to the hotel has fantastic food and amazing service. Highly recommended! Please stay at this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithkatbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 6 week tour of Spain and Portugal. Our room was very small but had a beautiful view of the Alhambra from the room and bathroom. The staff were really helpful and accommodating. As others said can be difficult to find but we had a parking space right outside. You can walk up to the Alhambra which is amazing. Breakfast in the basement and quite nice. It is a beautiful courtyard building and we did love it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addicted-to-travel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great hotel if you like a quiet hotel in a central location. Great place to walk to all the main sites. There is no restaurant but a good breakfast is served in the basement. Finding the hotel by car would be difficult if it were not for the excellent directions on the web site. You will certainly need these if driving - the area is a maze of pedestrian walkways and one way streets. Without the directions you probably wouldn't even try these streets.. Parking outside the hotel is great. Everything about the hotel is unusual, from the front entrance door (a large wooden gate off the side street) to the old courtyard interior and well appointed rooms. We stayed in room 15 which is on the top floor with great views of the Alhambra. Only choose this room if you don't mind climbing stairs with luggage becasue the lift only reaches the floor below. The staff are very friiendly and hepful. Ask for a restaurant recommendation - there is a great local restaurant with a rooftop view of the Alhambra. Best of all, this hotel is very good value.

Room Tip: Room 15 at the top of the hotel has great views but no lift service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granada100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
976 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
927 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,216 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 122 in Granada
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Property: Hotel Casa Morisca
Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing