We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmen de Santa Ines

Carmen de Santa Ines
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carmen de Santa Ines
Ranked #84 of 96 Granada B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in April in room 9. The hotel was beautiful and in a great location. Room 9 was lovely, the only thing was that it was a little dark but it didn't really matter. Had a lovely bathroom with both a bath & a shower and the beds where very very comfy, was also nice & quiet. In a good location being near lots of restaurants & a fabulous viewing area for the Alhambra. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel that does a regular circuit of the town & takes you up to the Alhambra if you don't want to walk, and it only cost 1 euro no matter how far you go.

  • Liked — Small, beautiful, location
  • Disliked — Room a little dark
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

This hotel was a disappointment. It had the potential to be good. Our room was large,characterful and well-furnished. The location was central, in a quiet, narrow lane about 100 metres from the main drag and the Alhambra bus stop.

>The shortcomings arose from sloppy housekeeping and maintenance, and low levels of staff training. During the earlier part of our holiday we had stayed at four separate paradors and one other boutique hotel -the Casa del Maestro in Seville. Each of these was sparkling clean, and absolutely beyond reproach in relation to fixtures and fittings. The Carmen de Santa Ines, in exactly the same upmarket price bracket, came nowhere close. Dusting and bathroom cleaning during our three day stay was minimal. The sink and bath were both cracked. The bath had no plug. Paint was peeling off the bathroom walls. Five lamp bulbs in our bedroom/bathroom were broken at the start of our stay and only two of these had been replaced by the end of it. We had the same two flights of stairs instead of the lift experience as one of your other correspondents. The staff were not unpleasant but they were amateurish and useless for the most part. 130 Euros per night demands a higher level of service than this.

> On a more general level, it would have been helpful to know that getting one's car within half a mile of the hotel was an impossibility. Having cruised around Granada on our arrival for an hour we phoned the hotel for guidance. They advised us to park in the Alhambra car park and take a cab. This would have been fine, except the daily fee at that particular car park is 40 Euros. What they should have said, and what should appear on their web site, is to park at ANY city centre car park EXCEPT the Alhambra (the usual rate elsewhere is 13 Euros per day and the cab fare to the hotel around 5 Euros from anywhere in the centre).

> There are serious management shortcomings at this hotel. It is not currently up to snuff. Pity.
>
> *************************************

  • Liked — Location, period charm, spacious room.
  • Disliked — Condition and daily maintenance of the room, amateurish staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — Concentrate hard on the comments in most reviews about access/arrival at the hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Granada hotels

Worcester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

The Carmen de Santa Ines is tucked away in a quiet corner of the Albycin but is close to the Plaza Nueva, the Alhambra and the bars and restaurants of the Moorish quarter of Granada. It is peaceful and charming, and an effective recreation of an old merchant house with lots of period pieces, and surrounded by greenery and old stone buildings. Some might feel it is a little quirky, and the feeling of tranquillity comes with relatively little space and light within the hotel itself. It is for you if you like character and charm, not for you if you value size, modernity and unimaginative but efficient service. It is , after all, in an old quarter of Moorish Spain rather than a North American or Northern European city. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2004

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful. It is in a fully restored arab house and attention has been paid to every detail. The hotel is located in the best possible location in Granada, the quaint Albaicin neighborhood. It is on a quiet, pedestrian only street a couple of blocks up from Plaza Nueva. While close to all the action, you have none of the street noise and city feeling. It is as if you are transported back in time. We stayed in room 7, a standard double. It was very expensive, 95 euros a night. However, all hotels in the Albaicin are at least this much; you pay for the great location and the atmosphere. Our room was small and a bit cramped, but we had excellent amenities. We did have a view of the Alhambra from our windows, which were small, but it was less than spectacular. If I were to stay here again, I would splurge for a suite with a balcony, as those are truly wonderful. I thought we recieved wonderful service (by Spain standards, which is generally impersonal and uninterested). The reception desk made multiple reservations for us and were helpful in advice on restaurants. We did not eat breakfast there, as it was expensive (10 euros) but instead walked to Plaza Nueva. The hotel is a little difficult to find the first time, it is best to take a cab and make sure you have a map handy. However, there are yellow signs with the hotel name pointing you in the right direction. And once you find it, you'll have no trouble making your way the couple of blocks to the Plaza. Since it is on a quiet, cobbled street not accessable by car, you will have to carry your luggage about a block and up some small stairs. You will also be responsible for carrying your luggage up the steep narrow stairs to your room. This is all part of the experience of staying in an old house in an old neighborhood, and I would never trade it for the curbside service and bellboys of chain hotels with no personality. If you are looking to be catered to, you should stay in one of these such hotels and if you want someone else to carry your bags for you, you better make sure it's at least a four star. But it will be in no way as memorable as this little place. While it is expensive for the room quality, the romantic and interesting atmosphere of the hotel and the narrow cobbled streets around it make this a well worth it splurge.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cjohnson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2004

Our experience at this hotel was mixed. On the plus side, it's in a terrific location with easy access to the Alhambra and the Albaicyn district, and has a marvelous view of the Alhambra if you are lucky (we were upgraded to the suite, so we DID get the view!). On the down side, it is somewhat hard to find the first time especially by taxi, the water pressure for the shower was very poor, and there's no elevator.
All in all, the price is a tad steep for what you get, a very charming, well-located B&B.

Helpful?
4 Thank hamano03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2003

The only captivating thing here is the view of the Alhambra. Lovely quainy old building. However that was it. On check in, not v helpful receptionist and we had to haul our luggage up 3 flights of narrow stairs. The following day we noticed an elevator but she hadn't told us! Hefty supplem,ent for "extra bed" in a sujite which is advertised as 4 people anyhow - the extra 40 euros or whatever was for them putting two sheets on a sofa bed - outrageous.Breakfast a disgrace - a few stale rolls on a bookshelf (yes, right!) with some preserves and a few bits of dried up meat. Shocking. The only service we got was a coffee - and that lady appeared for 5 seconds - that was it. Check out a disaster - it took 45 mins and we were the only ones checking out - she couldn't change the paper in the credit card machine.In general over-priced - wouldn't stay here again

Helpful?
4 Thank SusanHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2003

First tip - do not attempt to drive to this hotel! We made a futile three-hour effort to find the Carmen de Santa Ines hotel by following the directions and map provided on the hotel website. Upon calling the hotel for assistance, the receptionist neglected to tell us that the hotel is located in a gated-off part of the city, and that parking is located outside the gates approximately a mile walk away. Upon finally reaching the hotel on foot at 2 AM, the shower had no water pressure and the toilet was faulty. We will not be returning to this hotel.

Helpful?
6 Thank hlredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#33 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Albaicín
Conde de Cabra Suites
Conde de Cabra Suites
#54 of 136 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen de Santa Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen de Santa Ines

Property: Carmen de Santa Ines
Address: Plaza Porras 7, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmen de Santa Ines 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Carmen de Santa Ines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen De Santa Ines Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing