We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and nice little balcony!”
Review of Plaza Nueva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Nueva Hotel
Ranked #76 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed March 18, 2014

It is a charming hotel, comfortable and clean. The people at the front desk were nice and helping. It is located in the Plaza Nueva which is very nice and has lots of bars and restaurants. We were very satisfied by the location and by what the hotel had to offer: comfy beds and clean bathrooms. I would go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zetemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 344 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Granada is a huge place - masses of shopping areas, restaurants & bars in many suburbs and clusters. The belief that Plaza Nueva is the centre of Granada is more of a historical judgement than a contemporary one.

This hotel is amongst the streets off Plaza Nueva, which in turn provides access to the steep pathways up to The Alhambra. It is an area stuffed full of bars, restaurants and coffee shops, and as other reviewers have noticed, very noisy at night. So the advice would be, that unless you are likely to be one of those generating noise at 3am, go and stay in a different part of the city. There is no shortage of alternatives.

The hotel itself is as you would expect for a budget 3 star - rooms could be cleaner, beds could be comfier, lift could be newer - but in a world where you should always relate what you get to the price you pay for it, I have no complaints.

Would I stay here again? No - but only because Granada has many alternatives, and it would be nice to be in a different part of the city. Would I recommend it? At the price we paid (through easyjet holidays) I certainly would.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the Plaza rather than the alleyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

In the square at the base of the hill up to the Alhambra, just round the corner from the cathedral, this is a great location. We had a lovely big room with traditional furniture & 2 huge French windows with balconies overlooking the square. The bathroom was quite large, also done in a traditional style. The square below is vibrant, with cafes, musicians, etc. & with a fountain in the middle. The square wasn't too noisy in the evenings & early night time, but that may have had a lot to do with the sub-zero temperatures ( the fountain was frozen in the mornings!), but there was quite a lot of noise in the very early mornings from delivery & street cleaning vehicles.
The Alhambra is a fairly steep 20 minute walk up the hill to the main entrance, but mini buses leave the square opposite the hotel every 10 minutes or so.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

In the heart of the 'play' district of granada, I found this was the perfect retreat after besting my cousins at all night drinking games, or dancing on the tables at the trendier end of the square. The summer nights on the square can be loud and busy, though I had no problem sleeping because i was normally the last one on the square.

The staff were very friendly and I survived on my pigeon spanish and their pigeon english. The rooms were cool even in high summer, kept very clean. No food. Pity, though with the near by eateries left me full as an egg most of the time.

It's my preferred sleeping point in Granada, but you have to go there with some expectation of late nights and late mornings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_G1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

From what I have read, many other contributors find the noise of the square outside a real issue. I must admit, that wasn't my experience at all. My room was extremely dark anyway, with just one window out onto the side street, and when I closed the shutters, it was like being in a womb. I found myself waking at 1.30 in the afternoon!

The same darkness that made it so easy to sleep was a slight nuisance when it came to getting ready to go out, as fixing my make-up was real guess work - an overhead light would have helped a lot! But the foyer is charming, the staff helpful, and as all I wanted was a place to set out from in the morning and come back to at night, this hotel worked very well for me. Despite the inconveniences, I would go back.

Room Tip: If you want sleep, choose something at the back and make sure the room has shutters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMandalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel ideally situated for a visit to the Alhambra and other places of interest in the city. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly. The hotel does not provide meals, but can arrange breakfast for you in neighbouring premises - really, you'd be better to go and find it yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllenSEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is as bad as bad can get. The only positive was the location to the Alhambra and that we only had to endure it for one night. Upon arriving, we were greeted with a very unhappy looking receptionist who seemed put out by our questions. Firstly the boyfriend asked if there was WiFi to which we got a confused look (there isn't any), we then asked if she could show us on the map where we wanted to go-that got the same "I don't understand you look". We then went to our room which was two single beds instead of a double, fair enough we switched hassle free. The room was covered in dust and the fridge was like it hadn't been cleaned in months. I asked the receptionist if she had an iron, to which I got a look like she wanted to hit me over the head with one (no iron). As I read some other reviews for this hotel, I wonder if we just came on a bad day with a bad receptionist and the cleaners day off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Macia Plaza
#35 of 122 in Granada
654 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,003 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Casa Palacio Pilar del Toro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Carlos V
#27 of 122 in Granada
585 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#23 of 122 in Granada
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Nueva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Nueva Hotel

Address: Plaza Nueva 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $44 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Nueva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel at Granada Centre. some rooms with views over Plaza Nueva. Request aditional information if you will drive on the city centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Nueva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Nueva Granada
Plaza Nueva Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing