We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Nueva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Nueva Hotel
Ranked #71 of 125 Hotels in Granada
A TripAdvisor Member
“quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Loved hotel has an authentic Spanish feel in a vibrant town. Great location for easy access for getting to sights and travelling around. Would defo return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    127
    86
    17
    23
See reviews for
54
167
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in summer and thought the location was great. Easy to walk to most places, including the Alhambra.... and so many restaurants near by. The hotel is slightly old but clean and well maintained. Good to base yourself at if you are not after all the luxurious of 5 stars hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokomoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macae, RJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

The hotel is really in the center of the city, you is just in the center plaza. Just feel meters to Alhambra, many restaurants. Easy access to the caves. The hotel is old, but well maintained. The room is spacious and comfortable. Sometimes the noise from bars and restaurants disturbs your sleep. NO gym, spa etc. , but a good place to stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neriton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

When we arrived there was a sign on the reception desk saying "be right back" in 5 languages. We waited for 10...20...30+ minutes. We walked around the entire place (very small) calling out for anyone, but no one appeared. Finally we had to go to the hotel next door. I think a wait of 10 minutes is undesirable but acceptable, but 30+ minutes is inexcusable. When I called later, the man in the reception area said he could not refund our prepaid reservation. extremely frustrating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wongvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Granada hotels

san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The only redeeming quality about this hotel is its location. It's about a 10-15 min walk to the Alhambra from here, and the hotel is right on the Plaza Nueva in a very active part of the city.

Now, on to the problems. We had a room that faced the inside of the building. If it sounds kind of strange, it was. The only "window" we had opened out to the central staircase in the hotel. We either had to keep the window closed (which made the room incredibly dark since the lighting in the room was not good) or give up any sort of privacy, since other hotel guests walking up the staircase would be able to see directly into our room. My husband and I joked that it felt kind of like a dungeon. The fact that there was a cigarette burn mark on the bedspread also did not evoke a sense of comfort or cleanliness at this hotel. The people working in the reception area were grouchy. We didn't even bother to ask them for recommendations on tours and restaurants. We didn't spend a lot of time in our hotel and weren't planning to, but it deftinitely detracted from our overall impression of Granada.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, it's worth paying extra for a room facing the Plaza Nueva. The interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Please do not stay at this hotel. We are traveling with two small children, the booking site we used suggested the "suite". This is hardly a suite, but the problem is the lack of cleanliness, the airconditionig doesn't work right, the parking is far away an it all feels very disgusting. I booked this hotel for the location, which is the only point it has in favor. I have seldom stayed at a less hygienic hotel, there seem to be bugs and flies everywhere, please stay away. Bed was full of hairs from prior guests!

Room Tip: Don't book the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maderpint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

we stayed 2 nights here in September 2010. it is just at the plaza nueva. very close to the old city and Alhambra.
Hotel is nice and clean. not very visible from the plaza. staff was OK. not very friendly, but helpful. rooms are big and clean. but, my room did not had any view.
there are enough restaurants & bars & cafes around this.... so no problem of food at any time of the day...
My only complain is, no wi-fi facility. there is one computer in the reception lobby with internet facilities, which is always occupied.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelDan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Macia Plaza
#37 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#20 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#40 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Casa Palacio Pilar del Toro Hotel
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Nueva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Nueva Hotel

Property: Plaza Nueva Hotel
Address: Plaza Nueva 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Nueva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel at Granada Centre. some rooms with views over Plaza Nueva. Request aditional information if you will drive on the city centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Nueva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Nueva Granada
Plaza Nueva Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing