We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Mallorca Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not good!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Mixture of modern and old that has not worked. Cold, uninviting, confusing. Definitely would not recommend. Friendly reception but that is about it. Too many open air stairs and walking round a cold, draughty courtyard to get to rooms that are poorly lit. NOT five star.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, especially if you visit in winter. Not comfortable, not cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    340
    97
    22
    19
See reviews for
201
581
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

On my recent trip to Spain, I stayed at four 5-star hotels (Westin in Madrid, Alfonso XIII Hotel in Seville, AC Palacio Santa Paula in Granada, Hotel Arts in Barcelona).
If the Westin in Madrid and Hotel Arts in Barcelona are 5 star hotels, I would rate AC Palacio de Santa Paula as an all around 4 1/2 star.
There are many reasons for this. First of all, the hotel consists of a couple of buildings put together and that choppiness really shows. The rooms are kind of hit and miss. Some of the members in my party got very narrow, dark rooms facing the main street, others got rectangular dark rooms facing a hallway (not the courtyard). Note that the shared element are "dark".
The wifi never worked in the rooms, even though we paid for it. I could kind of tell that other guests shared the same problem as the common area in front of the lobby is full of people frowning at their laptop screen.
The restaurants were kind of deserted and sad. Food was good but not great.
The quality of the staff was also good but not great.
On the plus side, the location is very good, convenient for both tourism and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquavanguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Palacio Santa Paula was better than we had expected after reading all the reviews. Perfectly located In the hearth of Granada, this hotel provides calm and comfortable double Deluxe rooms where we slept beautifully. Our room had a spacious bathroom and a pleasant view on the courtyard. The breakfast was good with flexible service as we arrived once at the last minute at 11am. The staff was also very helpful and available, in particular Carmen from the reception. As a conclusion, we would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was my maybe 5th or 6th time in this great little hotel during the past 10 years or so.
Now-a-days part of the Marriott group.

Very well located, close to shopping, sightseeing, restaurants, bars, etc....

Nice rooms altogether, however, if you can select one of the Superior or Premier rooms (or what ever they are called, basically in the historical side of the builiding facing very nice andalucian courtyard) you will have very nice, a bit out of standard rooms.

In my opinion the best in Granada.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlatsRetract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the AC Palacio de Santa Paula.

To be a bit of a Debbie Downer, let me start with where the Santa Paula falls short. There is no wifi in the rooms (this seems to be the new, unbelievably tacky global Marriott policy: wifi in the room is incredibly expensive -- 12€ a day!) though there is free and fast wifi in the lobby and in the downstairs lounge area. Moreover, I used Marriott points, and ended up in a room next to an elevator (some folks on Yelp reported similar experiences). Luckily, we were there in very low season, the hotel seemed nearly empty, and we never heard any noise. But clearly there's a pattern here, and I hate when hotels put Rewards members in bad rooms. Third, in yet another unpleasant hotel trend, the bathroom door doesn't really shut all the way - there's a gap of about a half inch on both sides of the door which could really cramp your romantic-weekend-in-Granada style.

But that's really it for the bad news, and it's not really all that bad - otherwise, I found the Santa Paula to be a remarkably comfortable and really breathtakingly beautiful hotel. The rooms are European sized (i.e. small) but very comfortable - two chairs, a small table, a queen sized bed, two night tables, and the bathroom - once you forgive the aforementioned door issue - is very comfortable and filled with ample freebies (soap, conditioner, combs, shavers, shaving gel). The staff is more than eager to help - when I realized the hotel didn't have a business center, the front desk kindly printed my Granada tour voucher for me. And the lobby and lounge are perfect, warm, cozy places for hanging out (skip the expensive breakfast in the hotel restaurant - there are so many places to get breakfast on the Gran Via). And, what's most important, the location really can't be beat - you are in walking distance of everything imaginable, there are ample dining options within a five minute walk, and the Gran Via is just extraordinarily pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey,C.I. Great Britain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our main reason for visiting Granada was to see The Alhambra. We could not have chosen a better base. The hotel is beautiful, the staff were helpful and did everything they could to make our stay a pleasure. Our room was charming and overlooking the lovely inner courtyard. The food was a little disappointing, some very good but expensive and breakfast not good at all. We hope to visit again as we did not see all the sites Granada has to offer and would like to stay here.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the inner courtyard is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamBisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful and comfortable hotel is centrally located and very close to the Cathedral. Make sure you have warm clothes if visiting during autumn/ winter. Our room overlooked the beautiful internal courtyard and was comfortable. The Hotel has done a good job in preserving the historic property and in adding modern comforts. One moves from new to antique areas without really noticing the change.

Reception staff were excellent and very helpful. We drove to Granada and struggled to find the hotel despite its central location and us having a sat nav. Exterior signage was not a strong point but once we had parked outside, reception staff came to the car to assist and then parked the car for us for the duration of our stay.

To appreciate Granada a car is not required but a good pair of walking shoes will stand you in good stead. The hotel organised a tour guide for our visit to the Alhambra and that was a good investment as the guide was very knowledgeable. We also skipped all the queues at Alhambra! It is essential to book tickets on line before your visit. The reception staff are then able to direct you to a local ATM to print out the tickets.

The hotel restaurant is exceptional. The food is to die for and superbly presented. Again, service was excellent. We will return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing