We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property with beautiful courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent property with beautiful courtyard”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was my maybe 5th or 6th time in this great little hotel during the past 10 years or so.
Now-a-days part of the Marriott group.

Very well located, close to shopping, sightseeing, restaurants, bars, etc....

Nice rooms altogether, however, if you can select one of the Superior or Premier rooms (or what ever they are called, basically in the historical side of the builiding facing very nice andalucian courtyard) you will have very nice, a bit out of standard rooms.

In my opinion the best in Granada.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlatsRetract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    346
    99
    24
    20
See reviews for
203
596
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the AC Palacio de Santa Paula.

To be a bit of a Debbie Downer, let me start with where the Santa Paula falls short. There is no wifi in the rooms (this seems to be the new, unbelievably tacky global Marriott policy: wifi in the room is incredibly expensive -- 12€ a day!) though there is free and fast wifi in the lobby and in the downstairs lounge area. Moreover, I used Marriott points, and ended up in a room next to an elevator (some folks on Yelp reported similar experiences). Luckily, we were there in very low season, the hotel seemed nearly empty, and we never heard any noise. But clearly there's a pattern here, and I hate when hotels put Rewards members in bad rooms. Third, in yet another unpleasant hotel trend, the bathroom door doesn't really shut all the way - there's a gap of about a half inch on both sides of the door which could really cramp your romantic-weekend-in-Granada style.

But that's really it for the bad news, and it's not really all that bad - otherwise, I found the Santa Paula to be a remarkably comfortable and really breathtakingly beautiful hotel. The rooms are European sized (i.e. small) but very comfortable - two chairs, a small table, a queen sized bed, two night tables, and the bathroom - once you forgive the aforementioned door issue - is very comfortable and filled with ample freebies (soap, conditioner, combs, shavers, shaving gel). The staff is more than eager to help - when I realized the hotel didn't have a business center, the front desk kindly printed my Granada tour voucher for me. And the lobby and lounge are perfect, warm, cozy places for hanging out (skip the expensive breakfast in the hotel restaurant - there are so many places to get breakfast on the Gran Via). And, what's most important, the location really can't be beat - you are in walking distance of everything imaginable, there are ample dining options within a five minute walk, and the Gran Via is just extraordinarily pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey,C.I. Great Britain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our main reason for visiting Granada was to see The Alhambra. We could not have chosen a better base. The hotel is beautiful, the staff were helpful and did everything they could to make our stay a pleasure. Our room was charming and overlooking the lovely inner courtyard. The food was a little disappointing, some very good but expensive and breakfast not good at all. We hope to visit again as we did not see all the sites Granada has to offer and would like to stay here.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the inner courtyard is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamBisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful and comfortable hotel is centrally located and very close to the Cathedral. Make sure you have warm clothes if visiting during autumn/ winter. Our room overlooked the beautiful internal courtyard and was comfortable. The Hotel has done a good job in preserving the historic property and in adding modern comforts. One moves from new to antique areas without really noticing the change.

Reception staff were excellent and very helpful. We drove to Granada and struggled to find the hotel despite its central location and us having a sat nav. Exterior signage was not a strong point but once we had parked outside, reception staff came to the car to assist and then parked the car for us for the duration of our stay.

To appreciate Granada a car is not required but a good pair of walking shoes will stand you in good stead. The hotel organised a tour guide for our visit to the Alhambra and that was a good investment as the guide was very knowledgeable. We also skipped all the queues at Alhambra! It is essential to book tickets on line before your visit. The reception staff are then able to direct you to a local ATM to print out the tickets.

The hotel restaurant is exceptional. The food is to die for and superbly presented. Again, service was excellent. We will return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice Hotel located in the very center of Granada. The building was a Convento, and I was very impressed! It is close to Cathedral, Royal Chapel, Nueva Square... Comfortable rooms and, above all, Granada is the best place in the word!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The courtyard in this hotel is just beautiful at night and very picturesque. We found the rooms to be charming with that old dark wood. While we were there, we blew a fuse twice and the couple in the other room next to us, did the same. But it was not an issue, they came up right away and reset the breaker. The location of the hotel is great, you can walk to the center of town. Was disappointed with the food at the hotel for dinner. Although it was supposed to be a great restaurant, some of the food was served raw just not edible. Not happy at all for the price we paid. As far as cleanliness, service, etc. it is a good hotel and location makes up for the other disappointments. I would stay here again, if that helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angevasq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

the hotel is located in the heart of the city and one can almost have acces to most of the worth visiting places. Room was OK and we had street view room but no noise from outside. The staff were very helpful

Room Tip: We had a street view room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohsen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,641 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
963 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing