We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Serviceable Rooms in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean Serviceable Rooms in Good Location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can walk to shopping, restaurants, Arab quarter, El Catedral etc. from this hotel. Uncomfortable modern lobby-the seats were so deep you couldn't sit upright-beautiful Spanish courtyard downstairs. The rooms were small, spotless new bathrooms, very serviceable. We didn't eat in the restaurant - breakfast was 15 Euros. There are many places to eat within walking distance much more reasonable priced - you don't need the breakfast included. Walk down the Gran Via to catch the double decker sightseeing bus in front of El Catedral.

Room Tip: It was noisy so keep the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RITA E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    345
    99
    24
    20
See reviews for
203
595
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this property overnight in order to see Alhambra. It is in the older part of Granada, and therefore the price was wonderful. Easy to reach Alhambra via bus outside the hotel or cab was the same price at 6 euros. Lots of great restaurants in the area.

We booked a junior suite with our two kids. The suite was much smaller than I expected, but fine for just one night.

However, the service was wonderful. Everything from the check in process until we left was incredible. We had asked for a wake up call to catch our flight to Barcelona and must have hit the receiver during the night so it was off the hook. The staff came to our room and knocked on our door to make sure we were awake as they were unable to contact us via our phone!! This is only one example of their customer service.

We also received a spectacular fruit tray to our room in the late afternoon time....not sure if this comes with the junior suite or for everyone. Our room was very clean and looked over the main street, yet quiet at the same time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgoyal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night Saturday before Easter. We arrived on the overnight train from Barcelona so obviously in bad shape. Got to the hotel, asked to see if we could check in early. Receptionist phoned someone and then told us not possible. Disappointed, we proceeded to get ready for a day of sightseeing and then drop off our luggage with the front desk. To our surprise, they had sped up a cleaning and checked us in early!! Very pleased. Room was modern in design and very clean. Seemed the best condition of the hotels we visited on our trip and of a good size. Only complaint would be the wifi was only free in the lobby. We didn't try the restaurant or the breakfast so can't comment. Location was right in the city center and convenient to walk to nearby restaurants.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrscgsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just would suggest checking out a few of them before committing unless the hotel is totally "sold out". I was lucky to get a room in the back part of the hotel overlooking a courtyard which was extremely quiet with easy access to their small fitness room and restaurant. Staff was extremely helpful in providing directions, suggestions for sights, Semana Santa, and the train station. Hotel is very close walking distance to the major sights (20-30 minutes to the Albayzin, 30 minutes to the Alhambra, 10 minutes to the cathedral).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMW1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Overall the hotel was very nice, the breakfast was pleasant and it was a great value, however it didn't really feel like a 5 star hotel. Let's get into details:

The reception and entrance
The reception was underwhelming, very simple and clean with somewhat slow service. There is an open area with modern and functional furniture. Internet is free in the reception which is a common plus in this part of the world. You have to pay for Internet in the rooms.

The rooms
Decent size rooms with a reasonable decor. Playing on the history of the place. The bed is simple, the TV smallish. Overall OK but without the luxurious feel that 5 star hotels have in larger European cities.

The restaurant
I wrote a separate review on the restaurant (El Claustro) but suffice to say that the breakfast was complete, somewhat simple (common yogurt brands, varied fruit but nothing fancy and a smallish buffet) so again overall OK but just that

Overall I felt that the hotel had an ideal location, close to all the places I needed to go to. Other than that everything was just OK...but the hotel will not be what you remember from the trip...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cvidela4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It may be a strange thing to say but I really wanted to like this hotel but sadly I left with the feeling that although I must return to Granada I certainly would not be back to the Santa Paula. On the positive side, I really liked the look of the hotel, the minimalist cool reception area and the old world romantic courtyard. The location is fairly good, seems like a business area but when I return to Granada I would opt to stay nearer the Albayzin. Our room which faced the street, was small but adequate for our needs. What lets this place down was the staff, I just found them cold & uncaring and this contrasted hugely with everyone else we met in Granada which to me was the friendliest place we visited in Andalucia.
We arrived around 4 pm, admittedly i rushed into the hotel asking for change for 20 euro note because our eccentric but hilarious taxi-driver didn't have any change and i was met with blank stares (the 3 staff there could see that we were guests arriving at the hotel), after that was sorted out we were just given our keys and directions to the lift and that was it...no welcome to the city, no 'is this your first time', no provision of maps or local advice. We had booked tickets for the Alhambra the next afternoon & I had (as always!) done a lot of research beforehand and knew we could take a bus from the cathedral but at this stage didn't know where the cathedral was (turned out to be a 5 minutes or so walk on the same side as the Santa Paula). I went to the desk the next morning to double check what the best way was to get to the Alhambra and was told 'get the bus outside the cathedral' which in theory I knew, problem was from our room we could see a church across the street and thought that was the cathedral but after walking up & down the street for a while we figured we were at the wrong bus stop! :) No big deal, just one of the silly things you do when on holiday but I just felt there had been very little effort made on behalf of the staff member in the hotel, who had pointed to the door when saying the cathedral, we hadn't walked towards that area so didn't have our bearings or understood where to go, it would have been nice to get proper directions or perhaps a map which was provided to us without prompting when we stayed in the Marriott in Malaga for example.
During our Andalucian trip, we stayed in three ostensibly 5 star hotels, this one, the Alfonso XIII in Seville and the Hospes Palacio del Bailio in cordoba, the latter two were shining examples of 5 stars, the Santa Paula sadly was simply not in their league. It offered the comfort of a 3.5 and service of a 2 star so as a compromise I rate this as 3/5. If you are thinking of visiting Granada then Go, you will not regret it but don't bother with the Santa Paula!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkRoseyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this hotel and it was, by far, the nicest one of the 5 AC hotels we stayed in in Spain. We had a room overlooking the courtyard and it could not have been lovelier. It would be worthwhile to take an hour or two just to roam the original convent area. A number of remnants remain. Breakfast had a nice variety which included fresh fruit, cheeses and various ham.

We found the location very convenient and within walking distance to many historical sites, shopping and restaurants. It's also very close to the Arab section which features some absolutely wonderful Moroccan restaurants and late afternoon shopping.

The front desk staff was mostly helpful with the exception of noisy neighbors 2 nights in a row. I have to assume the walls are unusually thin as there was a bathroom between each of our bedrooms. On the second night, I had to call security twice because I thought a woman was being attacked. She kept yelling "no, no, no." Instead of sending police when I called down they sent security but only after I'd called twice. When I asked if something could be done, I was told to just keep calling if it happens again.

Other than that one security issue, I felt the hotel was safe, clean and employed friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard. The walls are thin, but as long as other visitors aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,636 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
956 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing