We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice hotel for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corona de Granada Hotel
Ranked #49 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in October 2013. The hotel is about 15 minutes' walk from the centre and is very quiet. Our room was fine but the mini-bar was empty when we arrived and never replenished (not too worried as we rarely use it, but for a 4* hotel this is very unusual). The buffet breakfast is typical of the type and there was plenty of choice. Shower and bath worked perfectly, as did the air-conditioning. This hotel relies on tour groups and so they don't have to try particularly hard to cater for the independent traveller, as repeat bookings are more or less guaranteed from the big companies. Lots of comings and goings all the time and breakfast can get very crowded. Very clean and comfortable - no real complaints and we would probably go back. The 4 star rating is questionable, in my opinion. We had one of the rooms that require a key and therefore we needed to go to reception quite often to leave or collect it. There are frankly not enough staff there and we found the entire area empty on several occasions with the main door to the hotel wide open. This is clearly a major security issue and needs to be addressed. The staff we met were friendly and efficient but did not have time to give much personal service and were often rushing to do things.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that look onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elcoronel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 604 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stopped here as part of a classic tour of Spain with Riviera Travel and we have to say that it is probably one of the worse hotels we have ever stayed in. Having read other reviews I cannot understand why Riviera continues to use it, and it has probably put us off using that tour company again. Our room was tiny, smelt strongly of drains and was incredibly noisy. The sink in the bathroom was chipped with black mouldy mastic, cracked tiles and the enamel on the bath was worn out and flaking. Every time somebody flushed their toilet we had rumbling pipes and gurgling noises. The view out of the window was another window in a wall a few yards away. Others have commented on the fact that the shower is in the middle of the bath, rather than the end. We found the whole showering experience terrifying. There were no grab rails and the surface of the bath was incredibly slippery. Towels were thin, hard and small.

The pool on the roof was tiny with no shade and looked most unpleasant. There was nowhere to sit and have a drink, in fact the bar seemed to be closed most of the time. The restaurant only served a fixed buffet menu in the evening and the breakfast was appalling. Cold fried eggs, bacon fat (no meat), boiled sausages and carrots? On the non cooked breakfast side dry pastries and bruised fruit, a toaster that just dried out the bread and coffee that was undrinkable. On the second day we took our own instant coffee with us. We had tried to find a bar nearby where we could have breakfast rather than eat in this dump but unfortunately could not find one.

The location is good, with several bars and restaurants, but not all that convenient for the centre of Granada. This is not a four star hotel and in our opinion should be avoided. A disappointing end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Retired_travellers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPorcel, Director General at Corona de Granada Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Sir,
First of all, please accept our apologies for your disappointed stay and please be sure that we thank you very much for your comments about the hotel.
We are aware that the bathrooms are outdated, and they need and urgent upgrade which we are undertaking right now.
The views from the hotel are those of a city hotel, we know that the ones that are not facing the main street have often a patio views.
The rooftop pool is very frequently being improved. This year we bought new sun beds very nice and comfortable. We also have umbrellas, chairs and tables in the same area. Maybe, the umbrellas would be closed because of the wind.
At the restaurant we have two different types of dinner, you can choose from Buffet style or “a la carte” with a wide range of dishes. We are trying to improve the quality of our products in order to reach maximum customer satisfaction both at dinner and at breakfast.
Hopefully you have the opportunity to come back and enjoy our facilities in the future, we are sure you will enjoy your stay with us.
Yours sincerely,

Gustavo Cara
Manager. Hotel Corona de Granada 4*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our final hotel on our tour around Andalusia located down a side street off one of the main roads into Granada. About a twenty minute walk down one of the main arteries of Granada to the Plaza Nueva plenty of window shopping on the way. This hotel is set down a one way street and check in was extremely efficient with our request for a low floor fulfilled and the room lcoated in a quiet part of the hotel overlooking an internal courtyard. Large bathroom, fridge, free WiFi in the bedroom and safety box is free, though you do have to get a key from reception. Small bar area and drinks are quite expensive. Breakfast was ok with lovely waiting on staff, though you do need to get down early to try to avoid the chaos and get the full selection of food available. Did not eat in the hotel on the evening, though a buffet is available at 12 Euros. Not many restuarants nearby, though can highly recommend Las Tinajas in a side street to the right of the hotel and Principal opposite the hotel on the left.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arranged our own 12 day self-drive tour of Andalusia in August/September, staying in five different locations. We booked all our stays through Booking.com which is an excellent website giving a good idea of what each hotel is like, although we still crossed our fingers each time we approached that day's stopover. This hotel in Granada was fine, in a quiet street. As we were staying on Saturday and Sunday nights we could park just round the corner, with no charge. We had paid up to 15 euros per night to park at other locations, so this was a bonus.
Our room was fine - clean and comfortable, but we spent very little time there. The reception staff were most helpful with advice on how to get to the Alhambra Palace (the main reason for visiting Granada) and were always friendly. Breakfast was good, and the rooftop pool was a welcome respite from the heat after a full day in the city. For what we paid we were perfectly satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I agree with comments made by the other recent reviews. This hotel is based in a not altogether nice area of Granada on the street. Awkward for getting off the coach as you had to get off into the road.
We were very lucky as we had a quite nice room on the 1st floor. It had, by talking to others on our trip, a recent refurb. We have no complaints about the room. There were two easy chairs plus a chair and table and somewhere to put a case.
Unfortunately, although the bathroom was OK the shower head had been changed and no longer fitted therefore awkward to shower without filling the bathroom with water.
None of the hotels we stayed in during our visit to Classical Spain had decent showers.
No tea and coffee but there was room service here.
Shame none of the hotels supplied hot water somewhere where you could go and help yourself and have your own teabags, coffee etc.
The buffet breakfast was good although again I noticed that unless you get there first you end up getting what is left, the same with the buffet at night.
The buffet dinner is 14 euros but you get a glass of wine with the meal. Nice area to sit after dinner to have a drink although the lack of staff was annoying. Once you got the barman it was OK. There was a switch on the bar to press for attention but we found out there were no batteries in it - not useful....
The walk to Granada town itself was good and straightforward.
On the whole the Corona de Granada Hotel was OK but definitely 3* nothing more.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Located a 10-15 minute walk South of Granada centre (and about 25-30 minutes from the Alhambra), in a rather run down part of Granada, the hotel did not live up to 4* standards. Street noise was minimal - thanks largely to the room facing onto someone's back window. Noise was transmitted through the hotel, however. Guests need to ask for a safe key for their room. The roof top pool was fairly small but gave (restricted) views over the mountains. On the plus side, the air conditioning is fairly quiet and efficient, the bathroom was a good size, and there is La Cueva restaurant about a minutes walk away - turn right as you leave the hotel and you will see it on the right. Wifi was free.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent 2 nights in the hotel last week for a conference. 10 min walk from conference centre and about 10 min walk from city centre.
Friendly staff. Hotel clean but bedrooms and bathrooms need refurbishing.
Good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: My room was at the back, on the 4th floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0 mi away
Occidental Granada
Occidental Granada
#26 of 123 in Granada
612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reino de Granada Hotel
Reino de Granada Hotel
#89 of 123 in Granada
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Allegro Granada
Allegro Granada
#32 of 123 in Granada
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alixares
Hotel Alixares
#59 of 123 in Granada
1,438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Granada
Leonardo Hotel Granada
#92 of 123 in Granada
788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andalucia Center Hotel
Andalucia Center Hotel
#52 of 123 in Granada
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona de Granada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona de Granada Hotel

Address: Calle Pedro Antonio de Alarcon 10, 18005 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $56 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Corona de Granada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with restaurant and bar is situated in the downtown district near Congress Palace; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corona de Granada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona De Granada
Corona De Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing