We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location, great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suecia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suecia
Ranked #60 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value and location, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This down to earth place is just a short walk from the main sites and perfect for a morning visit to Alhambra as the bus stops just a few metres away. On arrival we were given helpful tips from the owners to orient ourselves in Granada. Highlight was the great value breakfast. Much more than we got for the same price anywhere else on our Andalusian travels. The rooms were small but adequate for our needs, especially at the right price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Oneconor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
102
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were this downtown hotel in 09/2012

positive points :
- quality/prize is good
- The location of the hotel : close to center and on the road that leads to alhambra
- The breakfast is the best moment in a day there, especially that at summer breakfast could be taken in the top, offering a wonderful view on all town. Breakfast include all what you need (milk,coffee, hot bread, fruits, juice, cheese ..) and it is very tasty !!!
- The living room is very gorgeous, you feel in a historical house, we appreciated the romantic and vintage design …

negative points :
- if you come late at night, it is hard to find parking, cause the hotel lays in a dead-end that become easily full with cars of the other customers, and outside of that dead-end alley it is not allowded to park … My advice is to come early, to park in front of the hotel and to let the car there until the end of your vacation (in Grenada downtown, you cant use your cars, the streets are too straight and crowded).
- The room in which we were was quite small, the smallest room I ever seen in a hotel .. the bed and the wall were separated by only a meter away !! Bathroom is too small too ..
- no elevator

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivierfrompaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroy, spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Pension Suecia is an old spanish mansion that has been converted into a small hotel. It is located directly behing the worlds finest guitar maker Antonio Marin. Located in a convenient area where there is always parking , it is quiet and comfortable. I often take my clients there from all over the world. The Host and Hostess Jorge and Maria Luisa make you feel at home. It is walking distance from Campo del Principe where there are many bars and restuarants and just down the hill from the Alhambra. The prices are extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet as the hotel is located in a little upper class neighborhood off the main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisadegranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I chose this pension after reading many tripadvisor reviews, hoping for something with more character and charm than just the typical hotel room. My room was simple with a shared bath, a good space for much needed rest after days of wandering the city. However, what made all the difference for me was the hospitality of the owners, Jorge and his wife. On my first night in, Jorge was happy to explain the best places to eat, hear flamenco, etc. He gave me a map, marked areas and wrote down names. My room had two single beds and a sink, and I could see the lit Alhambra from my wooden shuttered window. There was an adjustable radiator (great for the chilly, rainy days) and the shower was hot.

The next two mornings, breakfast in the upstairs dining room was fantastic, overlooking the mountains...a great spread of toast, ham, jam, a bit of cheese, yogurt, juice and coffee with milk. A lovely value for its 3.50.€ price. My breakfast each day was laid out by either Jorge or his wife. As I prepared the night before to take an early bus to the airport my last day, I told Jorge that I didn't need breakfast the next morning - it would be too early and rushed. He looked up the bus schedule online for me and explained where to catch it. At 6:50 the next morning, there was a knock on my door. Jorge held a cup and saucer and two hot pitchers of milk and coffee.

The house was charming, but even more so, the kind owners went out of their way to create a welcoming space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daytonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful rooms and very clean. Easy walking distance to sites, restaurants and shopping. Great rooms for the price but thin walls. Had no interaction with staff but didn't need anything. Nice place to retire after long days at the Alhambra

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatandBill93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The pension is in a very convenient location to the Alhambra and within a short walking distance to the Albaycin and Cathedral. The building and grounds are charming, the rooms very clean and functional. We saw one reception person the day we checked in, then never saw him or any other staff members again, but we were greeted each morning by a friendly gray cat. The walls are thin and the plumbing noisy, but our fellow guests were kind and we got plenty of rest. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smoozella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nice and quiet house with anciently furnitured rooms and a terrace on the roof. Very helpfull staff! We have a pleasant feeling about this place and we are going to come again. I think that the decor of the pension matches the spirit of Granada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamilatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#19 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Hotel Molinos
#61 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Albero
#4 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ibis Granada
#40 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Atlantida
Pension Atlantida
#98 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Hotel Mirador Arabeluj
#49 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suecia

Property: Suecia
Address: Lugar Huerta de los Angeles 8 off C. Molinos), 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#45 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suecia 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Suecia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suecia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing