We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was sceptical.... but worth every scent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hammam Al Andalus Granada

Hammam Al Andalus Granada
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.26*
and up
Arabian Baths Experience at Granada's Hammam Al Ándalus
Ranked #1 of 18 Spas & Wellness in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As in its origin, the Arab baths are made up three spaces created by water pools at different temperatures and which give their name to the hot, warm and cold rooms. Each client is free to choose their own route through these spaces while respecting our team´s guidelines for use in order to enjoy an optimun experience of tradition.The route, which is accompained by Andalusian music, is completed with the steam room, the relaxation room - where clients can enjoy a typical tea - and the hot stone room, in which they can receive a massage or Ritual of their choice.Our clients feel transported in time and allow themselves to be guided on a journey through the exotic sensuallity of the mythical Al Andalus. Upon leaving, the Alhambra greets them only a few metres away with a vision that rounds off their experience of the past.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I was sceptical.... but worth every scent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really, really, really worth the money!! Definitely recommend getting a massage if you are going, though doing the baths on their own would be fine too.

Beautiful place, smell of cinammon in the air, hot and cold and warm baths... amazing!!!!!!

Is not at all wheelchair friendly... but the lack of ramps / hand rails / safety signs that makes it feel kind of authentic! Though the water in the baths is no doubt cleaner than is was in the 10th century...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    444
    126
    56
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Wonderful calm and relaxing experience!
We tried a similar hammam in Seville and whilst it had more pools and was larger in size, we felt it was too over crowded and full of smooching couples, so we preferred this one much more. The Granada equivalent was much more relaxed and as it was nowhere near as crowded and full, we could totally unwind and it was like escaping to another world.

I suspect the time when you choose to go makes a big difference as to how many people are in the hammam. As a guide we went at 12pm at Granada and about 2:30pm in Seville.

The staff were also very friendly and explained the different pools to us. The 30 min massage was also pleasant (with a choice of aromatherapy oils0, although it was fairly gentle and different to the more pressured spa massages I am used to.

The changing area also had a good number of cubicles and hairdriers and the waiting area was very atmospheric with lovely mint tea.

Definitely a great experience and makes for a nice break from busy, hot and dusty Granada streets.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank purple_grape25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSA98, Atención al Cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear purple_grape25,
Thank you for your comments and score.
We're glad you enjoyed a good experience.
Hope to see you again here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Went as two girls, were moments of confusion since our Spanish level is lacking and the front-desk explanation was given rapid-fire, but nothing major. Beautiful setting. Paid 50euro for 2hr session, with 15min massage and 15min body scrub. You partake with a group, we chose the 8pm session and there were not too many people to create the disturbances other travellers experienced. Afterwards there are private showers, basins with mirrors and about 6 hair dryers. Lockers provided with security codes. Staff were friendly. Also has sauna and areas to sit and sip mint tea.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HellandBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSA98, Atención al Cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear HellandBad,
Thank you for your comments and score.
We understand that the explanation given by our staff sometimes can become mechanical. Therefore, heeding your advice, we will try our staff speak more slowly when explaining usage guidelines.
Once again, thank you for your opinion.
The best,
Hammam Al Ándalus Granada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unique and beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited today with my wife. We both enjoyed it immensely. It took a while to get used to the place and we started with the warm pool, then moved up to the hot pool. Then dared each other to dip to the neck in the cold pool - very stimulating! Spent most time in the warm and hot pools, but the steam room (sauna) was also good - very steamy and hot on the second go but less so on the first. We also sat and had mint tea - refreshing. The place was quite busy (4pm session on Saturday) mainly couples but also a family of four and singles. Everyone was calm and spoke in low voices. All couples were discreet and there was no hassle at all from other visitors - except the cloths we were given at reception for massage were taken off the hooks by someone else, but it did not matter as other cloths were provided by staff. My wife had the double massage and I had the Al Andalus ritual with 15 minute massage. The ritual creates an extraordinary sensation using a complete covering of soap lather and I highly recommend the experience.
If you have visited the Alhambra and seen the bath house there, or also the one in Carrera del Darro, then this experience is also like going back in time. The decor is pretty much as it would have been, and the clever ceiling lighting, lanterns, background music, scents and the bathing pools themselves take you to another world.
Emerging from the Hammam is quite a shock, so be prepared to find somewhere to sit and re-engage slowly with the real world afterwards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MattSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSA98, Atención al Cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear MattSt,
Our most sincere thanks.
Comments like yours encourage us to continue offering the best of us.
Furthermore we are happy to know that you enjoy your stay in Granada.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Hammam Al Andalus Granada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackendale, Bc
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too crowded, all tourists (all couples), too noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I went as a single and felt out of place. The rooms were attractive but needed some sound-deadening so that they would be peaceful. I could hear people talking even from one pool to another. There were too few rooms for too many people - only one hot pool, one cold pool (that no one was in), one medium pool and a steam room. It felt crowded and touristy.
On the upside the massage was very relaxing.
Overall, would not recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LonyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSA98, Atención al Cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear lony M,
Thank you for your comments and score.
However, I regret to know that our service was not at all pleased by the noise and the number of people there were that day.
You may be interested to know that the maximum number of people per shift are 35. So when booking it is important to communicate that you are interested in a quiet shift. Quiter shifts are usually from Monday to Friday at 10h-14h-24h.
As for the silence inside, I'd like you know that we always try to to keeping a tone of voice according with the place but it is also important that people collaborate.
In any case, if you ever felt uncomfortable, should have been sponken with the person in charge of the shift or reception staff.
Again, thanks for your comments.
I hope you enjoyed your visit to Granada
Yours sincerely,
Hammam Al Andalus Granada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammam Al Andalus Granada also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Hammam Al Andalus Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing