We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #67 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Hotel America is unique. It is located inside the precincts of the Alhambra which in itself is sufficient reason to stay here. The hotel itself is exquisitely furnished and its facilities constantly up-dated. The interior courtyard must be the most atmospheric place in Spain to have a drink or a meal. The owners and their staff are charming. If you want to stay in an enormous room in a modern hotel with a vast reception area, lifts, jacuzzis and the of an airport, the Hotel America is NOT for you. If you want charm, authenticity and cultivated hosts, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

Nice small hotel. Very hard to get to,parking far from hotel,no elevator,average breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wino873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This hotel is on the grounds of the Alhambra. While that is excellent for seeing the Alhambra, it is out of the way for the restaurants etc of Granada. The rooms are old, rather poorly maintained and borderline seedy.
The breakfast at the hotel was the worst in Spain, both for food provided and service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ringhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

While I generally would recommend this place, I would have a couple of caveats: 1), the location is great for the Alhambra, but not for anything else in Granada and 2) the place needs a reno, particularly with respect to the bathrooms - cracked and patched tile, inadequate provisions for keeping water from escaping the shower.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centra3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Just returned from Spain and stayed 2 nights in hotel America.
Staff was friendly, location great except need a car or taxi. The bus stop is 10 mins from the hotel but anyway taxi is not expensive at all. We paid 5 euro from city centre to the hotel.

One thing though, the bed is quite hard :(

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalibelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My friend and I made a terrible mistake by thinking that we can walk to the hotel from the ticket office of the mournment with our heavy luggages. We were expecting a 5 mins walk (as suggested by a staff at Information) but it turned out to be a 30-min ordeal.

Since our for the mournumnet is the next day, we cannot get through from the main entrance. The website of the hotel suggested that we acess through the 'Puerta de la Justicia'. But the walk unexpectedly involved an upslope of pebble road. We called the hotel and checked if there was another way. They said the pebble road is the only option, or else we have to take a taxi (no where to be found). Later we found that the walk would be much easier if we take the road next to the 'Puerta de la Justicia'.

But despite all that, the room is nice and staff are very friendly. They helped us with our luggages up the stairs (no lift) and are very patient in giving directions to visit the city.

The room has no tv (if it's a concern for you), and the air-con is timed, which made my friend woke up sweating all over.

The next morning we paid a visit to the Alhambra we forgot to checkout before noon (our fault), and we had our luggages kicked out of the room and put in the restaurant (not in service at the time). Luckily we had all our stuff well packed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaykayjubjub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

2nd time of staying and the bustle through the day and tranquility at night are all you could ask for in terms of location.The staff are exceptional in their care and concern for guests and the accommodation and prices are truly great - sleep in a stylish room and breakfast in an amazing courtyard - it does not get any better within the precincts of the fabulous Alhambra - it`s on the doorstep! Just a few minutes away from this iconic Moorish masterpiece,a good downhill walk and you are in the old quarter of Granada with a lot to see and explore. The Hotel America is one of the best Andalusian places we have stayed - if you want an all swinging,every thing you can get at any time you want it place then think again,but if you want true Andalusian hospitality in a tranquil setting, in one of the most magnificent places in Spain,then we recommend Hotel America. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_hagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,343 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,580 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,759 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,278 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra 53, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $115 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel America 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family hotel is located within the Alhambra citadel. Its exceptional location enables you to enjoy the calm of the Alhambra. There, you will be also close to Granada's down town, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel. This beautiful building was built at the beginning of the 19th century.This is a charming hotel with 17 rooms in Granada. Every room is individually furnished and customized. Some rooms are pointed to the Hotel Patio-Garden and, other ones, to the Real de la Alhambra Street, which offer views to the Generalife Gardens and Sierra Nevada Mountains. Anyway, you will enjoy an enviable calm when the Alhambra monument will be closed for visitors. Equipment: private bathroom or shower with hairdryer, phone, central heating and air conditioning. Every room is individually furnished and they offer large and modern facilities within a building from the beginning of the 19th century. It gives a warm and welcoming style, where you will feel yourself as if you were at home. There is a strongbox at the reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Granada
Hotel America Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing