We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay at Carlos V”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlos V
Ranked #25 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at Carlos V”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Carlos V in a 3-person room with my parents for a few nights. We found the beds comfortable, the AC strong, the tv functional (though we didn't use it much) ,the bathroom fairly large and comfortable, and we had a decent view from our window. There was not tons of space to walk around the room, but we had enough space, even if it was a little tight. Still, for this price (I think we paid around 60 euros a night for a triple room - a fantastic price for this hotel I think).

Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Our interactions were relatively basic - we asked about tourist sites, tapas bars, taxis, and the like - but everyone a the hotel was willing to help with useful information. The hotel also has a small indoor seating area that opens out onto a balcony with a couple of tables and chairs. The indoor seating area is equipped with a coffee machine (which made delicious coffees for a euro per cup) and another machine with juices and water that cost one or two euros per item. Breakfast is available too - I had some tasty croissants or toast with butter and jam most mornings with fresh squeezed orange juice. The cost of these items was tacked onto our room bill, and they were not expensive at all.

Free wireless internet is available in a few common seating areas of the hotel, but not in the rooms. I saw lots of guests using laptops in the seating area and balcony. Also, one or two desktop computers are available of guests. Printing is available too - you just pay the receptionist for the printouts.

Finally, the location: the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Plaza Nueva, one of the main plazas close to many tourist sites. It is also close to lots of tapas bars and restaurants. In short, the location is very good.

My family and I had a nice stay here, and I highly recommend this hotel. Keep in mind that this is not a fancy hotel. Nevertheless, for a good price you'll be able to rest in a clean, comfortable, and friendly atmosphere that is close to most of Granada's tourist sites.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMizoSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    238
    66
    15
    13
See reviews for
112
260
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The hotel, while only 8 rooms, offering very basic amenties, and strangely situated on the fourth floor of a nondescript building, was excellent. The beds were amazing - the best night's sleep I had my entire week in Spain. The rooms were clean, beds comfy, nice bathrooms. Located in a quiet neighborhood, the hotel is within walking distance to the cathedral and not far from the Alhambra and Albacin. Staff was very nice and helpful. Only stayed one night, but would recommend as a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoppy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Me and my girlfriend experienced a great time at Carlos V. The location of the hotel is good, a walking distance from city center and close to bus stops that can take wherever you want in the city. The bedroom is very comfortable, with a spacious bedroom and bathroom, all very clean and with a very comfortable bed. The hotel was also easy to find (I wouldn't recommend using cars in Granada, so the best option is to take a taxi from the train station) and the staff was kind and helpful. Maybe the normal price is a little expensive for what the hotel offers, however it was easy to find a good offer that made the room very cheap (less than 50 euros per night for a double room), resulting in a very good price x quality relation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilianTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed one night, and then booked a second night: it's a great hotel for it's price.

First of all: the hotel is on the 4th floor and there is no reception desk on the ground floor. To find the hotel driving your car, you will need a navigation system (Tomtom or Google).
And parking is difficult, or it will cost you about 15 Euro per day.

Now the good news:
The hotel is very close to (or: in) the center of Granada; everything is within walking distance.
The rooms are impressive: great, new decoration. Great, new bathroom with impressive shower and hair dryer. The more expensive rooms have city view.
Friendly staff.
Free wifi in the lobby, with low signal in your room.
You can have breakfast with croissant and zummo (freshly made orange juice) for about 3 euro.

Oh, we were in room 427 and there was sometimes a (machine related?) noise.

It's probably because of the missing reception desk on the ground floor (and no restaurant at all) that the hotel only has one star; the rest is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva-Quirinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

A good hotel in the centre of town, made it really easy to tour around with young kids (could walk to most things, and stops for the No.30 and No.32 bus which took you to the Alhambra were nearby) but was a nightmare to find initially - our navigator device couldn't cope with Granada's twisty narrow streets. they send you written advice on how to get there, but if you're driving, get a large scale paper map and work it out before you enter the city - there's nowhere you can stop once you're in town!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveller1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We walked to the Alhambra from the hotel and found most other points of interest on foot.
However, be warned: the city centre is one huge building site with road works everywhere and traffic redirections the norm. If you plan on using a satnav to get to the hotel - forget it!
We arrived via the ringroad up to the Alhambra and then dropped down to the centre where we stopped and asked.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid_dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I agree with other reviews - could be a 3 star. We had 4 nights in cold January. The room was spacious, warm, clean and comfortable. The staff are great - helpful and friendly. We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel - even to the Alhambra. I wanted to add my positive comments to their guestbook - but it was full with all positive reviews! The rates are excellent - we were spoiled for the rest of our trip.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SheilaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
913 reviews
Abadia Hotel Granada
#65 of 125 in Granada
357 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hesperia Granada
Hesperia Granada
#24 of 125 in Granada
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mirador Arabeluj
#53 of 125 in Granada
321 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#23 of 125 in Granada
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V

Property: Hotel Carlos V
Address: Plaza Campos 4 | Eliseos 4, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Granada
#37 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carlos V 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlos V hotel is located in Granada's historic city centre, only 2 minutes' walk from the popular tapas bars of Navas Street and 400 metres from the Cathedral. Rooms include free Wi-Fi and air conditioning. The rooms have simple, colourful decor and wooden floors. They all include free a TV and a private bathroom with hydromassage shower. A safety deposit service and a free computer with internet access are available at the 24-hour reception. We offer a varied breakfast buffet, with good prices. Elvira Street and the beautiful Albaicin district are 600 metres away. There are many tapas bars and restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos v Hotel
Carlos v Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing