We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cosy, Spanish charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Aljarife - Granada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Ranked #12 of 95 Granada B&B and Inns
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, Spanish charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I actually stayed in 2012. A charming B&B neatly tucked away at the top of the cobbled street with a wonderful, host. Señor Most was "most" accommodating, ensuring all our needs were taken care of. My room was comfortable and quiet, with a window that peered out to the forms of the Alhambra. What a sight at Sunrise. Pleasant-family-style breakfasts and a charming courtyard complimented the experience.
I would definitely return here, as a base for my next visit to absorb more flavours of Granada.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We found this on trip advisor and booked well ahead of time as during high season for the Alhambra it is difficult to find good accommodation. Christian Most, the owner was good in replying to emails and giving directions to the Casa, however we found these not so easy to follow, so ring and let him know you are here and he will come to get you and help with the luggage. This "5 miinute walk" from the Airport bus is more like 15-20 minutes and apart from the start is all uphill with steep grades, cobbled streets that are treacherous when wet and include steps making it even harder. It's a pedestrian zone so no taxis will take you there, so either don't bring lots of luggage or ring Christian for help but be prepared for an uphill climb. Remember they used to use donkeys here and you will see why when you start to climb!
Once recovered from this climb, we found the Casa a really lovely little place, 4 rooms, ours on the 4th floor (more steps and no lift) having beautiful views over the Alhambra which is lit up at night. We had a twin with two easy chairs and lots of windows, aircon and heating and a separate large bathroom down a few stairs from our bedroom. Comfortable and fairly quiet with little traffic noise.
Breakfast is extra 7€ pp and we enjoyed this one morning. Fruit and cereals, cheese, breads, jams, tea or coffee. We also enjoyed breakfast at a little cafe around the corner as well.
The Casa also has a delightful courtyard for relaxing and Señor Most gives good recommendations for local restaurants and sights, which we found very helpful.
Our only downside was getting here with 2 cases plus carryons as we were away for 8 weeks, but if travelling light it will not be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed only one night at Casa del Aljarife, which located in the heart of El Albaycin. This property is quite popular and it was full when I went. I was praying for a cancellation so that I could stay 2 more nights there, but unfortunately I had to move to another hotel the next day.
The host, Mr Christian Most, went out of his way to help me out and kindly booked another place nearby for me. He is an amazing host and give you very good tips about Granada. I just followed his hand-out and went to a few restaurants he recommended. I had a good time and ate fabulous food.
I loved my room. It was impressively big and comfortable with amazing views of the Alhambra palace. The breakfast was simple but delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant and comfortable stay in this 300-year old house. Herr Most went out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed and by following the directions on his hand-out we found some excellent restaurants. The room was clean and neat, the beds were good with linen and towels changed frequently. The views of Al Hambra from our room (No. 4) were spectacular. We particularly appreciated two well-upholstered armchairs and the excellent lighting for reading, both of which are all too rare. Well-stocked fridge with variety of drinks, breakfast can be any of three levels, as one chooses. Location is second to none with restaurants all around and mini-bus up to Al Hambra conveniently available.

Room Tip: No 4 has the best view of Al Hambra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Quebec
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a hard time finding this pension, but when we got there it was worth the effort. Christian is a very good host, and helped us up, and on our departure down, all the stairs. We had the junior suite, which was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were not included in the room rate, but for the little extra that we paid were extremely good and worth the cost. Christian was also very good at showing us, on a carefully plotted map, where all the attractions are in Granada.
However, I would hesitate to recommend this pension for seniors, as there is a lot of uphill and downhill walking. If a traveller is able to do hills and book early, as the pension is small, it is much more enjoyable than a generic hotel.

Room Tip: This is a very old building, with only 4 rooms. All rooms are exdellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very good location with a nice and helpful hotel host. Among other he had made ​​a map with an overview of good restaurants, which also were really good. The room was large, with plenty of space. Nice and clean. Nice bathroom. The house is old and well maintained with a lot of charm, and only four rooms. Located centrally in the Albaicin. The hotel has two parking places available. It is a good idea to book in advance if you go by car, parking is otherwise difficult.

Free WiFi and safe. Very good breakfast.

We visited this hotel in last part of october and it was a little chilly at night so we would have appreciated to be able to turn the heat on.

Mr. Ingard Sunde/Mrs. Kjersti Ringheim

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nites in wonderful Alberzin section of Granada. beautiful room with fantastic view of Alhambra. Somewhat difficult to getup the cobblestoned alley ways from Plaza Neuva with suitcases but worth the effort. Knowledgable host but somewhat over powering, maybe his German background.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#3 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Aljarife - Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Aljarife - Granada

Property: Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Address: Plaza Cruz Verde 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa del Aljarife - Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Aljarife Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing