We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of Granada”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Sur de Granada

Al Sur de Granada
Ranked #137 of 1,470 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Delicatessen, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In our little but cozy space we offer a wide range of wines by the glass, artisan beers, and different dishes starred by our raw materials. Because of our reduced dimensions, it is even more worthy of merit all that we offer in our eatery. We start with breakfasts (don't miss them!) At 10:00 and until 23:30 you can order any dish from our menu. Everything is cut and cooked on order (cheeses, ham, vegetales and fruits), we work with the same ingredients that our Shop provides us, enjoy your stay in our home and let us take care of you by our staff. Our summer opening times are: 10:00-16:00 19:00-0:00 The rest of the year, our opening times are: 9:00 - 0:00
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A taste of Granada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a great place to go and have breakfast, lunch, dinner or tapas. While the portion sizes may be a bit smaller, you can be sure that the quality is good. Most of the food is locally sourced and/or ecological, so if that is important to you this is one of the only places in Granada which makes it such a big priority.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    63
    18
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Tasty gourmet & organic food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

The space is very interesting! Besides the restaurant, Al Sur is also a lovely gourmet store with what seems to be a very nice winery. It's just a pity that it is not on the center of calle Elvira, it's almost on the end of the street, right next to Puerta de Elvira.

It's not a restaurant to stay a long time, but the food (and the ingredients) are of a really good quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana_Arnaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Al sur de Granada is bio store and tapas - sandwich eatery.
very friendly staff and savory dishes.
I tried the morcilla sandwich and it was great. wine was also good and they give you some tapas for each glass :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anadubai_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four ate dinner here. At first we had to sit at separate small tables but were able to move to one together when another group left. We had a large salad that was fresh and tasty, meatballs that we liked the plate clean, chopped roasted veggies with Alberian ham. That was enough food for us, and the only reason not 5 stars was that it was a bit expensive. The dishes including the salad were 12 to 14 euro each, and the wines about 3 euro for not huge pours. So if was about 55 euro for us. Not bad, but not cheap but it was really tasty. Note that we picked it because we were staying in the. Albacyn and it was close on the map, but we didn't realize how steep the hill down to it was. But it was still walkable.

Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Just like home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Put very simply, Al Sur is the warm heart of the old city of Granada. Conveniently waiting for you, right at the doors of the Albaicín, they make you feel just like home. This is where you'll meet the local producers of Ramón, the hard working wine makers, and the international crew of quality seeking aficionados. Every single product they pick is precious, respectful of the specifics of the place it comes from, and tasty.
Stop there for a block of chocolate in the afternoon or a fresh desayunos before a walk, jump by for fresh eggs and bake a pie home, get some rest after a long cycle ride sipping a juice a fuelling up of tapas, or settle in with a glass of wine from Ramon Saavedra and watch the light fall down over the shoulders of your friends.
But above all things, talk to anyone there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Sur de Granada also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Al Sur de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing