We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little gem”
Review of Al Sur de Granada

Al Sur de Granada
Ranked #151 of 1,492 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Spanish, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In our little but cozy space we offer a wide range of wines by the glass, artisan beers, and different dishes starred by our raw materials. Because of our reduced dimensions, it is even more worthy of merit all that we offer in our eatery. We start with breakfasts (don't miss them!) At 10:00 and until 23:30 you can order any dish from our menu. Everything is cut and cooked on order (cheeses, ham, vegetales and fruits), we work with the same ingredients that our Shop provides us, enjoy your stay in our home and let us take care of you by our staff. Our summer opening times are: 10:00-16:00 19:00-0:00 The rest of the year, our opening times are: 9:00 - 0:00
melb
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this little place on our day trip to Grenada and we loved it. Our Spanish is not great (or more accurately non-existent) so we were unsure what to order but the girl working there was fabulous. Explained everything to us in detail whilst being extremity friendly. Woukd definitely recommend for a quiet little lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracie5157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    63
    18
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "Must Do" while in Granada”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As a local who has been leaving abroad for many years, Al Sur is always one of my stopovers every time I go back home.

Their selection of products brings me back to those flavours I shared with my family so I make sure I leave some space in my suitcase to fill with vino, queso and all sort of sauces and chocolates!

They support actively local and regional producers so there is a little story behind every product. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and wrap beatifully if you are thinking of making a gift.

Get a spot in one of their barrel shaped tables and taste a local beer (Alhambra, Mamut) while you enjoy a delicious free tapa or some jamón recently cut, or simply take some organic veggies and dairies back home,

My favourite: Goat cheese covered in ashes. To die for...

Do not miss the opportunity to pop by!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuilleLozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This spectacular find was the first place my husband and I visited in Granada. We had amazing wine, and the food is just sublime! It was also great to find local, organic produce and eggs. The owner was really so sweet and knowledgeable. We exchanged stories and had great conversation. An incredibly welcoming spot, with delicious food, an extensive wine list, and lots of smiles.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomKat00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food we ate in Granada”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We found Al Sur de Granada on our last day in Granada so unfortunately we only got to eat there once. It was well priced and by far the best produce we ate the whole time we were there. All the produce is local and organic. The owner was so helpful and gave us recommendations for other places in Granada. You must go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food in Granada!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We literally stumbled across this little tapas, organic grocer, and produce store as we were walking back to collect our luggage. It was obvious that we had nearly missed a gem. The sign out the front spoke of local cheeses, organic produce, 50 wines to try by the glass, tapas, regional breads. Our host had lived in London - so spoke English - which was great as she was able to help us choose some fabulous wine to enjoy as we ate a fresh tomato salad, amazing eggs with chorizo, onion and tomato and a delicate soft goats cheese with assorted jams. There was a huge amount of food, and it was prepared as we sat, from the delivery of fresh produce sold as part of the grocery store. I was thrilled to try a Chardonnay - only 500 bottle produced, and we were able to buy some local olive oil to take away. This little place is well worth more than one visit - the food is great, the wine is really interesting, and your host is delightful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Sur de Granada also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Al Sur de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing