We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tapas and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Sur de Granada

Al Sur de Granada
Ranked #122 of 1,469 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Delicatessen, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In our little but cozy space we offer a wide range of wines by the glass, artisan beers, and different dishes starred by our raw materials. Because of our reduced dimensions, it is even more worthy of merit all that we offer in our eatery. We start with breakfasts (don't miss them!) At 10:00 and until 23:30 you can order any dish from our menu. Everything is cut and cooked on order (cheeses, ham, vegetales and fruits), we work with the same ingredients that our Shop provides us, enjoy your stay in our home and let us take care of you by our staff. Our summer opening times are: 10:00-16:00 19:00-0:00 The rest of the year, our opening times are: 9:00 - 0:00
münchen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas and wine”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This bar is more than a delicatessen shop than a bar. There are few tables but lots of food shelves.
I found the food and wine excellent. The guy working there was very helpful and friendly.
The prices were very high (would say about double of a "conventional" bar) but worth the money. Even though the place has a lot of meat like ham.. they also had some nice vegetarian tapas.
A pity we found the place the evening before we left, we would have come back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamama1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    63
    18
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I used to go to this place quite regularly and there was very friendly staff, an english girl and an american, who were very good but they have both left (which usually says something about the management) but went back recently and was very disappointed, the place is not what it used to be and I would agree with previous poster that I left feeling that tapas were fine, would have been nice tapas and wine in a different setting, but uh, such rudeness really left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GranadaInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlSurdeGranada, Gerente at Al Sur de Granada, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Hello Granada Insider,
A big shame to hear those words from you, we have your guide here and recommend it.
The English girl that you mentioned is the manager, so she's not gone at all!
The american girl is correct she has left due she went back to the States. We always select very carefully our staff and I'm quite surprised about hearing they were rude...
From Al Sur de Granada we are so sorry and would you to see you again to change your idea about our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
184 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Considerate service and excellent local foodstuffs”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is close to the parking garage near Plaza del Triunfo--and at the northern end of the Calle Elvira. In contrast to reviewer who called service rude, we found just the opposite. They were very helpful and prepared a beautiful plate of local cheeses and wonderful sandwiches for the four of us (including a picky 15-year-old). They also had a great selection of local beers, including Mammooth (my favorite). We were there during the day, but I'm told there's a great atmosphere in the evening, as well. Small, with very few tables, but works as a take away spot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

we loved everything about this Place. It was the first bar we saw when we arrived in Granada. And we came back every day after that. Great wine, amazing meat, great meals. And the lady in charge was very very accomadating. very passionate about her food and wine. We even went to a Flamenco concert one night and it became the highlight of our trip.

We ordered a big box of food and shipped it to our house in holland. Very good oil and Cava! A must visit for everyone!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank superflytilburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and rude”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I went in with a friend to have a look. I found the wine to be way more expensive than anywhere else that I have visited in Granada. The recommended wine of the week was €4.75 a glass. This may be acceptable prices in London or New York. But I found in Granada this is crazy. Tapas were average. Atmosphere non-existent. Owner was condescending and bordering on rude. Maybe I caught her on a bad day but I found this to be my worst experience in Granada. It is a pity because it could be a nice place, but isnt.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlSurdeGranada, Propietario at Al Sur de Granada, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Hello Marcos,
First of all, thank you for writting a review about us.
It's a shame you didnt feel good in our place. The wine of the week is a recommendation, something special that we want to higlight. Although there are wines from 2,40€ in our menu, the price of the wines is not decided randomly, it is caused by the quality and limited production of many wines in this area.
We don't think our tapas are average. We use the best bread from Alfacar, organic extra virgin olive oil, artisan meats and cheeses and organic vegetables... and remember tapas are free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Sur de Granada also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Al Sur de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing