We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but a few issues ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reina Cristina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Reina Cristina Hotel to your Saves list
Reina Cristina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Tablas numero 4, 18002 Granada, Spain (Centro - Sagrario)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value but a few issues ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent three nights at the Hotel Reina Cristina on our recent trip to Spain. The price was definitely right for a junior suite on the side of the building, and the room was quiet (side of the building faces an alley/narrow street). Not much of a view (except for occasional glimpses of the Granada moon, which can be spectacular) but that was fine since we wanted a quiet room and Granada is definitely a very loud city. Hotel is in central part of city -- good location and you can walk most places.

Hotel and room were immaculate, and staff were friendly and service good except for a few things. There is an extra charge (2 Euros per day) for use of the in-room safe, but no one told us that when we checked in and there was nothing about it on the safe itself, which just had instructions on how to program it. So I spent 15 minutes trying to figure out how to use the safe before going down to reception to enquire, where the clerk told me that I had to pay and she would then program my key card to use the safe. No apologies and didn't think this was unusual at all. This shouldn't be an issue.

Wireless reception in our room was terrible - don't waste your time or money.

Wouldn't recommend breakfast, either, which didn't compare to other hotels we stayed in. Cheaper, yes, but not as good a selection of items and instant (yes, instant) coffee from a Nescafe machine. Generally the coffee in Spain is excellent, but this was terrible, and as coffee drinkers, not what we like to have at breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was a "junior suite" on the side of the building facing the alley (narrow street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    98
    59
    31
    16
See reviews for
53
116
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from Spain, and we very much enjoyed our stay at the Reina Cristina. The room was squeaky clean and large by EU standards. The decor in the hotel proper was a combination of rustic and elegant. We were on a special senior rate which was appreciated. The breakfast was delicious, especially the bread pudding. The location is top notch, so much is within easy walking distance. All in all, an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Chose hotel because of its location. Most places of interest in Granada are of walking distance, anything further, all buses can be caught near the cathedral...a 4 minute walk.
Hotel was easy to find...used Google maps the day before, to show us the way from bus stop at cathedral.
On entering, we was met by a calming water feature and a life size cut out of a famous Spanish poet, who used to live there?? (Federico Garcia Lorca). Receptionist welcomed us, even when we got there at 7am..5 hours before we could check in (we only wanted to leave our bags), but a double room was free, so she checked us in there and then.
The hotel has charming decorations...with 3 floors, so not massive, with small tasteful decorations around the corridors/stairs.
The room we had was a modern extension,opened with key card, the 'older' rooms still used old fashioned keys. On entering, our room was very spacious, with a warm interior.
The faults we found on the first day were....Toilets seat was loose and a brass curtain wall fitting kept coming out the wall when we went to close curtains at night.
On later days, the 'free' tioletries was never replaced, good job we took our own. We turned air conditioning down, as we was sweating at night. Finally, the top blankets were evil on the twin beds..rough, not smooth and strokable.
Extra charges we found out were:Safe (had a daily charge of 3euro), Wi-Fi (also a 2euro charge)
Breakfasts in the morning, was at times sparse. The restaurant was looked after by only one member of staff, doing everything. Many times we had to ask for cups,plates and more milk etc. The buffet could have had more variety, bread was only of one sort, never a square loaf, for 'typical' toast. Only ever scrambled eggs, bacon, a selection of cakes, a couple of fruits ready cut and only one cereal. Not really worth the extra money in our eyes...You can do better by getting breakfast somewhere else, there were loads of places very close you could go.
Finally, the best bit, Mari Luz?? the female receptionist....Very, very helpful, when we asked her sometimes strange things, she was happy to help, printing out info for us and giving us clear advise. The male receptionists were no way near as good as she was.
All in all then, this hotel as a typical 3 star hotel, with the added bonus of a place that made you feel happy to enter its door with its charm and beauty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Reina Cristina for 3 nights while I was working in the city. I couldn't fault the prices of the room and the excellent location, but I very very much wished that I had booked a double room for myself instead of a single, and I had a few problems with my stay. Let's start with the positives:

The reception staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, as was the bar staff next door. I had dinner one day and lunch another in the restaurant next door, and the food/service was great. The hotel has a lovely entrance patio, and the location can't be beat. It's less than 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral and to loads of shops, restaurants and tapas bars in the area. Also, having paid only about £35 per night, it felt like a bargain for it being so centrally located.

Now on to the negatives: As I was traveling alone on business, I booked a single room thinking that it would be sufficient for me, but the bed was quite small and made terrible squeaking noises which woke me up every time I turned over trying to sleep.

The hotel was also HOT, and there didn't seem to be any form of air con in the room. In addition, the single room opened up to the interior patio, which wouldn't have been a problem except that with the windows open (because of the heat), you can hear EVERYTHING that happens downstairs. On my first night, it literally sounded like someone was moving furniture across the floor at 5:30am, so I was torn between being hot and having the windows closed because of the noise, or being kept awake by the noise, but with a slight breeze.

Also, I had loads of trouble with their internet connection. As I was working, I had to make Skype calls back to the UK, which were nearly impossible to do because of the slow connection. Also, when I tried to stream a TV show at night (because the TV only had 2 working channels), the connection would stop my stream after about 5 minutes, leaving me without TV all together.

Overall, I would say that this is a nice hotel, but I imagine that the double rooms are not only bigger, but they might allow for a bit of a breeze as well. I would not recommend coming here for a business trip unless you don't require the internet for work, but for a holiday in Granada I'd say it would be fine. Very close to all the sights!! I would also recommend paying more to have a bigger room (even if you are a single traveler) just so you can avoid any noisiness from the hotel lobby/patio.

Room Tip: I would avoid the single rooms if at all possible. Very hot and noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is very deceiving from the outside. It's simple exterior hides a very tastefully decorated and fancy interior. The neighborhood is very lively with a short walk to the center of town, the Cathedral and many restaurants and shops. Can't beat this location.

The hotel is located on a narrow one-way street, so you cannot park in front to check in. What you need to do is pull in the side of the hotel on the left where there is an alleyway that you can park until you get instructions on where the parking lot is.

The woman running the front desk was super helpful and friendly. She seemed to be there day and night. The rooms are simple, with outdated but functional furniture. The TV is an old tube job and the bathroom is a bit small. The king size bed was comfortable if not a bit firm. The hotel lobby, hallways and public rooms were exceptional. While I was eating breakfast in the dining room, I almost felt like I was in one of the ballrooms at the Plaza hotel in NYC. It is that nice.
The breakfast also was very good with plenty of hot and cold choices. Overall, we enjoyed Granada and the Alhambra and felt this hotel was an excellent choice...especially for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had two nights in the Reina Cristina - it is a great place to stay in the middle of Granada, right on Placa Trinidad (which is lovely in itself). All of the rooms are arranged around two inner courtyards with loads of hanging plants and a tinkling fountain - very moorish! I was shocked at how luxurious and comforable the room was, considering the price that we paid for it. It had a little lounge area (in the room) complete with sofa and chairs (and a fridge) - it is was more like a little flat really. Beds very comfy, a balcony to look out onto Granada's streetlife and a huge bathroom. The breakfast was of a very very high quality - lots of fresh orange juice and fruit, and a hot and cold options. It felt very luxurious and as thorugh we were being taken care of - I'm not used to this in a hotel and I have to say I loved it and will definitely be staying again next time I am in Granada. I can thorough recommend it!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, and had a room on a corner (which may have made it bigger? - not sure).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterloomonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was able to get a small apartment separate from the hotel and next to and overlooking the Cathedral. Staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful as were the entire staff at the bar and restaurant. Be advised, English is not a very high priority language in the area, but the people here are muy simpatico and patient. The entire area by the hotel is absolutelymmarvelous. it is nearby a Granada bus tour stop as well, so easy cheap rides to Al Ahambra. This was far beyond my expectations. Don't let the gypsies by the Cathedral bother you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Reino de Granada Hotel
#83 of 124 in Granada
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Abadia Hotel Granada
#62 of 124 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#44 of 124 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Juan Miguel
Hotel Juan Miguel
#79 of 124 in Granada
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reina Cristina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reina Cristina Hotel

Property: Reina Cristina Hotel
Address: Calle Tablas numero 4, 18002 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reina Cristina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Reina Cristina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Reina Cristina
Reina Cristina Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing