We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very, very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dauro Granada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dauro Granada
Ranked #28 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Very, very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel proudly dispays a Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence": I can only think that's because there isn't a Trip Advisor "Certificate of OK but Nothing Special". On the upside, the hotel is located in the heart of Granada and it's easy to walk to the cathedral, shops and night market. There are tapas bars right across the road which are unbelievably cheap and more choice a few streets away. I also went on foot to the Alhambra, but some might prefer to take the bus or a taxi since it's a little further and a steep climb to get to the entrance. (It's well worth it, by the way...I spent five hours there and was entranced by it all.) So what's wrong with the hotel? First and foremost, it's incredibly noisy day and night. Most of the rooms open right on to the main road where traffic roars by from the early hours until very late. Secondly, its decor is tired and its infrastructure is creaking. I could have worked round the noisy exterior by closing the dual-pane windows but I couldn't get the air conditioning to just circulate air - whatever I did it blew hot, even at the icicle symbol on the control - and without air flow it was impossible to sleep in the stuffy room where the maid had overused the spray scent. In the end I resorted to my trusty airline ear plugs and kept the window open a crack. Thirdly, breakfast is only average: the usual buffet with ham and cheese but a limited choice of fresh fruit and only boxed cereals, nothing remotey healthy. And they make the mistake so often found in hotels: as the end of the breakfast period approaches they don't bother to clear away the dirty tables, meaning when you do find a clean table you're surrounded by others littered with detritus: horrible. That said, the friendliness of the staff can't be faulted: very helpful and fun receptionists and an overworked guy called Juan who seems to be there from morning till night, running the breakfast room, parking your car, wheeling your luggage...poor Juan does it all. All in all this place feels like it needs to modernize: it would have been good in the 1990s but doesn't feel like it's moved on. If you want a reasonable price in the heart of the city, go ahead: but you better be a sound sleeper and not have high expectations of the rooms or the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scot_Wha's_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NachoGranada, General Manager at Hotel Dauro Granada, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir.
It's too bad for us to read your comment. We do not usually have such severe reviews. But we appreciate it will help us improve aspects you point. With regard to noise, we can hardly remove the street noise if the window is opened. Anyway, we will review the room thermostats to work properly. With regard to breakfast, I personally take a hand in the matter and I have already talked to the waiter. I am very sorry for your disappointment.
Ignacio Saez
Manager & Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    290
    71
    13
    3
See reviews for
125
274
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a great hotel, great location and excellent value. It's not 4* but definitely 3* and i give it 4.5. It's excellent in the 3* category. Friendly and helpful reception area. We stayed 2 days here and 2 days at a more expensive hotel. This was better value, ~ 40% of the price of the other hotel. Lots of cafes, restaurants, and little shops. Clean, comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on the street side had a little balcony. The room was quiet, no noise from street. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hailsham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Hotel is probably only deserving of three stars,however the staff are what makes this hotel special,the reception staff(Susana and Marie Carman?) are so helpful they really go out of their way to sort any probs,very welcome when you are in a foreign country.
Taxi to Alhambra 6 euro's not worth taking bus in my opinion,great places to eat around hotel as well.
The beds are also worthy of comment as they are very comfortable,traffic noise is a problem if you want window open but it would not stop me staying here again,also suspect that whatever hotel you stay at in granada it will be noisy,but what a lovely city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Although the staff was very friendly, I rate this hotel with three stars. At nine am the construction work at the level below us started. We had a room on the back side of the hotel, which is the most quiet part, but as in the rest of Granada, the traffic noise is very loud. The beds were on the small side (queen size). The heater was off by default; you have to call reception to request for it to work.

However, at the early booking rate it is good value for money. The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping district with some nice restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FJ_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Duaro is a great hotel. The staff are so welcoming and happy to deal with every request. Out toilet's water input was continuously running - whilst we were out they had someone in to fix it. The beds are very firm and super comfortable. Even though our room faces the street and you can hear slight traffic noise, I slept like a baby here! The breakfast was really good with loads of options on offer. The location was just terrific. Heaps of cheap eats - Tapas etc nearby. A 20 min uphill walk to the Alhambra or a EU$1.20 ride by bus - bus stop up to there only 5 min walk away. I great stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited Granada to see the Alhambra. Very happy with our two night stay in the Dauro hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is within walking distance of the Alhambra (if you don't mind hills!) and within easy reach of some lovely bars.The hotel is located on a busy street, but don't let this put you off as the soundproofing is good, as is the aircon. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Hotel Dauro is situated below the Alhambra Palace (20 mins walk) and is very convenient for the Albaysin and the Caves ; they are twenty to thirty minutes walk away. It is also very close to the river and there are some excellent walks along the river with plenty of cafes to refresh at.
We stayed for three nights and the hotel ( we were desperate as we had left it late and there were no online tickets)) organised our tickets to the Alhambra palace.
They could not have been more helpful; the rooms were excellent; the breakfast more than plentiful and the staff were extremely friendly and were able to help with all our queries.
I would recommend it without reservation to anyone wishing to enjoy this wonderful city
Very clean and thoughtfully laid out. Lots of shops nearby and plenty of squares.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street got the sun in the evening; however we did not go to other rooms; the area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#25 of 124 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Figares
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#35 of 124 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#21 of 124 in Granada
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Las Almenas
#38 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#15 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauro Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauro Granada

Property: Hotel Dauro Granada
Address: Acera Darro 19, 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauro Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in Granada in great location in the heart of the city. The hotel has 36 rooms decorated with great attention to detail. Among its many facilities, it offers free security boxes, press, minibar, radio-clock, private garage, WiFi, meeting rooms Buffet Breakfast, etc. Thanks to its location and proximity to the Granada Conference Centre, this accommodation in Granada is ideal for both holiday and business customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dauro Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing