We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Hotel Alixares

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alixares
Ranked #61 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Zurgena, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We chose hotel Alixares because of its location and we were not disappointed, right alongside the Alhambara with views across the city.
Parking was simple, leave your car outside and they do it for you. In fact the hotel staff could not have been more helpful, including storing our bags even after we had checked out.
The hotel looks the part and its entrance is quite impressive.
The rooms were comfortable if a little bit too hot, even with the windows open and snow on the hills.
The buffet at the evening meal was nothing special but saved us from venturing out into town.
Breakfast was a little uninspiring but it is in most Spanish hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alcazares48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    580
    407
    106
    61
See reviews for
360
582
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rada de Moraira, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We went on a Gandia Tour trip for Christmas. The location is ideal, close to the Alhambra Palace & a nice walk from there to the centre. There was a great selection of food in the resturant for breakfast & dinner. On Christmas Day we had a gala dinner which was a set menu & as I don't eat meat but I do fish it was no trouble to get me an alternative.
I do agree with other comments that when reception was busy they could have done with more staff. Ditto with the bar as they had happy hour every evening......which of course was popular but there was only one barman which meant a long wait for a drink. He was however always smiling & went out of his way to make sure you welcome.
We intend to return to Granada & will stay at the Alixares again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas. The lobby, bar and restaurant are average comfortable. The room lacks maintenance, especially the bathroom, toilet leaks water, here and there cracked tiles on the wall. Clean only at first glance, long black hairs on the bathroom floor, left behind by former guests, dirt on the, stained, carpet, right outside our room. Rather hard mattress, flat pillow, an extra one not present in the room. Minibar empty. Restaurant buffet style, okay, nothing special. Mainly British clients. To far away from the center on a very steep hill.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Salinas, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is situated within a short walk from the Alambra Palace, with a good bus service into the centre of Granada. The hotel is impressive with good failities. However the food was just dreadful and not as we expected from a 4star hotel. As we had only paid for bed and breakfast, we could have bought our evening meal out, but there wasn´t much choice in the area apart from a pizza or similar.

Room Tip: Probably a reasonable choice for a one night stay and visit to Alambra, but unless you are prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline_David66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazarron, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Situated a short walk away from the entrance to the Alhambra, the Hotel Alixares is most certainly the best located hotel in Granada for the tourist. There are buses every five or ten minutes into the city centre, but if you are in a party of four then taxis are more cost effective.

I have never stayed in a hotel with such a busy reception area, as there was a constant arrival and departure of coachloads of (mostly far eastern) tourists. Reception always seemed to be in need of one or two more staff! Having said that, those staff that were on duty were always polite and courteous – even when dealing with multitudes of people!!

Special commendation must go to the barman, who was always smiling, and who always went out of his way to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction.

The hotel itself is showing signs of its age - the bar area, rooms and corridors are looking tired and shabby and although they were spotlessly clean, they do need to be re-fitted and decorated

Breakfast was fabulous with hot and cold options available on a serve yourself buffet.

Would we go back … Yes, please!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveYox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is the 1 you want to stay in for a 2-3 day visit to Alhambra -- proximity can't be better, in-house cuisine is !excellent! (most reviews overlooked this), very quiet, rooms good but not excellent. The drains smell a bit, like most hot countries, just open the window for 2 minutes :-). Other reviewers (I read many) complained about poor WIFI (not a prob now, Dec 26 2013), room temp (heater now works), rude staff -- perhaps management read reviews & took action?

If you want a driving vacation with great parking, then visit Detroit Michigan -- I hear the motorways are largely abandoned these days ;-) .

I paid 52 Euros for double room, brekky-included -- a bargain even in the off-season.

Worst thing about this hotel was a bus-load of stodgey, fat, foul-mouthed, drunken, lower-middle-class old British tourists infesting the place 2 nights; seems there's no end to ancient Empire's entitlement :-)

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet & clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isa-azur a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beware, unwary traveller! The stories of one way street nightmares, driving and parking in Granada are all true!

Knowing this, we studied maps and guides and decided on 3 criteria for our hotel: easy driving access (no walking), guaranteed parking and easy access to the Alhambra fort and the old Moorish Albaicin district (another World Heritage site).

The Hotel Alixares ticked all boxes: A straight drive from the autovia A-44 into the Alhambra park, valet parking, 200 meters from the Alhambra entrance and a convenient No.30 shuttle to the centre of town (1.50 euro).

All potential stress points resolved, we thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable hotel, were thrilled by the Alhambra and had easy, and very enjoyable jaunts into the centre of town. The Albaicin by day or night is wonderfully atmospheric and a tapas crawl through the tapas district from 1 to 3 pm is a must-do.

We got very good room rates (mid December) and enjoyed fabulous sunshine on an uncrowded, midweek visit to the Alhambra without the maddening throngs and suffocating heat of August.

For those driving and unwilling to pay higher prices, I suggest hotels to the west and south close to the Alhambra will offer some of the same advantages. If you're without a car, enjoy your stay in the town centre!

Room Tip: South and west rooms will be very hot in summer. Go north and east and 4th floor to escape heat and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Corona de Granada Hotel
#55 of 122 in Granada
553 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Hotel Carmen Granada
#43 of 122 in Granada
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Guadalupe Hotel
Guadalupe Hotel
#38 of 122 in Granada
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alixares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alixares

Property: Hotel Alixares
Address: Paseo Sabica 40 | Avenida Del Generalife, 18009 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alixares 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complete Alixares hotel is located opposite the stunning Alhambra, one of the most wonderful monuments in the world, and a 15-minute walk from Granada's city centre. The hotel offers its guests a comfortable and cosy atmosphere in a modern environment. Hotel Alixares offers Wi-Fi Internet connection throughout the building, a reception desk open 24 hours, several fully equipped meeting and conference rooms, an Internet Point, an outdoor swimming pool, a private parking area, a bar and a restaurant, just to mention some. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alixares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing