We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting the Alhambra Palace”
Review of Guadalupe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guadalupe Hotel
Ranked #35 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Perfect for visiting the Alhambra Palace Literally just across the road, so have a 6 euro continental breakfast and then visit the Palace. (Book in avance for about 10.30 and then go in about 10.45 and avoid the crowds).
The staff were lovely and 'went that extra mile' - especially the young lady in the restaurant.
The decoration of the room was inkeeping with the situation of the hotel and it was warm and comfy and had plenty of hot water.
The menu, although quite large was fairly limited in choice. I had a steak which although I had asked for rare was very well done, but . . . it was delicious!
The only possible negative was the price of the parking at 15 euros a day. We felt this was well worth the cost as it was directly opposite the hotel in the Palace grounds and had 24 security.
Considering the more than reasonable cost of the hotel this didn't seem dear.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 821 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is just across the Alhambra's Gardens, ticket offices and forests. It offers great view and also allows you to enjoy the fresh air even in the early hours. The rooms are silent and gives you the opportunity of getting rest well. The rooms with jacuzzi are also a plus to be mentioned.
It definitely has the optimum price quality deal.
Although it is a bit out of the city, it take 10 minutes to walk to the city center following a lovely green walkway. Plus small buses and city sight seeing buses pass very close to hotel. I have stayed twice in the same hotel for more than 2 nights and definitely suggest it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the higher floors have better view on the side of Alhambra. Rooms with jacuzzi are unmiss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RukenZilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Directly across from the Alhambra with easy access to downtown via the quick 31 minibus. Very helpful staff. Very easy to drive to with discounted parking in the Alhambra lot across the street if you are staying at the hotel. Our room had a great view into an olive grove on the 3rd floor. Great value.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was lucky to stay in room 410 on the fourth floor with a breathtaking view of part of La Alhambra and the surrounding forest. It was magical. The room was warm, quaint and tastefully furnished and the whole staff was extremely kind and attentive. I would never hesitate to stay there again, the location is priceless, the hotel lovely and quiet, the bed super comfortable, the shower with the perfect temperature and pressure. It's much more pleasant to stay here than at the centre of Granada, which is a 10 minute walk down the beautiful forest, plus you're a stone's throw from Alhambra for the three hour tour.

I was there in low season so due to the low occupancy the restaurant wasn't open, although the cafeteria on the ground floor was. Don't expect much of Granadian cuisine, it's not that the food here wasn't good, it's just that in the whole region they tend to make things oily and serve them with fries (with good olive oil at least...). That said I did have a delicious Fabada for lunch. And minibar prices were reasonable.

Wifi works perfectly throughout the building, from my room on the 4th floor down to the lobby and cafeteria.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I feel the Gualoupe deserves a better press! The hotel possesses friendly and helpful staff and is in an ideal location, almost opposite the Alhambra ticket office. Unload luggage, park opposite and walk 15 mins or take round-city sight-seeing bus down to all the sights in the city. Do NOT try to drive or park in Granada's city-centre - NIGHTMARE!

Admittedly, the Guadeloup's restaurant is closed in winter months, but we were served a perfectly adequate meal by friendly staff in the ground-floor bar.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CroydeWeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel location is excellent, easy downhill walk to town centre, bus back, Alhambra entance less than a minute's walk away, rating would have been a lot higher but for the atrocious dinner we had, I can only describe the meal as greasy spoon cafe type quality charged at an haute cuisine price, did complain, was offered breakfast for free but declined because of the dinner experience. A potentially good hotel badly let down by its cuisine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalupehotel, Director Comercial at Guadalupe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

With reference to your opinion, I am afraid I cannot acept an insult like an opinion, I mean, I can understand that your experience of dinner in our Restaurant should be not a suitable quality rate relation, and I should understand it, every client has its own level of food-price, but I really think that the expression you indicates is too much demeaning, is like an insult, and of course, not suitable for one of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We didn't have to deal with the issues about parking in the old city core and we were first in line without reservations when Al Hambra opened because the hotel is so close. The woman at reception was very warm and helpful. Her suggestions and map allowed us to experience our two days in Granada to the fullest. The hotel ( we stayed in the annex) was reasonably clean and our room had a nice patio off the sliding door. We had a small problem with our TV and it was addressed quickly. Price seemed reasonable. Parking was available nearby. The lobby had WiFI and a good place for a beer or snack. Tapas looked a little weary. Breakfast seemed expensive in the hotel. The walk down to the town might be a little daunting for some but they have a bus or taxis available.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room off the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarLakeResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 122 in Granada
993 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,278 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,150 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#26 of 122 in Granada
576 reviews
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
#63 of 122 in Granada
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalupe Hotel

Address: Paseo Sabica 30 | Paseo del Generalife s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Granada
#44 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $62 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalupe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel with charme from 1969.Recently whole renovated, and ideally situated opposite the main entrance of the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens A pleasant walk of 15 minutes through the magic woods forest of the Alhambra separes our Hotel from the historic centre city of Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guadalupe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel Monachil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing