We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well rooms don't get much smaller...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Macia Condor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macia Condor
Ranked #97 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well rooms don't get much smaller...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

I stayed at the Macia Condor for a couple of nights whilst attending (an excellent) wedding in Granada. The groom had suggested the place on the basis of its location, which I can't fault. The room, however, was super small and strangely had a balcony twice the size of the sleeping area (Room 701 as I remember). The air con made lots of noise but didn't generate any cool air so I was permanently hot. There was no minibar even though there was a price list for it. No great loss as there clealy wasn't room for it. It was a small single bed.

Definitely not even close to four stars by UK standards, but the staff were friendly enough and I guess the pennies were respectable. I suspect it's worth finding out if there are any larger rooms available. Oh and it did have free wifi which gives it an extra star. Breakfast was typical buffet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    124
    102
    44
    20
See reviews for
61
149
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

I made an intense research to book the hotels in Madrid and Barcelona on internet before our departure. I supposed we couldn't get anything decent under 60EUR until we stayed at the Macia Condor in Granada.
We found this hotel through a travel agency in Seville. I must say I was quite confused to have a 4 stars accommodation for just 50 EUR but we went on. Yes, it is true what other reviewers say: it is not a real Spanish 4 stars hotel. But if you keep in mind what you have paid and what other hotels are asking for poor rooms you should be more than happy ( I almost booked a room in a hostel for 60 EUR!). The hotel is really nice and the staff is the most friendly people I have had behind a desk, they even helped us to find sport stores in town! We had a nice room with balcony over the gran via. The room was amazingly quite and the bathroom was also spacious and nice.
My husband visited Granada some years ago and he stayed closer to the Alhambra, in the historic city. His first impression was "oops, the location is bad" but after visiting the Alhambra and its surrounding we completely changed his mind. La Gran Via is a commercial center a little away from the narrow alleys filled with "tapas bar" lounges (a joke for locals because a tapa is an aperitif you get anyway, so every bar is a tapas bar in Spain!), souvenir shops and, of course, tourists.
My only complains are:
- the bathroom ventilation: it wasn't nice to get odors from other rooms and
- the glass in the shower: too short to have a decent shower without spreading water
Small problems anyway compared to the impeccable service we got for just 50 EUR

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltinpolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

The hotel is in a good position - 10-15 mins walk from the main centre - Cathedral and Plaza Nueva, so great for access. It's on a main road, but nice and quiet in the evening, so there isn't the constant noise from all those tourists! The rooms are small-ish but acceptable. Ours was clean, and serviced daily. Bathroom is fine as well. The main comment is that most of the rooms are dark. Only the rooms which face the front get full light. Most of the others face buildings which are close by (I guess 5 metres!), and we had opaque windows (for privacy from the neighbouring buildings). It really was very dark in the rooms. But that's fine if you use it as a base to get your head down at night. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - something we discovered after a day walking round and we really fancied something refreshing before going out in the evening. Breakfast is pretty good - didn't have an evening meal there as there are a huge number of alternatives out & about. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and they speak quite good English.

On a separate point, it's only 5 minutes walk from the bullring, but we didn't use the restaurants there. They all revel in the bullfights with lots of photos plastered on the walls. We didn't want to support such cruelty, or anything that encourages or profits from it. Walking by the restaurants there, you can hear the bulls in their boxes awating their fate. There are plenty of other good places to eat in Granada.

  • Liked — Location, reasonable room and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room was dark
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hertsman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat-Gan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2006

We staded at Macia Condor for one night in April, during Semana Santa. The room was very comfortable, with a balcony (althought it was going out to the main street, where there were development works that time). Clean, simple and nice. The hotel is 4 stars. We made the order thought the hotels.spain-bookings.com.
There is a parking in the hotel, but I wouldn't recomend on using it. It's very small, only for maybe 4 cars, and very expencive (12 euro per night). Across the street there is a municipal parking for much less, and it's guarded, so you don't need to worry about your car, while you get to know Granada.
The location is good. 1 minute walk, there is a bus stop for Alhambra. 5 minutes walk is The Catedrala. Behind the courner is internet-cafe.
The check in girl was very nice and helpful, she gave us a good directions and explaned about the Semana Santa proccesions. The next morning there was a young man, who was not so helpful.
Because we where very tired, we thought to try the hotel restorant. DON'T DO IT! It was a bad expiriens:-(

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the restorant
  • Tips/Secrets — don't use their parking
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

I've stayed in this hotel in the first few days of July 2006. Hotel room had a very strange layout and no view, but it was clean, beds were comfy, mini-bar stacked and it had a flat screen TV, which was a nice surprise.
Reception staff was not helpful, they could not take an initiative when I asked about Alhambra tickets.

If you are planning to visit Granada any time soon, be aware that most streets are dug-out for renovation. The whole place looks like one big building site. On a plus side, Alhambra was magical as I have expected it to be.

One more drawback – not many natives speak English, which was probably the reason that I haven’t seen many Brits there ;)

In conclusion … hotel decent, Alhambra awesome, Granada – building site, but exquisite.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2005

Actualy, the hotel is very regular, room little, also in very noise in the street.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Granada hotels

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2005

First of all: its a great hotel at its price (50 euros the double room per night with Bancotel), but it is not a 4-star. It would be in Latin America or Paris, but not in Spain.
The hotel is quiet and nice, although the decor could be updated in public areas. The staff is appropiated and correct.
The rooms are very well appointed, though they´re small for a 4-star hotel. Anyway, the beds and the bathroom are great.
A very possitive point for this hotel is that it has a private parking IN the building, which is grate if you go to Granada by car or rent one there. Te location is really good: easily accesible if you are coming by car from Madrid, just a few blocks away from the city centre and in an elegant avenue.
In a few words: if you get the rates I got, it´s undoubtedly the best option. If you´re looking for a real 4-star hotel, continue yout search.
Granada is a very nice city, although it doesn´t compare to those in the north of Spain. Do not miss the Alhambra and Sierra Nevada.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinAdrogué
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Vincci Granada Hotel
Vincci Granada Hotel
#89 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macia Monasterio Los Basilios
2.3 mi away
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macia Plaza
Hotel Macia Plaza
#37 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
abba Granada Hotel
abba Granada Hotel
#51 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Triunfo Granada
Hotel Triunfo Granada
#84 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macia Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macia Condor

Property: Macia Condor
Address: Avenida Constitucion 6, 18012 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macia Condor 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macia Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Condor Granada
Macia Condor Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing