We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Macia Condor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macia Condor
Ranked #99 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had I written this review the afternoon of arrival it would have been very different.We went on a coach trip from our home in Spain,it took about 5 hours with pick ups and stops.Check in was quick enough and painless.Our room was on the 5th floor at the back,corridors are very plush,clean and classy,then we went into our room!!!!! The first thing I see are the stark white single beds,no pictures on the walls,it felt like a hospital or prison room (photo included) a two seater sofa,aged, and a small TV.Oh! and a frosted glass window.I couldn't wait to open the door to the bathroom...... Which wasn't the bathroom at all but THE REAL bedroom,thank goodness for that,there was another frosted window though.Two large single beds pushed together,side tables ,wardrobe plenty of space.The bathroom was OK but not sure about the repaired bath in about four places.Ample hot water and pressure.
After our long coach trip and having booked a flamenco trip for the evening we decided to eat nearby,there was nothing but pizzas available in the immediate area which was also very "big city
smelly"I must say it was 35c at 7.45pm. so we decided to eat at the hotel...Same problem, a menu that was mainly pizza ( am I in Spain or Italy??) most of which weren't available anyway.The couple on the next table had ordered just before us so we had to wait for two pings of the microwave before our pings of the worst hotel food I've ever had.
Breakfast however was actually pretty good.
The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from decent eateries,where you will also pay the price,with knees like mine that's too far after 5 hours on a coach!!
The Condor is clean with a modern style.I wouldn't say four star as our trip suggested and not in the best position but for the price we paid.fine.

Room Tip: Go for front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAW400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 373 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Macia Condor Granada is centrally located in this charming, historic Andalusian city and offers its guests a large, clean, comfortable room. It provides free wi-fi with a good signal, an in-room safe, adequate closet space including three drawers in the closet, and a flat-screen TV.

The bathroom amenities include a shower cap, shampoo, hair dryer, and shoe buffer, but no facial tissue dispenser -- still a slightly better offering than we encountered in most budget hotels that we stayed in during a 10-day group tour of Spain. The food at the Macia Condor was fine -- we enjoyed a good three-course dinner with live music one night, and an OK buffet breakfast the next morning.

There were some minor annoyances, emphasis on minor. First, the lifts / elevators apparently suffered from deferred maintenance, as the buttons for various floors did not always work the first time, so your floor might be bypassed several times before you finally made it to your stop. Some passengers would just get off wherever they could if their floor was skipped on the first pass, and would use the stairway to get to their floors -- not necessarily a good option when you are toting a lot of luggage or packages.

Second, noise from adjoining rooms was a bit of a problem in the hotel rooms, which are not exactly soundproof. To avoid disturbing your neighbors, it’s a good idea to keep the TV volume low and not speak too loudly.

Finally, and more trivially, instead of a small electronic card for room entry, the hotel requires its guests to haul around a large, bulky metal key for room entry. And that package is made even bulkier by the attached card that must be inserted into a slot by the door to if you want to turn on the lights or TV and otherwise use electricity. Most hotels that require electric power activation in the room just use the same small card that unlocks the door. But not the Macia Condor, whose key and power-activation card are attached like Siamese twins. Toting the bulky key and card combination does convey a bit of old-world charm, if you don’t mind it filling your pockets or purse.

That said, the Macia Condor was still the best hotel our tour group stayed at during our budget tour of Spain, in terms of both comfort and location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonKVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour of Andalucia and, in many ways, it had the best location of those we visited. The centre of Granada is well within easy walking distance. The concierge staff were particularly helpful in organising a flamenco evening and in giving directions generally. The room was clean and comfortable and looked as if it may have been re-furbished recently. However, the re-furbishment clearly did not up-grade the electrical supply. Nowadays many people travel with e-readers, laptops, cameras and other devices all of which require re-charging. Our room (perhaps we were unlucky?!) had only one socket we could safely use and even that required the TV to be un-plugged. This a good, budget hotel with a helpful location - just don't arrive with flat batteries!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but have limited natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a tour. Reception staff were friendly, rooms were a good size. We were lucky enough to get a room with a balcony overlooking the front. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There's a cafe in the lobby.

Breakfast was plentiful with the usual continental pastries and croissants. The coffee machine was excellent!! Delicious coffe, cappuccino AND a decent hot chocolate for once!!

Location is good. Out the hotel, turn left and if you walk 15/20 mins you can take a left into the Al Baicin area. Lots of food places, serving middle eastern food (if you fancy something different) and also halal places. I recommend Baraka, tiny place but very quaint. Staff were friendly and the food delicious. Also had good food at the buffet all you can eat place called Fresc Co on the main steet. If you carry on walking to the end of the main road you'll find to the left small souvenir shops and to the right high street shopping area. Some nice bags there ladies ;)! Also souvenir shops here too.

All in all I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again. It's a good, comfortable hotel, one you look forward to going back to after a long day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingoaktree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is in walking distance from the renfe train station. It is 2 minutes away from supermarket. The rooms are of an old appearance and a bit small but the bathrooms are adequate and the hot water in the bathrooms is really hot. The Breakfast is well made and well set. What I liked most was the friendlyness and helpfullness of the staff. Especially I have particular thanks for Mr. Rahuel Copez who helped us a lot in time of panic especially when we missed our hotel pickup for alhambra day tour. If he would not have acted briskly and guided us promptly we definitely would have missed our full day alhambra and generalife tour which would have been a great loss to us [ Day and Money ]. Over a homely hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Try for a road facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okashashank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I booked a break through the AA - great value for money - we stayed for 5 nights at this Hotel - we did upgrade our room to have a balcony which was well worth it -

We found the staff to be very helpful - the place was clean and tidy - the breakfasts were more than adequate - the positioning of the Hotel was good, just a 10 minute walk from the Cathedral -

My wife is 60 and I 69 - we would recommend this Hotel if visiting Granada -

By the way, we had super weather as well !!

MICHAEL HOLLINGDALE

Room Tip: 409 - has a balcony, does look over the main street but has the Sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyDitchlingSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a coach trip to Granada. The location of the hotel is excellent, just a short walk to the cathedral and the city center. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast service was ok, nothing special.
The rooms were perfectly clean (cleaned every day) and the heater kept the rooms warm and comfortable so you could get a good night´s sleep.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Granada.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinCFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Leonardo Hotel Granada
#90 of 122 in Granada
774 reviews
abba Granada Hotel
#59 of 122 in Granada
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Macia Plaza
#37 of 122 in Granada
651 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#33 of 122 in Granada
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macia Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macia Condor

Address: Avenida Constitucion 6, 18012 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $52 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macia Condor 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macia Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macia Condor Granada
Macia Condor Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing