We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The air conditioning does not work properly and cannot be controlled”
Review of Vincci Albayzin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vincci Albayzin
Ranked #29 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Air con in the rooms can be controlled to be either cold or you have to switch it off! The room was small and not very clean. Even though there were two top sheets on our bed the blanket was not spread out between these sheets. Instead it was stored in the cupboard. I had to spread it out on our bed just before sleeping as our room was freezing cold. We tried in the middle of night to control the temperature but were un successful so gave up and put the air con off. And then it became unbearably hot. So we did not have a good nights sleep. The breakfast was just adequate and the staff in the dining room were unfriendly and were almost ordering us by their tone to sit where they suggested.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PunePeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement.

We regret that the room's temperature was unpleasant for you. In this respect, we wish to indicate that the hotel's climate control system operates throughout the whole year with cooling or heating, depending on the weather conditions at each moment. It functions individually for each room, so that the customers can adapt the temperature to their tastes and preferences. We are sorry if you were not properly informed about this.

Our staff is known for offering exquisite treatment and attention to all our customers. We are sorry that in your case you did not feel that that was the case.

We are at your service for anything that you may need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel was very nice and is in a good location. The only issue is the floors are all marble. Looks great but makes noise if you have people above you walking late at night. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stylish rooms, helpful staff and good value. The location is fantastic - walking distance to the Alhambra and close to lots of really nice bars and restaurants.

Their free wifi works fine in the lobby, but I couldn't get it to work reliably in the rooms (we stayed in two different rooms, in completely separate parts of the building), even with a booster antenna.

Make sure you book your parking in advance, if you're planning to use the hotel's car park, because it fills up.

Room Tip: Avoid room numbers ending in 15 (e.g. 315), due to the floor layout, they're significantly small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great hotel. Wonderful value. Great location. Blocks from all the cool shopping and food.
Less than 10 minutes from the Alhambra. Thoroughly satisfied. You can get better and more authentic food blocks from the hotel though the tapas are pretty good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackstrawichitaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in this very attractive little hotel in the centre of Granada for one night as part of a tour of Spain and Portugal. The hotel is located on a beautiful tree-lined avenue in the main shopping area of Granada. Our room was on the first floor and although it was quite small it was nicely furnished and clean. The bed was comfortable and while there was quite a lot of noise early in the night from the lane outside, this settled down by 11.00 pm and we had a good night's sleep. Our tour group was split into three for dinner (about twelve in each) and our party dined in the hotel dining room. The meal was quite good: a reasonable range of choices in the menu with attentive service and nicely presented food.

Just to reiterate, this is a small hotel with maybe six or eight guests in addition to our group. Which brings me to breakfast: it turns out that with only ten to fourteen people in the small dining room, the hotel staff had managed to seat (yes, seat at a table) two non guests amongst us within a few minutes of breakfast starting, and these two were then able to make their way out of the small dining room, past reception, through the virtually empty lobby and out the front entrance with all the "carry-on" bags etc of two of our fellow tour members! These two intruders/thieves had been walking around the hotel ground floor and then entered the dining room and we're seated, unchallenged by any of the hotel staff. I will leave it to you to work that one out: basically, don't leave bags unattended in any circumstance... no matter how secure or intimate the situation.

Apart from this disaster, the hotel was fine. Having said that, I couldn't recommend this establishment given there are quite serious unanswered questions about staff involvement in this incident. At the very least the total lack of control or curiosity about people entering or leaving the small dining area would represent blithe incompetence: if it's not incompetence then one would be left with some form of complicity in the theft.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WandanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen_VincciHoteles, Atención al Cliente at Vincci Albayzin, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time that you dedicated to provide your opinions and comments. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's central location for visiting Granada, and also the room that you were assigned, and that you rated the service offered by our staff positively.

Although, in other respects we deeply regret that your experience was not completely positive.
We would like to clarify that this is a case of a isolated incident that had never previously taken place in our establishment. We can verify that our hotel has adequate security measures, and we regret that on this occasion an episode of this sort occurred.

We would like to indicate that our breakfast hall is open to access for any customer whether staying at the hotel or not, who wishes to come to have breakfast at our hotel, and hence in this case it is not really correct to speak of intruders. On the other hand, as is indicated in the information provided at check-in, we cannot be responsible for the belongings that customers leave unattended in the hotel's common areas.

We are at your service for whatever you need.

With best wishes,
Carmen Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed for there nights at this hotel in Granada and loved every moment of it, it is right centre of the main tourist area, everything was easily accessible. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was amasing with fresh orange juice, lots of varities. Rooms were clean and modern, I have no complaints, will stay again.
Tip: Make sure you buy the ticket to Alhambra in advance, unfortunately whilst in the que they announced that the tickets to the Nasiren Castle has been sold out so only had access to half the Palace.

Room Tip: My room didn't have any views but I didn't mind as I was out all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodtimes491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at Vincci Albayzin, and I must say it was a great experience

In summary,
+ Excellent location: Close to the city centre on a tree-lined avenue, with restaurants and public transport close by
+ Clean, comfortable rooms: We had a room in the upper floor looking down on the central courtyard of the hotel; hence it was quiet (save for footsteps outside the room at certain hours, since it was close to the elevator)
+ Buffet breakfast was tasty and had a good spread
+ Value for money: Both rooms and the food at the restaurant were priced right
+ Service: front desk staff were very courteous and helpful with directions, sightseeing options and transport options

Just a small complaint: the cafe seemed understaffed; we were watching the Champions League final, and people like us who were there mainly for the game seemed to get less attention than those ordering dinner

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilanshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#31 of 123 in Granada
2,399 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 123 in Granada
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#12 of 123 in Granada
826 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 123 in Granada
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Albayzin

Address: Ribera Genil 48, 18005 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#14 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#18 Family Hotel in Granada
#31 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $61 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Albayzin 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tryp Albayzin hotel is located in the Carrera del Genil, in the city center of Granada, next to the Basilica de Nuestra Senora de las Angustias and the Palacio de Congresos. Its interior shows the typical elements of Granadian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vincci Albayzin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Granada
Sol Melia Albayzin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing