We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch option” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cueva de 1900 - Reyes Catolicos, 13

La Cueva de 1900 - Reyes Catolicos, 13
Ranked #352 of 1,452 Restaurants in Granada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lisbon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I chose this restaurant for a normal lunch, attracted by its "menu del dia", two course meal with a drink and desert, for 9€.
I've travelled extensively through Spain and this was probably the best menu del dia I've tried. Each course was tasty and very well made, desert was delicious, the wine was good... probably the best value for my money during the entire trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisbonStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    297
    155
    87
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Not for English Speakers. Regretted walking in the door.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stopped in here for a quick bite for lunch. We liked the fact that it was very busy with lots of locals. My son wanted a hamburger for a change. Simple and quick. However, this place was not quick and we really did regret walking in the door . There are no English menus and none of the staff know any English to help you out at all. OK, I understand that while in Spain you should try to speak the language and we do. However, a little bit of help sometimes would be good especially with a difficult menu.

We ordered our drinks and then spent the next 30 minutes going over the menu trying to work it out. We had our guide books out and language translator trying to decipher the menu . We finally worked our what we wanted and waited and waited. We ate two baskets of bread while we waited for our food to arrive. Half of it arrived and then we waited another 30 minutes for the two hamburgers to arrive. The waiter did apologise and I know they were busy.

Food was OK nothing special and service was average. Servings are large for the price. No smiles from the staff which I have come to expect from other places we have eaten at. This place is for the locals.

Note they did have special three course deals with pictures to show you what you get. Maybe we should have just pointed at that rather than ordering from the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Iberico Ham and Wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Fantastic tapas and a friendly atmosphere, popular with the locals, try the iberico ham and have a glass of Verdejo and I don't think you'll be disappointed. You will even get free tapas with 2 drinks, worth a visit to watch the world go by.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 735PLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a special granadan tapas of iberico ham with fresh toasted breads and tomato sauce.
Big portion of cured ham that I have not tasted the equal of. 2 big glasses of execellent local beer.
Total price incl IVA 10 euros (for two persons)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Protraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Food in this restaurant is amazing. Very large portions and compare to others around it's cheap. Service is very nice and quick but at lunch time it's very busy. If you are a proper tapas lover definitely visit this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva de 1900 - Reyes Catolicos, 13 also viewed

 
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Cueva de 1900 - Reyes Catolicos, 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing