We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carmen Granada
Ranked #43 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

When I first arrived I was let down thinking the street wasn't so great and the dated lettering on the side of the building, but then later realized how great the location was. The rooftop has spectacular views. The room and bathroom were a good size. Wifi was included. I put some things in the safe and couldn't get them out so a maintenance person came to get them out. When I called the front desk about this it sounded like you need to pay to use the safe, but I never looked into it and couldn't understand what she was telling me. Bummer if they make you pay.

You can't miss checking out the rooftop. I took a dip in the pool, but there were kids playing in it so hard to spend any time in it. Also hard to get a lounge chair when busy. I was so excited to watch the sun rise from the rooftop, but it was locked in the morning. Big bummer!

The buffet dinner was nothing great. Breakfast buffet was pretty basic. Nothing special, but a nice amount of fruit.

Please note-the map of Granada they give you at the front desk is horrible! Not all of the streets are on it and it's very basic. Be sure to download or have your own on you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lpanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    545
    266
    93
    45
See reviews for
306
535
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our best hotel at the time we spend two weeks in Andalucia. Nice, peacefull and clean. Breakfast was very good and rich with good choice of warm and cold food. At the night time view form roof terrace to Alhambra and mountains is is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anssil958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The central location of this hotel is great! Everything is just a short walk away from the hotel. The lobby is nice, the rooms-- at least the four we had-- were small but well maintained. The junior suite was not; rather it was a standard sized room. The buffet breakfast was organized chaos, but fine. The terrace restaurant and pool are wonderful, with gorgeous views of the Sierra Nevada and La Alhambra, but the hotel clearly caters to the local crowd as well as tourists. The three nights we were there, we could not eat at the restaurant due to closures for private parties or because they were overbooked and not taking reservations. It's an OK place stay, but don't have high expectations; this is a three start property, no matter what the star count is on the front of the building.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toddahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night. It is perfectly located in the centre of Granada and easy walking distance to shops, cafes, bars and restaurants.

The room was spotlessly clean with a large modern bathroom and very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was good with a nice selection to choose from. Good fast free wifi too.

The highlight for me was having drinks on the rooftop terrace which has a lovely view over the city. There is also a restaurant which looked very popular but I didn't have a meal there.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Granada.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davepuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found the hotel both comfortable and centrally located. Our room had no view but everything within it worked well and it was not cramped.
The roof top pool was fantastic to dip into after a long day out sight seeing and the views were excellent.
The staff were very helpful in booking a hire car for us as instead of getting the bus back to the airport which drove back to Malaga via various seaside resorts - well worth doing as taking various buses from Malaga airport to Granada did take a long time - especially in the heat.
There are so many tapas bars all of which were really good especially El Bar de fede not far from the Cathedra - trendy looking wall paper! the tapas bars I would avoid are the ones at the bottom of the Alhambra down by the river on the plaza nueve - the food was not good nor the service.
We spent an afternoon up in Albaicin and walked on into Sacromonte which was like being in another place.
.
So nice to see the sun for 4 days on the trot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickaLilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights and after a tortuous drive was really looking forward to relaxing in the rooftop pool, but it turned out to be no more than a large bath!! But the views were at least worth the elevator ride.
The rest of the hotel was fine, some nice art and large and breezy but all the bars and restaurants were eerily empty whenever we popped in!?! Maybe because its central to so many nice areas that most people prefer to eat out, we certainly ended up doing as much.

The staff were typically Spanish, i.e. no manners or customer service skills, when will they learn that they are in a service industry!!

Overall nice but that's it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've recently stayed in the Carmen hotel and was really looking forward to my visit after having seen all the pictures and ratings. The positive points are that the place is very central and you can reach most sights, shops, bar areas, etc. within a few minutes of walking, the breakfast buffet is ok. The rooms are a reasonably sized even though I wouldn't call them spacious. Having stayed with a colleague and having been able to compare the rooms it seemed that the rooms don't have the same standard - you either get a nice shower or an ok view. My room was rather stuffy and I had to have the aircon on over night. Customer service is certainly not their strongest point, at times it seems that even being asked some general questions is too much for the staff (apart from one or the other employee). The pictures of the pool as well as the rooms were much more promising as the reality turned out to be. The Hotel would be more suited in a 3* category, lobby is nice, lifts are new but rooms could do with a bit of improving! Nevertheless a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nads5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#28 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#33 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#35 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Vincci Albayzin
#26 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen Granada

Property: Hotel Carmen Granada
Address: Acera Darro 62 | In the Heart of Granada, Just in Front of "El Corte Ingles", 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carmen Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Carmen is one of de most classical hotels of Granada which is located in a privileged place in the city center (in front of El Corte Ingles Store), nearby the most important monuments like the cathedral (400m), the Alhambra (15 min walking) and the Granada Congress & Exhibition centre (500m). With 222 modern rooms entirely renovated and equipped in 2011 the hotel is a perfect place for business trips and family holidays. The rooms are distributed in Standard, Family, Premier, Junior Suite and Suite. Some of them with terrace and view to the Alhambra.. The Hotel Carmen offers exclusive solutions for M.I.C.E. Meeting rooms fully equipped for every kind of events. The perfect position of Hotel Carmen in the city center of Granada nearby the monumental and commercial center makes it a very special place for all kind of your events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmen Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing