We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pure luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carmen Granada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Carmen Granada
Ranked #43 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“pure luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

stayed here many time in the past and cannot fault it. there are however, 2 types of rooms and we prefer the ones to the right of the reception area - there is a lift to take you there - these seem to be far more superior than the ones on the left side of the hotel! The staff are very friendly but most people tend to stay there just for a few nights - we usually stay for 7 as we have connections to Granada. The self service buffet is really good with just about everything on offer. There is also a restaurant on site where you do have to book but it is a bit expensive but very good food. there are lots of places nearby for you to eat and the Cortes del Inglais right opposite the hotel with restaurants there. There is also a swimming pool on the roof of the building where you can see all over Granada.

Room Tip: always ask for a room on the right side of the hotel as they are more sumptious but a little more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatcanwesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    535
    261
    90
    43
See reviews for
299
527
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed overnight Monday 3rd June,2013 and were very pleased with this splendid, well managed hotel. Booking in was quick and efficient and the room and bathroom were large, with a balcony glimpsing out to the still snowy Sierra Nevada.The hotel is right in the centre with a huge and diverse choice of local bars and restaurants including breakfast just down the road for €1.95 - coffee and toasted roll - and in spite of this there was no noise in our room!

Room Tip: From the 4th floor up the views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were on a family trip including Granada, this hotel was just in the middle of the city, where you can easily walk where you want to go. As we went to Spain in Easter holiday, we had the chance to see the Easter ceramony.
El Corte Anglais is just accross the hotel, where you can buy what you need.
The breakfast buffet is average. Our room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Whirling_Dervish_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Although this hotel does have things to recommend it (a fabulous roof terrace for one), they had quite the rudest receptionists I have ever encountered at any hotel. Everything was too much trouble. On arrival we were completely ignored for several minutes even though there was no-one else to serve, were very unhelpful with the car parking and generally had an unwelcoming 'couldn't care less' approach. I saw two other visitors receive the same treatment for very reasonable requests (a map of the city and to borrow an iron). If they can't make the effort to welcome their guests and treat them as customers their good location and other aspects of the hotel will count for nothing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GQGQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is located in the city center and has secure parking. It was fairly expensive, but it met our needs for a one night stay. The room was clean and modern with a mini-bar and free WiFi. Our room had a small balcony overlooking a busy street, but with double-glazed windows it was quiet for the night. The location is very convenient for visiting the old town and there is a taxi rank right across the street for an inexpensive ride to the Alhambra. Since we traveled in May, the rooftop bar that is highly recommended was not even open. The restaurant should be avoided unless you enjoy dining with large tour groups going through the buffet line. The breakfast was adequate, again with plenty of tour groups.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHillsboro_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Carmen 3 nights end of May. As we were 3 adults wanting to share a room, we had requested a double room with an extra bed and weren't disappointed. The room they gave us consisted of a double bedroom, a small "living room" with a sofa bed and a huge bathroom. The extra bed was already made on arrival and the maid had put an extra towel & shampoo etc on that bed. Housekeeping in this hotel is FANTASTIC. The view from our room was a tiny back yard, but didnt really matter as we were out and about most of the time. The roof terrace has amazing views over Sierra Nevada, Alhambra and central Granada, and perfect for a drink after a day of sightseeing and shopping. The pool however is the smallest pool ever. We had expected that we would be able to do a bit of swimming every morning, but this pool is too small for swimming. It was great though for cooling off tired legs :) The communal areas were good and breakfast restaurant ok - not amazing food, but good value for money. Staff at reception very friendly and helpful. Car park underneath the hotel requires special parking skills and there is a steep ramp up to street level. The "bell boy" kindly offered to park and the car for us, which was much appreciated. On the final day he was however off duty and so we had to get the car ourselves. Be prepared to get lost in a labyrinth of narrow streets when leaving the car park and bring a GPS.... exit is NOT at the main road...
Bottomline - really really happy with our stay at Hotel Carmen and can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel could hardly be better placed for exploring Granada. The public areas are pleasant and my room was comfortable and well-equipped but dark, with opaque windows - obviously to hide the view of the little yard at the back of the hotel. However, I was not there to sit in my room but to explore so it wasn't a problem! Altogether a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ap2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Saray Hotel
#33 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#34 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen Granada

Property: Hotel Carmen Granada
Address: Acera Darro 62 | In the Heart of Granada, Just in Front of "El Corte Ingles", 18005 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carmen Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Carmen is one of de most classical hotels of Granada which is located in a privileged place in the city center (in front of El Corte Ingles Store), nearby the most important monuments like the cathedral (400m), the Alhambra (15 min walking) and the Granada Congress & Exhibition centre (500m). With 222 modern rooms entirely renovated and equipped in 2011 the hotel is a perfect place for business trips and family holidays. The rooms are distributed in Standard, Family, Premier, Junior Suite and Suite. Some of them with terrace and view to the Alhambra.. The Hotel Carmen offers exclusive solutions for M.I.C.E. Meeting rooms fully equipped for every kind of events. The perfect position of Hotel Carmen in the city center of Granada nearby the monumental and commercial center makes it a very special place for all kind of your events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carmen Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing