We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed stay in Granada”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Granada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Granada
Ranked #29 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Relaxed stay in Granada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Granada is a great place to spend your vacation and discover and enjoy the fusion of the Spanish Christian and Islamic culture and Architecture. There are many places to discover and enjoy apart from the ubiquitous Al-Hambra. The Sacromonte is a must see along with the Gypsy caves and the origins of the Flamenco dance. A great place coupled with Cordoba and Seville makes it an ideal vacation with family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank PravasiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    876
    355
    120
    44
See reviews for
480
946
58
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Good hotel with very good beds, good central location.Good service. A little bit noisy to sleep with open windows because there are many restaurant with open areas. Good value for money. Good place to stay for a couple of nights in Granada.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for five nights, and quite enjoyed our room (and beautiful Granada), though not everything went smooth.

Plus:
- the position is excellent, right in the centre of the town;
- the building is what you would expect from a 4-star hotel/Melia (but there is no swimming pool);
- we got an excellent room (but we had to change from the previous one... see below) with a great view on the Alhambra and on the Cathedral among the rooftops (be aware that the view on the Alhambra from the center of Granada is not the best one, i.e. the one you see on postcards, which is the one from the Albaicin quarter; nevertheless, it’s beautiful and the sunset shines on the fortress enhancing the red colour of its bricks – great!);
- the room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.

Minus:
- we didn’t like the room they gave us at our arrival, although we booked a De Luxe room; although it had a larger bathroom, it was dark, small and with a view on the Alhambra partially hidden behind a cement block (actually a part of the hotel building); we also heard some mechanical noises; we asked for another room and the reply was quite efficient (well, we had to wait a few hours before getting our new room, but we were allowed to use the previous one in the meantime); altogether this caused us some stress, but it was definitely worth it;
- room service wasn’t outstanding; specifically, cleanness doesn’t appear to be a major issue; when we entered our room, we found a sock in a corner of the bathroom (which, being black on black marble, below the tub, wasn’t easy to see...) and after five nights... it was still there covered with some additional dust...; we also had the impression that the vacuum cleaner is not used very frequently, but I would not say that the room was dirty (think also of the advantages: the hotel is very quiet, indeed!);
- one evening, one hour before we had to leave, our safe went out of order; we called the reception and they promptly called the technician, a kind guy called Christian, who fixed this very rapidly albeit having to change the safe’s door; good service, but yet another boring problem;
- the day before leaving Granada, we needed to buy bus tickets for Sevilla; since the bus operator’s website didn’t allow purchase by smartphone, we asked the hotel for internet access: but the internet point was out of order (not the reception’s internet connection...), so they advised us to go to the nearby shopping mall; we lost one hour and nearly got late to the evening show.

At the end of the day, we had a pleasant stay with some minor trouble and probably would choose this 4-star hotel again (price of avg 120 Euro per night – we took no breakfast there – was reasonable) - as long as there's no better solution...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I did a two day excursion in Granada. This was during - and completely unrelated - the town's Easter-week festivities. The main street was closed for through traffic due to the processions which occurred nightly. This did not negatively impact our stay at all.

We checked in with the rudest host I have ever come across. It appeared that he wanted little to do with speaking to us, pushed us along with no line behind us, and was just extremely unpleasant. For a place that advertises it's 4-Star Trip Advisor rating, maybe the person could have been a bit more welcoming to tourists.

The room was basic, nothing special. The bed was very low to the floor - I found that very odd. The toilet did not look like it had been cleaned (which is kind of disgusting). My wife had lost an earring in the room one day before breakfast. I had went back to the room and started checking the floor. I found more than I could handle (Advil tablets which we did not use, bugs crawling around, very disgusting things). All that had to be done was to run a vacuum - not sure why this was such a difficult thing to do.

Another issue is that the hotel had two elevators. It just isn't enough and we routinely had to wait 10+ minutes for an empty one to become available. The doors also closed if anyone inside the elevator even flinched. It was extremely difficult to handle during the high volume times during the day.

If we did more than two short nights of our vacation here, I would have been very disappointed.

Positives about the hotel are the location to a major strip of cafe's, the bar in the hotel was probably the best I have ever seen and stayed open past 1am (with very attentive serves), and the breakfast setup was pretty impressive.

Unfortunately, I could not get past the rudeness of the employee who checked us in or the disgusting things I found within the room.

Room Tip: Ask for one that they actually clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for three nights while visiting our daughter,she is studying abroad. This hotel was in an excellent location, with in walking distance to all the sites and the mainstream of downtown Granada. This is a very busy area of the city, best dining, great shopping and close to the Plaza Nueva. The hotel is very new, totally renovated with a high tech feel, large bath, well appointed room with a balcony. Also I can not leave out the great value, $70 USD, and the staff was wonderful and spoke English.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was very comfortable - although the rooms booked were not available the substitutes were fine as the double beds were large. We had booked singles as cannot abide tiny double beds! the hotel is quiet and comfortable and not too large. Everything in this beautiful city was within walking distance and we were 4 o.a.p's! The fabulous breakfasts set us up for the day but we still found room for trying out numerous tapas bars. Granada is a wonderful compact city and so beautiful...we had two days which was not enough and will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agia Paraskevi, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Average-sized room and bathroom, free safety box, outrageously high parking fees (€20,00 per night) to a nearby subterranean (and dangerous) parking facility that cooperates with the hotel. Reception personnel was cold and snub-nosed, quite helpful but only if they cannot avoid it, e.g. if you are the only customer around. Our feelings regarding the reception were even worst during the night of our arrival: we noticed that the reception clerk was scanning our passports through an unknown device and when we told him to stop right now and tell us what he was doing, he simply ignored us and continued on, murmuring ''Policia". After he finished, he told us that the procedure is mandatory by the police but failed to provide any relevant document, bulletin or even a written warning on the reception area. For any security conscious person, this action reveals huge risk for the safety not only of his/her accounts but of his/her personal safety as well. We had to lodge a complaint to the EU authorities in Brussels to obtain a minimum legal cover for possible consequences from this incident.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giota22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia-Granada-Gex, RECEPCION at Melia Granada, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We ar very sorry if during your stay with us tou could find some inconvenience, Do not hesitate that we will follow your rematk.

Thank You.

CARLOS MORA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hesperia Granada
Hesperia Granada
#24 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#35 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Vincci Albayzin
#26 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Granada

Property: Melia Granada
Address: Angel Ganivet 7, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Granada
#7 Business Hotel in Granada
#12 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#36 Family Hotel in Granada
#40 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Granada is located in the heart of the city of Granada, near the cathedral, Calle Navas, Alcaiceria, the Puerta Real, Calle Elvira, Plaza Nueva, Realejo, Paseo de los Tristes, the Science Park and the Congress Centre.Its strategic location in the city centre, personalised service and excellent facilities make it the perfect choice for your visit to Granada.Neat the hotel, you can visit exclusive boutiques and fashion houses. Plus nearby there is a one of the city’s main leisure and entertainment areas with numerous tapas bars and restaurants. Meliá Granada is also just a short distance from the most trendy nightspots and major shopping streets such as Reyes Católicos, Recogidas or Mesones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Granada Hotel Granada
Sol Melia Granada
Granada Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing