We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not like it at all”
Review of Saray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saray Hotel
Ranked #38 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here just for one night with a group and was very happy to leave.Reception staff was unhelpul and rather indifferent.Clerk on duty did not pay any attention to us, happily chatting away with someone else who did not look like a client, when we tried to ask a question. When we asked for a recommendation, we never got one. Half of our group's keys did not work and had to be reprogrammed, sometimes more than once.My non-smoking room REEKED of tobacco. After complaints we were moved to another room, however it still was kind of smelly. Several of my group companions also suffered from strong smells in their rooms. While there is a lovely pool on premises, it's ladders were shaky and did not feel safe. Breakfest food was not impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridzene718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is not particularly central so expect a 10/15 minute walk to the bars and restaurants.After a nightmare drive negotiating major roadworks in the centre of Granada it was a huge relief to be able to park in the hotel car park(50 euros for 3 nights)The hotel is a bit tired looking but was basically OK.We were told that pool towels were available for a 20 euro a towel deposit,however they were freely available in the pool area when we visited.We did not eat in the hotel so we are unable to comment on food standards.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends. The location of the hotel on the outskirts of the city centre is very convenient and much of what you want to see, including the famous Alhambra, is within reasonable walking distance. The room we stayed in, although not luxurious, was perfectly acceptable and well equipped with minibar and combination safe. The air conditioning was perhaps not as effective as it could have been though, and there were a couple of maintenance issues (broken light fitting and power socket) which should have been noted during regular housekeeping. Bedding and towels were changed daily. The pool area is really nicely done and a very pleasant place to sit and relax, and there are echoes of the Moorish style of the Alhambra throughout the garden and other public areas of the hotel. Some aspects of the service were a bit unfriendly at times, and the bar at times felt understaffed, but this was not enough to spoil our stay. I would recommend the local pizzeria, called Yesterday, and also the little tapas restaurant, El Ventorrillo, just down the road by the roundabout. I would return to the hotel if in the area, if the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sthmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We definitely echo previous comments about unhelpful and rude staff. In order to get pool towels we first went to an unmanned pool bar that gave an extension to call for assistance but no phone in sight, went to reception who told us there was a 20 euro deposit, went back to our room for the money, went back to reception and was given two vouchers for towels and was told to go back to the pool bar to get towels despite my insistence there was nobody there, went back to the empty pool bar, went back to reception who still told me I was wrong and that somebody should be there, reception subsequently told me to go to the main indoor bar to ask for towels, there the bartender told me he did not have towels and to go back to the pool bar, went back to the empty pool bar and listened to a phone inside the bar ring as they were obviously trying to reach whoever was supposed to be manning the pool bar, and eventually a grumpy man showed up who threw two towels at me. We only had an hour to use the pool but 30 minutes were wasted trying to get towels. As for the hotel itself it is very tired and run down. This hotel was chosen for us as we are on a tour, however, I would advise people travelling on their own to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLaw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. The hotel was really nice. Reception staff were helpful, rooms were cleaned every day, breakfast was nice. The pool area was greatly appreciated in the 44 degree heat, although may be in need of updating. The hotel wasn't quite as central as we thought it would be, it was a good 10-15 min walk to the centre, however the walk to the plaza neuva is well worth it with lots of bars, restaurants and little Moroccan style shops.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandypandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and the room and pool area were always clean and what we wanted. The location is also good, maybe 10minute walk from the centre. However the only negative was the attitude of reception staff (only one not all) who was incredibly rude and disinterested. Otherwise perfectly fine hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffield88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a night before going on a trip on my husband's birthday. We booked the room at booking.com and we got an excellent price.
When we arrived at the hotel, we mentioned that would appreciate a room in a higher floor (to have views to the mountains and be able to get fresh air at night), a spacious room because of the suitcases far away from lifts or other sources of noise. The receptionists were great and they gave us a couple of rooms to choose from. We saw them and decided on the one we liked the most!

For those of you who don't know Granada, from this place (next to Palacio de Congresos, you can get buses to the city centre without any problem).

It was great because of the great price we got online and the kind receptionists!

Room Tip: The ones on the highest floor and far away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pachocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Andalucia Center Hotel
#52 of 122 in Granada
487 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#49 of 122 in Granada
740 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#25 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Allegro Granada
#30 of 122 in Granada
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saray Hotel

Address: Paseo Enrique Tierno Galvan 4, 18006 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Zaidín - Vergeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#46 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $59 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saray Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hoteles Santos , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Saray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saray Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing