We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Reasonable accommodation in an excellent location with a few things to be aware of.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Londres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Londres
Ranked #19 of 95 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable accommodation in an excellent location with a few things to be aware of.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

On arrival it was not obvious that the hostel was on the 5th floor of the building and the entrance to the building was poorly lit after dark. The proprietor greeted us on the 5th floor and was very friendly, with a warm smile and courteous presence. We booked a double room, but ended up with a room with 4 single beds. The room was a good size (no swinging cat jokes there), the shower room small but clean and also with an additional sink in the room area, ideal if a few friends are travelling. The accommodation was extremely central. The front door on to the main road was often left open when we arrived back late, which did pose a risk because of the lack of adequate lighting in the main entrance area. Also, most of the time no-one is manning the reception, but if you need anything you can ring a bell and the proprietor will come. Unfortunately, on leaving we were not greeted by the lovely lady with the smiley face, who spoke English ( putting us at peace because of our pigeon Spanish), we were checked out by a Spanish gentleman who asked us to pay by cash. This took us by surprise as when we booked the accommodation it was clear on the Booking.com website that we could pay by credit card. Fortunately, we did have enough cash on us. We would recommend this hostal to anyone looking for an economical stay in Granada.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dommi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
25
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hostal is in an excellent location along a main street in Granada. It's located on the top floor of the building. The owner checked us in and gave us very good tips on which buses to take to which sites, where to eat, etc.

Our room (a double and twin bed to accommodate 3), was very clean and comfortable. There was a window in our room with a great view of the Alhambra. Clean towels were provided each day and the beds were made. Laundry service cost 7 euros. Heater worked well. Walls are a bit thin and we could hear our neighbor singing in his room. But it was not a problem at night, and we had earplugs in case it became a problem. There is also a refrigerator in the room.

To have your room made you must be out of the hostal around noon, which should be fine for most tourists.

Best part of the hostal was the terrace with the view of the Alhambra. Beautiful view.

Bathrooms were not as clean as I would have liked. There was a faint smell of sewer from the toilet. One bathroom has a window to the outside, which was much more pleasant. The showerhead was hand-held, excellent water pressure, hot water always there. The shower was a little dirty. But overall not bad for the price.

If you like fresh tapas, head to Los Diamantes right now!!! They stick with the "free tapa" with each drink purchase, and the tapas are fresh and different with each drink. For the best, creamiest, most delicious hand-made ice cream stop by Los Italianos, which is on the way to Los Diamantes, for a cone (1 euro for 1 scoop and a cone).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leilapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very competitive price considering city centre location (5 mins to Cathedral, Plaza Neuva, Albaicin). Small room but more than adequate for travelling. Clean bathroom, hot water always available. Excellent Wifi. Communal terrace has lovely views of Albacin and Alhambra. Really welcoming owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimpetScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Rooms are a bit small but nice and very clean.The service is excellent and the terrace view is absolutely fantastic. Price is very convenient. Very recommendable. The Granada is a very lovely city full of culture, monuments and history.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent 2 nights within a room with bath, had one window to the south-west, one to north- east, both with great view as to the south no other building is higher and from the other window facing the terrace we saw albaicin, the alhambra and the mountains in the back. The room was clean, the host friendly, easygoing, and helpful. We would surely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polsterzipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hostel is located on a 5th. floor and the elevator failed when we were inside so we remained there for about 30 minutes. Bad luck because the owner knows how to repair it and at that moment was away. He apologized for that and for us was not the big deal. Talking about the hostel itself, it's run by its owners who are extremely friendly and speak different languages. The room was a little bit too small but the A/C and the cold and hot water were working well. It's close to the touristic area but far enough to make it quiet (5 minutes walking to the cathedral). It has an amazing terrace and the price is very good for what you get. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Best location with a beautiful terrace that has a view of the Alhambra. Clean, comfortable and well maintained simple rooms. excellent value for money with lovely, friendly hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickaAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#8 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Granada
#21 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#16 of 95 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Londres

Property: Hostal Londres
Address: C Gran Via 29 Calle Agua de Albaicin, 18010 Granada, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Londres 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing