We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Oliva

La Oliva
Ranked #98 of 1,452 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Realejo - San Matias
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We loved every second of our dining experience with Francisco. He is such a gracious host and puts a lot of care and love into the dishes he serves. The food and atmosphere is so unpretentious - a very authentic taste of Spanish culture and food. Francisco recently moved the dinners to a quaint and lovely space just outside of the city center and it really lends an air of authenticity and style to his meals. If you're looking for a unique experience, good food, excellent wine, and nice conversation, I highly recommend this place. Worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nopogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    25
    9
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was one of the best meals I have ever eaten while abroad. I lived in Granada for 1 year and ate my way around the city during that time. This was one of the best so if you are in Granada I highly recommend it for an intimate evening. Food with stories and a good tasting of the province. For foodies! Loved it so much I included it in a blog post "5 Splurges That Are So Worth Blowing Your Budget on in Europe" :) http://www.globalgabetravel.com/blog/5-splurges-that-are-so-worth-blowing-your-budget-on-in-europe

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gschirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weird... but excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very, very unsasumming place from the outside, and inside doesn't get much better to be honest. It can hardly be called a restaurant, but the experience is worth the high price for Granada (almost 40 euros per head). I will not spoil the night for you... just go!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ConorMoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
382 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Unique experience but check the address!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

TA had the wrong address so it took us a while to get to La Oliva. We greatly enjoyed the experience which we shared with one other couple. The food was excellent but, given the limited kitchen, most courses were high end traditional tapas with excellent local ingredients, not gourmet dining. Good local wines.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I hope this place never changes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We visited La Oliva after having read through the many effusive trip advisor reviews. The place itself, however, cannot be quantified in the words of a casual reviewer. At the risk of sounding a tad pretentious, this is less of a restaurant than a dining experience as a whole. Francisco - the larger than life proprietor who regales you during the meal itself with tales of the origins of his exquisite locally sourced ingredients - has the space for only three tables in his tiny premises. The dining club - for this is how is is most accurately described - can accommodate a scant eight covers a night, thought given the fact that the only cooking equipment he possesses is a an ageing camping stove which looks as if has seen better days this is still quite a feat considering the astounding quality of the food on offer. I do not wish to give away too much, and I shall say nothing other than this will quite possibly be the most unique and quality dining experience you have this year, or possibly even this decade.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 888Shan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Oliva also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing