We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly unique experience”
Review of La Oliva - CLOSED

La Oliva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $44
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Realejo - San Matias
Lévis, Québec
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A truly unique experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It is the sum of the parts that make La Oliva stand out. It's not the best food, it's not the best wine, it's not the most confortable seating...and somehow you end up having one of the most enjoyable meals ever...
Mr Francisco does what he does from the heart and it shows. All I can say is that te experience is authentic...and that is what makes the whole thing tick.
Muchas gracias!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMcRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    26
    9
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasting experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Despite Francisco's portestations that La Oliva is a shop, spending an evening in his company sampling his tasting menu was the highlight of our week in Andalucia. With knowledge and enthusiasm he introduced us to regional specialities, allowing us to compare and contrast different ingredients, matching them with appropriate wines and sherries in a three hour gastronomic adventure. Needless to say, we bought some of the ingredients to bring home with us - a memorable experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The love of Spanish food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This tasting will take you trough some honest made Spanish quality food. The story told in English makes this a complete experience, that will be hard to forget.

For instance you start with 3 olive oils. The difference tastewise is huge.

The tasting will show the quality of the food and it will be presented with superb stories. To quote one sentence: "In the morning the wind over the vineyard comes from the sea, in the afternoon from the Sierra Nevada, bringing different aromas to the grape". You get the feeling. :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A fun experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading the reviews I had an idea of what to expect, but this exceeded our expectations. On the evening we dined here there were only three other people. It was an intimate experience and so much fun. The food was simple, but all fresh and local. From the olive oil tasting through the nougat for dessert we enjoyed every bite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurie087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“An Excellent Evening!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Visited here a couple of days ago. We had asked our hotel to book this for us as others have mentioned you need to book well in advance.

When we turned up just before 7, Francisco, the owner of the deli/restaurant, told us that the evening was rather unusual, in that a table of 4 had cancelled at short notice, and another 2 didn't turn up, so there was only 4 of us.

Food tastings included, olive oils, almonds, olives, soup, pate, swordfish, cold meats, chicken, icecream and turron; in total 17 different dishes. Each dish was explained carefully and served with the appropriate wine. Started with 2 glasses of sherry, then 2 small white wine, 2 small red wine, and finished with desert wine.

Throughout the evening quite a few people turned up to buy/try various olive oils, as well as a family who had a table and were served cold meats, tomatoes and a bottle of wine,

The evening finished just before 10pm and we bought a couple of bottles of the excellent wine to take back with us.

I would recommend this to anyone visiting the area, as for 38 euros it represents very good value and makes for an interesting (and filling!) evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Oliva also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing