We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dogs Die in Hot Vehicles with No Air Conditioning”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of City Sightseeing Granada - CLOSED

City Sightseeing Granada
Attraction details
Texas
Level Contributor
299 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Dogs Die in Hot Vehicles with No Air Conditioning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I foolishly bought the Hop On Hop Off Tour for 48 hours for 18 euros each thinking that it would stop at interesting points in Granada and we would see lovely things. Wrong. The bus does go to the parking lot of the Alhambra (Stop #4), but you do not see the venue, and the Cathedral and Chapel Royale (Stop #1). Otherwise, the ride is long and hot. You have a choice of riding downstairs with no air conditioning (you almost die when the driver stops for 10-15 minutes to pick up other passengers or to chat with one of his friends on the pavement) or upstairs (where the seats are so hot that get your rear end burned through your clothes).

More importantly, the 11 stops on the Tour Bus are not interesting. The bus sits in city traffic at numerous traffic lights and you see modern, albeit somewhat run-down, late 20th Century city buildings. After a while, you feel like a prisoner and desperately want to get off.

Allegedly, admission to a museum (at Stop #6) is included in the price, but the museum is not open on Sundays after 3 p.m. or Mondays.

Contrarily, the cute little City Bus #30 costs 1,20 euro per person and runs from the Cathedral to Alhambra and it is air conditioned.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank happyrelaxeddudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    10
    9
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Could not hear the commentary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been on other city tours which were full of very useful and informative information.However this one was very poor sound quality with far less interesting information.We asked driver to turn up volume but he said was out of his control.Dont expect to get off tour bus at the Alhambra Palace and get in there unless you have book your palace tickets at least a month in advance

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUblin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nothing to see by bus”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Granada is not worth seeing by bus. Walk the city or better still take the Segway tour.

The bus took over 2 hours because it took so long at each stop. Regardless there are no real places to see by bus. We regretted taking this bus tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Best value red bus so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

THis was easily reached from my hotel bus stop 8. All the stops have the red bus sign, but l noticed here the number of the stop is not high lighted as in previous places l've used them. But it is the cheapest one l have come across €9 for 48 hours and the drivers speak enough English to understand. I went around twice and you can hop off and see things of interest. This city has the best to date and worth the ride.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was most surprised by Granada. What a wonderful place! Spotlessly clean everywhere. The people are very friendly. There is so much to see and do. Local transport is brilliant the standard fare is only 1.20 Euros no matter how far you travel. You've got to see the Alhambra - not to be missed. We found it best to book online - saves the long line at the ticket office. Make sure to get there early. Granada is great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Granada also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing