We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - in perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Ranked #22 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

New, modern, clean rooms - with a nice powerful shower! Just what you need after expiring Grandada. Also, this hotel is in a perfect spot to enjoy the Alhambra, just a couple of blocks away. For a nice view of the palace, come out the hotel and head right, up through the square and follow the brook on your right. After a nice walk up the hill you are in Albaicin, have a drink and look over the valley to great views of the mountains.

Watch out dining near the hotel, there are some real tourist holes. Check tripadvisor before eating, or ask the friendly receptionists.

The hotel is near the #1 rating dining experience, La Oliva. See my review of that, and go there. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Christocar,

Thank you for choosing us.

We hope to see you again in Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Monjas del Carmen during Christmas Holidays. Its location is perfect, in the base of La Alhambra’s hill (if you plan to go up walking, I suggest you to leave at least 30-40 minutes before your scheduled admission…La Alhambra is at the top of the hill…). Hotel is also in the center of Granada, very near the Cathedral and local shopping area.

Our room at the third floor was very clean and looked like recently renovated. It faced the back street which is for pedestrian only, so it was supposed to be very quiet. However, there are 2 or 3 restaurants/bars at this street (including one located inside hotel’s facilities) and people at tables outside could be really loud. On the other hand, restaurants closed around 11:30-12PM, so if you usually sleep after that, there shouldn’t be any problem.

Hotel’s top rating goes to staff. Ana at the front desk was probably the most thoughtful receptionist I have ever met!! Tips on restaurants, on La Alhambra, on transportation…everything!! She was great and one of the reasons why I totally recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear AndreaSP,

It is great to read that you enjoy the stay with us at Hotel Monjas del Carmen.
Regarding bars and restaurants in the area, for Christmas or bank holidays they can be open till late.
We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute while in Spain in November. We got an excellent rate. The room was very nice, clean, great bathroom. The staff was very helpful with any questions we had. We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning. Great breakfast at a good price. We were very happy with our stay. If we are in Granada again, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear CanadaPra...

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again very soon.
In our website you can find greats offers.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent three nights at Monjas del Carmen and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Stayed in a double room that was not huge but certainly provided enough space, had a very modern, clean bathroom with a sizable shower (not all that common in Europe), and comfortable beds. Location is ideal, just off of Plaza Nueva, a 10-minute walk from the Alhambra and a minute down the street from the major intersection of Gran Via and Reyes Catolicos. Reception was friendly, although we didn't require much of them. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SawyerHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear SawyerHicks,

Thank you for spending 5 minutes recommending Hotel Monjas del Carmen and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location is handy for all the main sights and lots of bars and restaurants. The desk staff are really helpful particularly Ana who gave us great tips on where to drive to once we left Granada. The adjoining restaurant serves some great food and there is a nice cafe for breakfast, Carmela, just round the corner.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Liz P,

I am glad to read that your stay was as you expected.

Thank you for recommending Hotel Monjas del Carmen.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is in a great location! There are lots of tapas bars, restaurants and shops close by.

All of the tourist sites are nearby so you can walk everywhere if you like.

The room itself was spacious and clean.

Our only complaint is that we had to wait 30 minutes to be checked in after a long days travel from Valencia. This was due to the only reception staff member being held up by another guest asking for tourist information.

It didn't make us feel very welcomed as we were not even acknowledged until they finished serving the other guest.

Other than this we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Stiffylicious,

First of all, thank you for choosing Hotel Monjas del Carmen.
We are located right in the city centre, so to reach us by car it is not as simple as we would like. Hoteliers are speaking with the town hall to find the best solutions to make life easier to our guests and visitor of Granada.
We hope to see you again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Located at the end of a short cul-de-sac, just steps from Granada's main street, this boutique hotel delivers a muy grande bang for the Euro. Looking deceptively banal from outside it features a super-friendly staff and very comfortable accommodations in modern, sound-proofed and well appointed (albeit somewhat tight by US standards) rooms. The plumbing is superior, ditto the bedding, the wi-fi works, the cleanliness is exemplary, the continental breakfast adequate. Best of all is the location. It's a short walk to all the sights, except for the magnificent hilltop Alhambra gardens and palaces. HOWEVER, the frequent city jitney that travels every 10 or so minutes to the end of its line at the palace's main gate has a well-marked stop just across the hotel's rear entrance... which doubles as the main entrance to a lively bar and restaurant that doubles as the breakfast room in the morning. In a nutshell: great value, perfect location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaibab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmonjasdelcarmen, Director General at Hotel Monjas del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Kalba1,

Thank you for choosing and recommending Hotel Monjas del Carmen.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,003 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#23 of 122 in Granada
1,168 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#31 of 122 in Granada
751 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monjas del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monjas del Carmen

Address: Plaza de Cuchilleros,13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: $58 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monjas del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Monjas del Carmen is located in the historic city center of Granada, at the confluence of the neighborhoods of the Albaicin (Muslims), Realejo (Jewish), at the foot of the Alhambra and next to the Cathedral and main monuments, tapas bars, entertainment and businessarea.Its 32 rooms are equipped with the latest technology in air conditioning and soundproofing. There is private parking in the building, exclusive use of our clients.The perfect choice to visit Granada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monjas del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing