We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palatial residence fit for a honeymoon.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Palatial residence fit for a honeymoon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I suppose really what one would consider fit for a honeymoon would depend on the honeymooning couple in question. However, how could you argue with a marble clad, Alhambra inspired neo-Moorish palace with views overlooking Granada below?
On arrival, our first impression was not that great. Our room was pleasant enough but two single beds? Not really what we wanted. We spoke to the reception staff who agreed enthusiastically that this would not do. We were asked if we liked the floor we were on (yes, the view was amazing) and given another key to explore. This new room not only had a double bed but was huge, with an enormous bathroom and a private balcony with a table and two chairs overlooking the city, dozing in the sunset. A vast improvement!
The room was comfortable, clean and pleasant. The hotel staff were helpful when we enquired about local restaurants and ticket booking. The Alhambra was very close by so we could go for evening strolls in the woods. A bus goes from outside the hotel into the city although really it isn't that far too walk, just very steep. To take the bus each time though would be to miss out on the woods and various streets of Granada, with occasional wafts of guitar music floating about, escaping from one of the guitar making shops.
We did not take breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment. We had a bar snack one evening which was pleasant and not too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    526
    163
    57
    21
See reviews for
312
736
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The views of the room was breathtaking, overlooking the Granada landscape. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful. The only regret was the room was pretty small. Their breakfast buffet was overall quite good except that they don't change the menu at all. So it was the same breakfast items everyday. We had dinner at the restaurant for one of the nights and I must say the food was pretty exceptional.We even managed to park our car at the hotel lobby for the whole week and so that saved us a fair bit of parking charges.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freespiritG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We decided on a few days away so we could return to see the breathtaking Alhambra in Granada. This place is probably amongst my most favourite place in the world. The moorish rule and influence on Spain is clear still today. And it's amazing! Sample the food within the confines of the Generalife. The fish stew is yummy with traditional Spanish bread, then wine. In the evening we took a tour of this place at night! Wow it gives you goosebumps with the feel of what used to be is still in the air!
We went to a cave and watched traditional Spanish flamenco, we we're given a very large gin and tonic, now that did please me lol. The one thing that is a total must? Is a visit to the Sierra Nevada mountains, even if your not a skier, the views are amazing!! It's better with snow on later this year. We had food in a restaurant at the top of the mountain with a view that's fit for a picture postcard.
The hotel was clean, staff pleasant and we were happy at our choice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishrose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you want to feel like a prince or princess, if you want to relax with a view of beauty and history, and if you want to experience a location that has over 2000 years of history in the most exquisite setting, then please go to Granada and stay at the Palace.

Room Tip: One with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostintimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Look no further for your place to stay in Granada. Located on the same hill and a 5 minute walk from the gates of the Alhambra, the Alhambra Palace ticks all the boxes. Its views are fabulous, staff very helpful, food good, fun/interesting architecture, and the a/c works very well. We were here for 3 nights in November 2013 and would stay here again. There is a handy bus to downtown that stops just across the street from the front door. The hotel can arrange a tour of the Alhambra including tickets and this is helpful as ordering tickets online can be tricky.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor can be noisy as the ballroom is located above some of them. Jr. Suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013. The hotel is showing its age but is clean and very comfortable. Located on the Alhambra hill top, it is only a five minute walk to the palace grounds. The walk to town takes about 20 minutes downhill or you can take to free bus that stops right in front of the hotel. It has limited free parking we were lucky to get. We didn't eat here but we did have tea and coffee on the patio. The wifi sucks. Really. I had to stand in front of the front desk to get reception. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear client thank you very much for your comment we are glad to hear you enjoy not just your stay with us but also our snak-bar Terrace. However, we would like to inform you about the last renovation done in our wifi system so know there is no need of password and the signal reception is much better. Hope to see you again to thank you personally.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Alhambra Palace is truly a fairytale hotel. Our son was entranced as we arrived at its red crenelated exterior and driving right up to the Alhambra is a treat in itself. Placed atop Granada, the views from the terrace were great - we spent happy hours drinking coffee/ beer/ anything while watching the city below. Our room was huge - a corner turret so further excitement! With an extra bed for our son at no charge and still masses of room. Lovely bathroom and everything on a curve. Room was very comfortable, which was great since we needed a base. Wonderful to walk from the hotel to the Alhambra itself, and while that was our best day, every day we just wandered around this lovely city. The staff were very friendly, for a smart hotel they could not have been more welcoming to our son. Breakfast was formal but lovely and we ate in the restaurant every night, great food, made a real fuss of us and our son, wonderful in every way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Alicia2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing