We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest view in Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

When we arrived to this hotel after six hours of driving we found out that we forgot our passports in the hotel safe in Seville; however, the front desk staff was so helpful they called our hotel in Seville and asked for a copy and helped us check in very fast. Also they arranged for a driver to go to Seville and bring our passports by morning time for we were staying only one night. I am so great full for the professional way they handled this matter. The hotel it self is built the Andulisian style which is very nice the rooms are little old but the view over Granada from the room and the restaurant are just spectacular. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was very good and fresh. All in all it was a good choice and definitely good memories.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Oibhais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night, as we had booked a tour of the Alhambra Palace, just up the road. It is a beautiful old world hotel, with elegance and charm dating back to 1910.
Our room was super large with two opening windows, as we had a corner room. The bathroom was all marble and tiles, and enormous, + bath. There is a local red bus service that runs you down to the Catedral area in town for €1.20 - a great scenic ride. We had dinner down in the town, and returned for drinks on the terrace, to watch the sun set. This has to be one of the most spectacular views of Granada. There was a wedding reception on in the opulent foyer area of the hote and we sat on the terrace and took it all in. There were fireworks that night, for whatever reason, and we were in the perfect place to enjoy. The staff were friendly and professional, and we really enjoyed our stay here. The architecture and furnishings of this hotel make for a unique and historic experience, one we won't forget.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Location is good. 10 min walk into town, cheap bus back. Very handy for the Alhambra. We had a suite. They are large but the view from the window was significantly blocked by shrubs right against the window. The corridor noise is quite something as the doors seem to let all noise through. Decor is nice, as are the common areas. I found the lack of outside space, other than the terrace a bit disappointing. Coffee or tea in the room is charged which is a bit money grabbing and leaves a general poor impression. Wifi does not work in the rooms. The wifi is free but not fit for purpose. I would be unlikely to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boredagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a Tauck Tour. It is an old historic hotel but needs updating. The views from the rooms into the city and the mountains are fantastic. The one dinner at the hotel was very good. Service was acceptable but not exceptional. The location and history saved it for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocHarrisHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, I would highly recommend Grenada and visiting Alhambra. The hotel is just as in the photographs, perched on the hill overlooking Grenada and ideally located for visiting Alhambra. It also is a nice walk downhill to the town in the evenings, we found it a perfect way to digest a grand meal with a walk back to our hotel; taxi's and a shuttle bus run back frequently to the hotel if you find it too much.
The decor was grand inside but the rooms look a little shabby for the price, the bathroom floor tiles were cracked and the curtains and bedspreads a little sad looking. On the upside the rooms are large and beds comfortable. The only thing lacking in the hotel was decent wifi, ours was inexcusably down for two days. Also, the hotel though spacious and loaded with empty conference rooms was lacking a gym, pool or exercise facility.
The balcony was also picture perfect for a drink in the evening or anytime, the only downside was the price but then you pay for the view! It would be nice of the hotel to provide cushions for the chairs which were cast iron and uncomfortable. We ate out for all our meals so can't speak to the cuisine. Most of the cafes and eateries are down the hill but there are a few located on the top of the hill that I was told were fine.
The walk down the hill is delightful. We stayed for 2 days in the heat of the summer in August and I was surprised how cool we were in the Alhambra forest which runs up the hill from Plaza Nuevo to the Alhambra. To see the Alhambra you need to get tickets online, (book early if you are in peak season). Make sure to make your reservations online for early mornings or later in the day and bring a passport proving age if you pay for a child; the Spanish heritage sites are run by government officials who go by the rules. Have enough time to spend in the gardens of Generalife, not in the main palace but it is spectacular and worth at least an hour of wandering.
The town is wonderful but don't forget to navigate all the little side streets to get a real flavor of the Moorish influence. We missed the baths which are down the hill, check your guide book.
All in all a fabulous stay. I am giving the hotel 3 stars because of the wifi outage and need for updating the rooms, however I must add it was just fine for a 2 day stay.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have views but ask to be overlooking the city and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A grand hotel with a magnificent view of the city below and 2 minutes from the Alhambra. Lavish breakfast, an experience in itself. Magnificent setting and beautiful rooms. One minus: very bad parking facilities. They send you to a paying public parking lot half a mile away.

Room Tip: Rooms with view over the city are quieter and have the advantage of the view, no doubt. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

For a picky experienced traveller looking for a sense of luxury in the middle of historic Granada, Hotel Alhambra Palace falls below that par.

Admittedly this hotel has long history, which is well kept and can be found in various parts inside the hotel. Room size is decent and clean. Bathroom, in particular, is maintained at a high standard. Bed is comfortable no issue.

Location of the hotel is fantastic: from one side you can walk to Alhambra within 10 mins, go for both day time and evening session, which gives you different flavour of this magic manmade masterpiece. Tickets booking can use both online and Caxia which have been mentioned many times. This hotel is also in walkable distance to central Granada (in opposition to Alhambra), which was fairly pleasant in summer. I don't think any hotel in Granada has more advantageous location than Alhambra.

However this hotel fails to focus many details a luxurious hotel should possess:

1. People: front desk was cold facing when we checked in. Only a junior staff showed a bit of interests towards us. so some surprise but one story completely changed my view: upon check-out, we were struggling with time, which is somewhat faulty our side. Then from a courtesy point I called the front desk and explained we may experience 10-15mins delay. The front desk man immediately replied with arrogance: you have to leave by 12 noon or you will face a charge! "even 10 mins late which I am informing you know?" I explained. He showed no interests at all about negotiating the 'price' with me and eventually we decided to throw everything in our luggage and leave. Having said that, staff at bar and restaurant are quite friendly and generally very happy serving us.

2. Facility: lights in corridor were not functioning properly and they have not been replaced yet. Again a sign of a three or three and half star hotel, typically?

3. Food: Granada is a foodies favourite town, many tapa bars and good restaurants spreading across the town. Lunch at Alhambra Palace is slightly limited choice and some tapas are not that tasty.

Breakfast: juice is not fresh. AND, some salad and fruit are prepared on the day! Cucumber was dry and watermelon went bad, which indicate they were prepared the night before and kitchen can't be bothered starting early to serve fresh? Maybe.

If you ask me would I still recommend this hotel to fellow travellers? The answer is yes. For you to experience a piece of history within history, for you to stay within proxy of both Alhambra and Granada town. If you not bothered about the points above then feel free to make your reservation. But if you have set high expectation and a regular traveller with good experiences staying in excellent hotels around the globe, maybe you will feel disappointed like me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zumibruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,811 reviews
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,307 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,356 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $142 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing