We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Stunning view & fabulous location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning view & fabulous location!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The best part about the hotel is its 3 min walk to Alhambra palace. When we reached our room, we were in absolute awe of the view it offered. absolutely mouth gaping to the extent we ordered dinner in our room and loved to have it in our li'l balcony. The spaghetti that we ordered was perhaps even better than the one we have had in italy. Totally loved the place & would recommend all luxury seekers to stay only in this hotel when in Granada

Room Tip: Choose a room with a panaromic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richierich00124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    535
    166
    60
    22
See reviews for
319
750
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
450 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Definitely this is the best hotel in Granada. Not only because the view...The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is the second best in Europe (#1 Melia Fenix Madrid). The decoration is amazing. The room, perfect. Free internet, parking, etc. If you can afford, don't think twice. It's a walk distance to Alhambra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximiliano J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Maybe it is a question of money to book a room, but it is a very good idea to have a coffee or some other drink on the terrace of the Alhambra Palace Hotel. You will have a beautiful view over the new city of Granada! Like others have written, the hotel is lokated a 5-10 minutes walk the street down from the main entrance of the Alhambra.

In this Hotel, you can get an impression of how the interior of ancient oriental palaces once must have been: they have wonderful wall-workings, big carpets, and furniture fitting the oriental style.
(in my eyes, it's a pity, that the Alhambra itself is so poorly and lovelessly renovated - nearly everywhere the old colour has faded away and the rooms are totally naked; and not a single room shows the original decoration the guides are talking about in their tours. It would have been easy to restore one or two examplary rooms to give the visitor an impression of the original oriental richness the califs and their families formerly lived in - like wall carpets, paintings, furniture or flowers. In the Alhambra, we found nothing of this and we asked ourselves: what are they doing with all the money they take from the visitors??????).

However, in the Alhambra Palace Hotel we found the flair, which we missed so much in the whole Alhamra!!!
We had a Junior-Suite for several days. All of these suites are located at the minus two ground floor with an overview over the new city of Granada. Forget, that you can sleep long!!! The guests, who have booked the early tour of the Alhambra will wake you up (and afterwards the cleaning staff), because the rooms are not well noise-protected! So it might be a good idea to book the early tour for youself because you cannot sleep long anyway in the morning - and it is much cooler in the morning than in the afternoon!!! We booked the late tour and enjoyed a very nice breakfast with champain in an atmosphere which you nowadays really find rarely in hotels. It sets you back in time for a couple of decades and there are only very few hotels left which spread this particular style, charm and style of hosting.

A tipp if you want to visit the old town: take a taxi. This is quite cheap and it makes fun to be driven through the narrow streets. Don't miss to visit the Mirador de San Nicolas which will spoil you with a breathtaking view on the Alhambra with the snow-capped mountains of the Sierra Nevada behind. On the plaza, in front of the old church, people play Flamenco music all night, and there are also some very nice restaurants where you can enjoy Andalusian food and can sit outside with the spectacular view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is not easy to take a 100 year old grand hotel into the present day, but they have done a great job with it. First of all, the location is astounding. Right next to the Alhambra Palace and Generalif gardens with astounding views for miles. As for a room with the view as it is worth it. Our room was very large, very comfortable and very up to date. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Plus it is a ten minute walk thru a park to the middle of Granada. Even stopping by for a drink at the bar as the sun goes down is worth a visit. We loved it!

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenbrae150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a perfect place to stay. Right near the palace. Gorgeous views. Very quiet. So glad we did not stay down in town. Definitely not as peaceful down there. We could walk right down and always took a taxi back up. The patio overlooking city is wonderful. Very easy to park your car right out front.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the hotel, and felt that the quality of the room did not match the cost. We felt the room was quite dated, and the bed was most uncomfortable. If we visited Granada again we would stay in the Old Town as there is a regular bus service to the Alhambra Palace, a much cheaper option.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bmj54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Customer, first of all we would like to thank you for your comment. It helps us to improve our quality and service. However, this is not the usual said by other customers as you will be able to read in the thousands of comment written in Tripadvisor. Our hotel has 103 years of history and as it is in continues renovations by our own housekeeping service who is always working in every detail in order to keep the best quality and service. Our location is privilege and gives to the guest the opportunity of living “in the Alhambra” as people may say. So this is why we hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again in our establishment so we can thank you personally. Assuring you our best care and attention at all times. We remain always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A fabulous hotel in a fabulous location. You feel your spirits lifted the moment you walk through the door. Eye-wateringly fascinating from top to bottom, and almost flawless food, drink and service. Hard to beat frankly. Unless you're young and fit, taxis are required from town, and to and from the Alhambra, especially if it's as hot as it was for our stay, close to 40c. We'd hired a people carrier, and the porters parked it for us in their small parking space in front of the hotel, and retrieved it at the end of our stay. Every-one helpful. Wonderful terrace on which to enjoy a quiet drink before and after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heraldic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing