We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alhambra palace, Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Alhambra palace, Granada”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here as part of a small group tour, so probably had one of the cheapest rooms. The hotel was swamped with large bus tours, and the reception area was constantly a bunfight. Consequently, the staff were courteous but brusque, as they were so busy.
The carpet in the passageways was shabby and lifting up. Our room was small but ok, though not much of a view. The wifi didn't work in our room- presumably because we were at the very end of the corridor. The breakfast was also a bunfight, with lots of bus tour guests vying ( sometimes very aggressively!) for food. The quality of the food was poor- very greasy hot food. The maitre d of the breakfast room was rude, perhaps not surprisingly, considering the crowds he had to contend with! The hotel was well located with respect to the Alhambra Palace. It was not a relaxing or pleasant place to stay, however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the wifi works, if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest, we would like to thank you for your comment but as you will read in the hundred of comment of Tripadvisor, this is not the usual. The restaurant where breakfast is served has a capacity of 150 people and because of the different hours that it opens, from 7:30 to 10:30 am, it is very unusual for our guests to find the restaurant crowds. The breakfast we offer is a buffet not just with Mediterranean food but with American and English breakfast with over seventy different products, even for celiac and special diets. So we hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again in our establishment so we can thank you personally. Assuring you our best care and attention at all times. We remain always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    525
    163
    57
    21
See reviews for
312
734
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just celebrated a significant wedding anniversary, and spent 2 nights in Granada. After reading all the TA reviews, splurged on a junior suite here.

Yes, it is a beautiful hotel--the lobby looking like something out of a Hollywood movie set, but for over $300/night, it just wasn't worth it.

It is totally isolated from all of Granada - the only benefit is you get to walk 15 min. uphill to the Alhambra.

However, the #30 bus takes you to the entrance door of the Alhambra from downtown. There are NO restaurants other than the hotel dining room ($50 and up for dinner) or the Terrace (which has $10 tapas and $20 salads). Downtown would have been a much better option.

If I had to do it again, I would have saved our money, stayed downtown, and taken the bus up to the entrance. Just felt that the cost was not worthy of the view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandiIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear costumer, We would like to thank you for your opinion, it helps us to improve. As you mention throughout your opinion, this hotel is located just 200 meters from the Alhambra and at just 15 minute from the center of the city (by walking) where you can find plenty of bars and restaurants as different options. The restaurant and the bar as well as, all our rooms and Junior Suites offer high quality and high service plus privilege views. So we are proud to say that our hotel is in the best hands when talking about gastronomy and service. That’s why price is justified in our 4 start Alhambra Palace Hotel. So we hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again in our establishment so we can thank you personally. Assuring you our best care and attention at all times. We remain always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a 100 year old hotel with majestic interiors and large rooms. The rooms have been well done, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is limited in variety & barely adequate. Since its near the Alhambra its far away from everything else. So, unless you're intending to study the alhambra in detail there's little point in staying here. The happening streets are about 15 min walk away from here and so are the food options. The hotel is littered with taxi's coming from the alhanbra and its a cheap ride down to the centre of town. The in-house restaurant is exclusive and very expensive. Ironically, they charge for bread baskets too ????

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandodkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDURAN, Director Comercial at Hotel Alhambra Palace, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear costumer, We would like to thank you for your opinion, it helps us to improve. Fortunately, this kind of comment it is not the usual comment we receive from the other clients. The breakfast we offer is a buffet not just with Mediterranean food but with American and English breakfast with over seventy different products, even for celiac and special diets. And when it comes to our restaurant, we are proud to say that, the panoramic restaurant with privilege views is in the best hands when talking about gastronomy and services. So this is why we hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again in our establishment so we can thank you personally. Assuring you our best care and attention at all times. We remain always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Needed an overnight hotel in Granada as wanted to visit the Alhambra Palace. Fantastic location with stunning view overlooking Granada. Very helpful staff who pointed out the Corpus Christi celebrations taking place in Granada which we really enjoyed. Hotel lounge areas are very pleasant and the breakfast was generous. Had two rooms which were both cramped but adequate. Our refrigerator did not work. The bathroom w.c. is extremely tight to the bath so would think a large person would be uncomfortable.

Room Tip: We booked through booking.com so it is possible we were not given the best rooms - contact the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavallins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is old time class. The hotel built around the turn of the last century is in an extraordinary location, most of the way up the hill to the Alhambra - of which more elsewhere. If you take the decision that you want to spend time up the hill then this is the spot for you. At night you can eat very well in the terrace dining room here with views over the city. And you can linger in the open bar terrace downing limoncello over ice in huge bowls till all the lights go out down there.

Then a short climb up hill and you're into the Alhambra and Generalife - the gardens and summer palace of the Sultan. In fact you'll feel like a Sultan, as the service is attentive, helpful and polite.

I remember travelling with my parents and staying in grand old European hotels such as this. They are a rare breed nowadays and anyone who doesn't recognise class like this needs to get back on a package holiday where they belong.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianmoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Staff was not very friendly or helpful, overall, and the room was expensive for what we got. The hotel's glory years passed long ago, the carpet is bare, the paint is peeling, and the charm is a bit lost. Spend a little more and stay at the Parador. Or save money and stay in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jross106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed two nights. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Check in and out was very quick. Room was good sized with a fabulous view of city. Small balcony with doors from both bedroom and restroom. Room decor was, as expected, old style, but very nice and everything functioned well. Five minute walk to the Justice Gate entrance of Alhambra. We went to the palace visit during the night time slot (10 pm) and had no problem walking back after as road is well lit. Ten minute walk downhill to town through beautiful forest. Hotel was quiet at night. Very peaceful location. Great place.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
1,590 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing