We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel close to Alhambra with great views of Granada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alhambra Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Classy hotel close to Alhambra with great views of Granada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed 1 night. Great room - a little cramped, although the bathroom was large. Large electronic room safe. Great views of Granada below. Hotel looks like it should be a movie set. Overall great location for tourist trying to hit highlights of Granada in short period (1 day for me) Valet parking was apparently included in my room rate. 5 minute walk to Alhambra. Walkable to Central Granada (for me 10 minutes - but I walk fast) and 20 minutes to Albaicin (Note this means you will be walking back up a steep hill. Taxis seemed to be always available across the street. It took me ~30 minutes to drive to airport (of course this was at 5 AM on a weekend) - don't follow Google map directions - a better way is to follow directions to Alhambra (exit 5 from A-395) go a short distance past Alhambra (head down hill) and hotel will be on your right. Relatively limited nearby restaurants - mostly across from Alhambra. Of course most (including Hotel Alhambra Palace) as typical of Spanish restaurants do not open for dinner until 8 PM or later, although I found 2 open at 6 PM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    518
    162
    57
    21
See reviews for
303
727
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taradale, Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Alhambra Palace for two nights in September 2012. What an amazing place to stay - close to the Alhambra - within walking distance and the views across the city were magnificent. We loved staying here - old world charm and the rooms were spacious and clean.
We loved sitting on the terrace at night and watching the sunset - having a glass of wine, something to eat and just enjoying the surroundings of the Hotel Alhambra Palace. The meals on the terrace were very good as was the service. We dined in the restaurant as well and the meals were wonderful - couldn't fault the meal.

We found the hotel was within close proximity to the Alhambra and the hotel were very good with their emails when I enquired before we left about purchasing tickets etc. Quick response and very helpful. In the end I purchased tickets on line to make sure we did not miss out on getting to see the Nasrid Palace area. We we got to the hotel we walked up to the ticket office and there is an area where you can validate your tickets. We were going the next day so decided to validate these to save time in the morning - well worth it if you have some time as there is so much to see.

The Alhambra was amazing and a real highlight of our trip to Granada plus staying at Hotel Alhambra Palace. All in all we had two wonderful days in this area. We saw everything at the Alhambra.

Thanks to all the staff who were helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoddardhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/Russia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is not for everyone but it was for me. Inaugurated by the King in 1910, as a luxury casino and hotel, and it looks like nothing has changed. If you love history and perhaps a bit of kitsch, you'll love this hotel. If you are expecting the 4 Seasons, you'll hate it. We loved it. It was wonderful and tacky and wonderful again.
Breakfast was good. A drink on the terrace, overlooking the town, is a must!
It is on a hill so you either have to walk up or down to get to the Alhambra or to town, but hey, what can you do? Actually, you can get a cab for cheap, which is what we did when our kids got tired.
YOU MUST BOOK THE ALHAMBRA TOUR IN ADVANCE OR YOU WILL GO TO GRANADA AND LEAVE WITHOUT SEEING THE TOUR. I can't stress this enough. The Alhambra (the palace, not the hotel) sells out their available tours nearly every day. There were a few scorned travelers in the hotel when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkouzmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights in early March and loved the hotel. The decor was lovely, views spectacular, service friendly and breakfast gorgeous. My only complaint is that we found the bed far too hard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Alhambra for 3 nights in February and mostly enjoyed our stay there. This is going to go against a lot of the other reviews however on the three consecutive mornings, not once was I able to have a hot breakfast even though we were always the first one at the door( jet lag does that to you!), the only item that was warmish was the scrambled egg. I have the feeling that the heat bars are not turned on early enough. The rest of the breakfast offering is good.
Reception is efficient but not overly friendly however the staff in the bar are lovely.
Hotel is close to the Alhambra so you will be at the top of the hill, there are a few ways to get to the city centre, from stairs, to road, to pedestrian access and of course the bus, just outside the hotel.
Our room was fine and would have been quiet if not for the dog in the room next door which decided to bark when owners were at dinner.
Granada has a beautiful city centre where you can walk for hours, walk to the abbey , great views.
Alhambra is one of the most wonderful site I have seen

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. We had a balcony with a stunning view of the city below. The room was good size and the bathroom was quite large. The employees were very friendly and helpful. One of the best places I've ever stayed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dicharlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Set high on the hillside, overlooking the ancient city of Granada sits the beautiful Alhambra Palace Hotel. This historic hotel exudes the perfect atmosphere for a stay in this captivating city. Have an appetizer and drink at sunset on the main deck that is perched as if on a birds wing, the jaw dropping views will confirm why you have chosen this hotel.

We stayed in five (5-star) hotels in Spain over 16 days, and although this was not the most polished, maybe not the best room we had or even the hotel with the least minor issues, it is the one that I will always remember, thanks to it's location and history.

If you go into the hotel taking pictures of missing grout or a small fray in a drape, you will miss what a hotel like the Alhambra offers, a chance to stay in a location where a modern hotel would no longer be granted access to build.(That close to Alhambra).

You can walk to the Alhambra Palace historic site (UNESCO) and even stroll beside it's lit walls in the evening, by walking just a few steps from the hotel. There is an interesting steep winding cobblestone street that will lead you down the hillside from the hotel to the center of town in about 10 minutes, but take a taxi or local bus back.

The Alhambra Palace Hotel has a nice restaurant, bar and also breakfast area where the meal was quality and well presented. During our time in Spain, we stayed in many historic places and small boutique hotel imbedded in the heart of narrow alleys or monasteries, but this hotel combined the history and stunning location.

So I would recommend a stay at the Alhambra Palace, a great experience without breaking the bank and a perfect launching point for exploration of this wonderful city.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that faces a view, some rooms do face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M_Stewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing