We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Alhambra for 3 nights in February and mostly enjoyed our stay there. This is going to go against a lot of the other reviews however on the three consecutive mornings, not once was I able to have a hot breakfast even though we were always the first one at the door( jet lag does that to you!), the only item that was warmish was the scrambled egg. I have the feeling that the heat bars are not turned on early enough. The rest of the breakfast offering is good.
Reception is efficient but not overly friendly however the staff in the bar are lovely.
Hotel is close to the Alhambra so you will be at the top of the hill, there are a few ways to get to the city centre, from stairs, to road, to pedestrian access and of course the bus, just outside the hotel.
Our room was fine and would have been quiet if not for the dog in the room next door which decided to bark when owners were at dinner.
Granada has a beautiful city centre where you can walk for hours, walk to the abbey , great views.
Alhambra is one of the most wonderful site I have seen

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank frenchyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. We had a balcony with a stunning view of the city below. The room was good size and the bathroom was quite large. The employees were very friendly and helpful. One of the best places I've ever stayed.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank dicharlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Set high on the hillside, overlooking the ancient city of Granada sits the beautiful Alhambra Palace Hotel. This historic hotel exudes the perfect atmosphere for a stay in this captivating city. Have an appetizer and drink at sunset on the main deck that is perched as if on a birds wing, the jaw dropping views will confirm why you have chosen this hotel.

We stayed in five (5-star) hotels in Spain over 16 days, and although this was not the most polished, maybe not the best room we had or even the hotel with the least minor issues, it is the one that I will always remember, thanks to it's location and history.

If you go into the hotel taking pictures of missing grout or a small fray in a drape, you will miss what a hotel like the Alhambra offers, a chance to stay in a location where a modern hotel would no longer be granted access to build.(That close to Alhambra).

You can walk to the Alhambra Palace historic site (UNESCO) and even stroll beside it's lit walls in the evening, by walking just a few steps from the hotel. There is an interesting steep winding cobblestone street that will lead you down the hillside from the hotel to the center of town in about 10 minutes, but take a taxi or local bus back.

The Alhambra Palace Hotel has a nice restaurant, bar and also breakfast area where the meal was quality and well presented. During our time in Spain, we stayed in many historic places and small boutique hotel imbedded in the heart of narrow alleys or monasteries, but this hotel combined the history and stunning location.

So I would recommend a stay at the Alhambra Palace, a great experience without breaking the bank and a perfect launching point for exploration of this wonderful city.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that faces a view, some rooms do face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank M_Stewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Definitely one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever been. Nice room, alhambra style decoration, an awesome view of Granada city from the balcony of the restaurant. Astonishingly beautiful walls all around. Very, very close to Alhambra (300m walk). Go!

If you go there, ask for the restaurant called Damaquera. At Cl. Damasquera 3 (not a bar with the same name in the same street). Awesome.

Room Tip: Check if wireless internet is working fine in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gvilazante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

First-class hotel, close to the Alhambra and centro. I think we were upgraded to a partial mountain view, room very large with a great bathroom(usual thing in Spain). Bar patio is fantastic for drinks and light fare, service was excellent. Slightly pricey but still reasonable.Did not eat dinner at the main restaurant as we ate in town. Breakfast was very good buffet.

Could have easily stayed another while here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We visited the hotel, another a couple of hundred yards from The Alhambra entrance, during the winter off season. So it was elegant and quiet, very clean, and with gracious personnel. It has been updated, some work is still underway, but very discreet. We'd highly recommend this hotel for travels who want an elegant stay overlooking the city.

Room Tip: be sure to be overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lovely old hotel with spectacular views of Granada from the restaurant terrace. the staff here were some of the nicest and friendliest I have encountered. It made our stay in Granada exceptional. Thank you to the lovely girl on reception.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelinapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,792 reviews
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,296 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,338 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $137 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing