We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alhambra Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent location, and views, staff helpful and informative. Close to the Alhambra Palace and just a few minutes down to the city, clean, excellent breakfast, a little dated, but nice to see the history of the hotel and the traditional decor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    504
    158
    57
    18
See reviews for
287
691
51
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Many come to Granada to visit the Alhambra palace. The HOTEL Alhambra Palace is a perfect place for this. Great location!

As with most hotels, the more you spend, the better your room. The larger suites are magnificent, but have the staff SHOW you your options before you buy! There is a HUGE difference even in the suites. Basic rooms, are quite basic.

Architecturally STUNNING, with magnificent views of the region from the bar! I've sat here in many occasions, in tears from the beautiful vistas below! May have been the Sangria talkin'! I recommend a Sangria high for sure!

This is an historic hotel and property, so there is no pool, something you'll miss if you are visiting in the summer for sure!

Tip: if you are visiting the Alhambra itself, get tickets ONLINE ahead of time! Lines can be DAUNTING!!!!

Room Tip: Because this is an historic hotel, the architecture provides for a WIDE range of room differences, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our "splurge" hotel on our 10 day trip to Spain. We were certainly wow-ed. You see it as you drive up through town, looking down over the city in all of its glory, and when you walk in it is wow, wow, wow at every turn.

We went at the end of October and were exhausted from our drive. We sat out on the balcony in the sunshine enjoying the view, sunset and a few cocktails/cervezas. The daiquiris are lemon in flavour only and are AMAZING!!! I looked forward to them every afternoon. They deliver them with complimentary almonds (they were huge and delicious) and you can ask for olives too - you do have to ask but they didn't charge us for them.

As many of the other review say, the rooms are a little outdated, but still very clean, have gorgeous views and the bathrooms are true to the Moroccan feel of the place.

It is a very short walk to the Alhambra Palace. It is about a ten minute walk into town down quite a steep hill so the walk home is a bit of huff and puff but it didn't bother us. We preferred having the view and wandering down for dinner every night. We did encounter a fair bit of rain while we were there and the lounge in the hotel foyer was lovely to relax in, read a book, order a daiquiri. I wish I was back there! Staff were also fantastic. Every single person we encountered was lovely. We drove to Granada and they parked our car for us as all the cars and parked about four deep out the front of the hotel. No problem when we had to ask them each day to take it out for us.

Great hotel to splash out on! Well worth taking a drive to the Sierra Nevada National Park while you are there. One of the highlights of our trip!

Room Tip: We did not ask for a room with a view but considering we went at a quiet time we got one. I would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jules_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Mature couple
Sale, United Kingdom

Very beautiful hotel, architecturally stunning with fabulous views over the city and towards the mountains. The hotel has an interesting history (Lorca, Segovia) and is very convenient for the Alhambra. Staying at the Alhambra Palace Hotel enriches the whole 'Alhambra experience'. Very smart, pleasant and polite staff who go out of their way to be helpful.


Did you find this review helpful? YesNo

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Good hotel mainly for its closeness to Alhambra which is a walking distance. Nothing much in the hotel. You need to get past the entrance of Alhambra place to get to any shop. Main thing is , you can get to hotel without going through the traffic of Granada by a special extension to the route to Alhambra. Also don't miss to see the high Sierra peeks when you drive past the place and getting to high way merge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We went to Granada in November. Weather was great and we stayed in the Hotel Alhambra Palce. Our main reason for the trip to Granada was to go to the Alhambra Palace. We did not plan to spend much time at other sites in the city. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Palace. It is some way from the main city but close to the old part of town and some great quaint restaurants. We walked up the street to the Palace for our tours.
The hotel was very clean and had great views of the city. The food was great and at a good price. The rooms were typical old world European.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The photos do not lie, this whole hotel looks like a sultan's palace. The beautiful arabic architecture and decor are matched by excellent service and a generally comfortable experience, and it allows you to extend the Alhambra experience significantly. I would recommend booking the breakfast option, since it is very good and it is a bit of a walk to most other options. My only complaint is a bit of wear and tear on carpets, but it was a minor issue considering the rest of this hotel's advantages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonW_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 124 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#30 of 124 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing