We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Ranked #16 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed at the Alhambra Palace for two nights in late November. Our goal was to visit the Alhambra itself and we chose this hotel for its proximity and because the Parador was not available. It was the perfect choice, as it turned out.

The hotel, though a century old, is in excellent condition both in the public areas and the rooms. It is built on a grand scale – like the Orient Express hotels of that era. We had a fabulous, spacious room that had two small balconies which had an excellent views of the city below and the snow-capped mountains to the east.

Most important, the service was impeccable – at the reception desk, the bar, the restaurant….attentive but not intrusive. We felt welcome and appreciated.

The hotel was able to arrange a small-group tour of the Alhambra at the last minute – we had not realized that advance booking was essential for a personalized or individual tour.

The room rate was very reasonable – especially when compared with some of our experiences at some other Spanish hotels. The only slight downside was the very expensive internet connectivity via Swisscom. All-in-all, we were extremely well satisfied.

I've read some of the negative comments in other reviews and the contrast with our experiecne was startling and difficult to understand. Also we paid $187 euros all in - booked ourselves over the internet.

  • Liked — Quality of wervice and the location
  • Disliked — internet cost
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    535
    166
    60
    22
See reviews for
319
750
52
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful. One other person who wrote a review said he/she thought the staff was awful. I find that very hard to believe. Perhaps, he/she got in return what he/she gave. We found everyone to be extremely polite, caring, and helpful. Our room was not elaborate, but it was just fine, as was the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and we enjoyed the hotel's free wireless Internet connection. The tub was large and we had plenty of hot water. In fact the water was almost too hot! Out our windows we had a spectacular view of the city. The hotel's lounge and bar areas are very pleasant, as is the balcony. The decor of the hotel is exquisite and it is kept spotless clean. The dining room and the main lobby are gems. We only ate two breakfasts at the hotel. That said, both breakfast buffets were superb! The hotel's location is terrific for visiting the Alhambra, since it's only a 10-15 minute walk to the entrance. Also, it's just a short jaunt down the hill to the city. We'd definitely return, if we wanted to again visit the Alhambra, but touring the Alhambra once is sufficient for us.

  • Liked — Hotel's decor and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Had zero negatives.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ckmSt_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We too booked this hotel based on reviews from Tripadvisor after being unable to get reservations at the Parador. I had some fears after reading many of the negative comments. We however have only good comments about the front desk staff, the wait staff and the porters. The hotel lobby and common areas were meticulously clean and the view from the bar terrace, especially at sunset, is fabulous. The room and bathroom were certainly not huge, but by European standards more than adequate. Our only complaint at all was the poorly functioning A/C.

Be aware that although the location and views are magnificent, and the hotel is very convenient to the Alhambra itself, it not terribly convenient to the rest of the city. We found ourselves making a number of treks back up the hill to the hotel at the end of the day or after dinner, usually at night up the relatively dark and somewhat forboding footpath to the Alhambra. There are options to take a cab for about 5 euros from Plaza Neuva, and there is an "Alhambra" bus which we didn't use that comes up the hill. If you are spending much time in the city of Granada itself, this hotel may not be the most convenient.

Finally as an aside, the restaurant Carmen San Miguel is an easy 300m walk from the hotel and was one of the high points of Granada for us. The tables on the terrace overlook the city, and at night are about as romantic as it gets, and the food and wine list were excellent. Highly recommended, though a little pricey.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERPriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

The hotel is only a 10 minute walk up a forested hill to the entrance of the actual Alhambra. And for us, the location was everything: We tried to book direct tickets to the palace on line a few weeks in advance of our visit, but the park was sold out during our stay. However, there are a limited number of tickets to visit the Sultan's palace right when it opens. Due to the close proximity of the hotel, we were able to trudge up the hill at 7AM (in the dark!) and wait in line before it opened. We visited the palace using the self-guided audio tour, were able to walk back to the hotel for a late breakfast, and then walk back to the Alhambra to visit the rest of the site. Of course, being near the park means you are NOT in the center of town near the night life, but it was worth it to us.

The hotel actually dates from the very early 20th century, is decorated in Moorish kitsch (think if Disney were to build a Moorish hotel) and given why you are probably in Granada is a rather fun experience. The Parador and some other smaller hotels are deep inside the park itself, definitely more intimate and authentic if you can get reservations, but are not that much closer to the ticket entrance.

The hotel staff is average bordering on surly at times (especially the bartenders!), with one outstanding exception: At the front desk, ask for Irene. Irene lived in Florida for many years and speaks fluent english. She was professional, charming, and passionate about ensuring we enjoyed our stay and had great recommendations for restaurants, tapas and shopping. Irene made a huge difference in our stay of Granada.

Our room, decorated in pleasant orange tones was blandly comfortable but certainly didn't give the Moorish atmosphere of the public rooms. Furnishings were of average quality. Bathrooms were rather small, but are completely tiled in dark green (almost black) and white tiles. The toilet was inconveniently wedged in next to the sink at a 90-degree angle. Cleanliness was passable but not spotless. Beds were comfortable but not of "Westin" level. We had trouble getting the A/C to make our room cool enough at night. We had asked for a balcony room, which had spectacular views day or night overlooking Granada.

Breakfast buffets included a large variety of eggs, breads, cereals, fresh fruits and juice, and meats. Quality was above average. Service was friendly but almost non-existent after they brought the coffee to our table. Dirty dishes definitely built up in piles after making successive trips to the buffet!

We used the front desk at the hotel to book us a private guide to visit the Alhambra again the next day (we had been too busy snapping photos the first time it is so spectacular, we really felt distracted from the historical aspects). Private guides and tours automatically get in through a different entrance with their clients, no reservations are necessary. The private guide price (over $300 for 3 hours) is not for the faint-hearted but was worth the additional historical insight to what we were seeing. They also booked us a Granada city tour in the afternoon at an even higher price, but given how poorly everything is marked in town (seeing Queen Isabella's crown and jewelery box from whence she gave the jewels to Christopher Columbus for instance) needed if you want to know what you are seeing.

Given the ultra-convenient location however, I would still choose to stay here again over staying downtown, despite the service shortcomings.

  • Liked — Location, concierge Irene
  • Disliked — Average staff, surly bartenders
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Steene
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Check In - Helpful lady (originally from Miami). Porter outside - unhelpful, grudging in assisting where to park the car, and only half wished to help with unloading the bags.

Standard room -Medium to small, basic, and smelly.

Bathroom - Very basic - long time for hot water to come to the shower and when it did alternated between luke warm and scalding and freezing.

Hotel recommended El Heurtadde Juan Ranas restaurant for dinner. My wife and I gave it 10 out of 10 for the view (over the Alhambra), 5 out of 10 for the food - mediocre, fussily presented and way over priced, and 2 out 10 for the service-unless you were a pretty girl in which case they fell over you.The waiter basically ignored us and the service, at best, was perfunctory.

Saw other diners from the hotel there so presume the hotel rates this restaurant.

Overall impression - based upon the room (patches of worn out carpet) and the service we had and the staff (apart from the receptionist) no reason to come back.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steeneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Lovely room with fabulous views over city. First class staff. Great terrace for drinks and superb breakfast.Expensive bur worth it.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank bigmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

This hotel is VERY convenient, it is quiet (at least so in early June), and our accomodations were very comfortable. But ... the service in the dining rooms was poor at best. At dinner our waiter just disappeared after taking our order, and we eventually got service by corraling another waiter. In the bar, with its wonderful view out over the city, we found the service persons shooting the bull in the bar, not out looking after the customers.

Too bad, as the stay was otherwise very good. This smacks of poor leadership from the hotel management.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — poor servicde attitude among staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank solotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra Palace

Property: Hotel Alhambra Palace
Address: Plaza Arquitecto Garcia de Paredes 1, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#17 Business Hotel in Granada
#21 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#25 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alhambra Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a revival of a grand tradition of European hospitality at Hotel Alhambra Palace. Inspired by the beauty of the Alhambra, our hotel conjures up a sense of culture, aristocracy and elegance. Relax on one of our terraces with a refreshing drink or outstanding gastronomy. Hotel Alhambra Palace has been offering stylish Granada hotel accommodation since 1910. Experience 100 years of tradition and unique Granada hotel living in the Hotel Alhambra Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alhambra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Palace Granada
Alhambra Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing