We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place of Dreams”
Review of The Alhambra

The Alhambra
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.88*
and up
Alhambra and Generalife Private Guided Tour in Granada
More Info
$118.65*
and up
Private Full Day Tour to the Alhambra from Marbella
More Info
$146.70*
and up
Granada Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Alhambra...
Ranked #1 of 217 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The second most visited site in Europe: this breathtaking palace-city is a sophisticated blend of medieval Islamic, Renaissance Christian and modern architectural styles..
North, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Place of Dreams”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Alhambra is that place you dreamed of when reading adventure stories when a child. You could almost stand still and believe yourself back in the centuries when this Moorish palace-fortress was alive with people. The light, the water, tiles, arches, decoration, ceilings will dazzle the visitor. Everywhere one looks there is color. A visitor can't help but marvel at this building.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler6102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23,051
    3,879
    1,028
    294
    380
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We enjoyed the visit to la Alhambra very much.
We went there with our 2yr old son, and we were a little afraid that he might be bored, but he was ok, mostly hearing the audioguide :D
The palaces and the gardens are great, and you have a beautiful look of the city.
Be sure to buy the tickets in advance (at least a month!) because it's not easy to get the date and time you want to visit the palaces. Also, if you go by car, the parking its large and you might have to park 2 or 3 blocks away from the entrance, and then the walk to the palaces is like 15 more minutes..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hmops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“cold rainy day”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we drove to granada from sevilla to see the alhambra and were underwhelmed. it was a rainy day. we did not go through the gardens but only visited the nasrid palaces and the alcazaba. both are very nice but probably a lot more atmospheric in good weather.
we bought our tickets on the internet in advance and could have them printed out at an atm in sevilla.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank clivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sønderborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Obviously a Must-See”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I feel a bit silly writing a review of the Alhambra, because it is so obviously a great place to visit. Maybe it can be helpful for me to confirm that it actually does live up to the hype. I have never been somewhere that simultaneously displays such beauty and power. It is simply a breath-taking place. The price is very reasonable, at about €14 to see everything. (You could easily spend the day here, if you want to experience every detail.)

I'll echo the other reviewers' suggestion: book your tickets online and way in advance to the Nasrid Palaces' portion of your visit. You'll need to get in line early for these palaces. It was no problem getting in, but my wife and I were there in November and there were still pretty big crowds. I can only image what it's like during peak tourist season.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilDK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More Beautiful Than I Even Imagined”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It had been a long-time dream to see The Alhambra. My husband, sister-in-law and I were picked up at the Malaga Cruise Port by Natalia Lopez Epin, an official, licensed tourist guide. We spent the day visiting the sites in Seville and Granada. Natalia's knowledge of the architecture and history of the area was a wonderful enhancement to our visit. We enjoyed seeing local artisans at work onsite following the old ways of doing beautiful handcrafts with Moorish influenced-designs. Natalia did not hurry us along, as can happen on large group tours, but guided us where the handicap-accessibility was best and yet kept us on schedule enough that we got back to the ship in plenty of time as I always want a time cushion in case of unexpected events while driving. Besides the Alhambra I recommend Natalia's service, too. She can be contacted by email at epin1967@hotmail.es or by telephone at 34-670-8189-82.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alhambra also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to The Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing