We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arabian Nights brought to life”
Review of The Alhambra

The Alhambra
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.96*
and up
Alhambra and Generalife Private Guided Tour in Granada
More Info
$117.52*
and up
Private Full Day Tour to the Alhambra from Marbella
More Info
$145.30*
and up
Granada Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Alhambra...
Ranked #1 of 217 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The second most visited site in Europe: this breathtaking palace-city is a sophisticated blend of medieval Islamic, Renaissance Christian and modern architectural styles..
Campanillas
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Arabian Nights brought to life”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Despite the monstrous bulk of Charles I & V's palace, the Alhambra retains a magic all of its own. The Nasrid kingdom of Granada comes to life as one walks through its magnificently decorated rooms, and in the Courtyard of the Lions, with each lion representing one of the twelves tribes of Israel, one is reminded of the halcyon days when Jews, Christians and Muslims lived together in total harmony. It can be crowded in season.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PadrePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28,004 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22,553
    3,796
    1,005
    289
    361
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came especially on the train from Seville which is a 3hour trip. I had booked entry to the timed entry palace for 3.30pm, with the plan that that would be our last place to visit before catching our train back at 5pm.
What a fiasco. On collecting the tickets, we saw that we could only gain access to most of the site from 2p.m. There was hardly anything to see before that. As well as us, there were alot of extremely disgruntled people around, who were in the same situation. The staff were unbelievably rude.and unhelpful. I cannot imagine why anyone works in the tourist sector when they are so grumpy and unhelpful. I work in a museum myself and would be fired if I had the attitude of the staff here.
The Alhambra does not, in my opinion hold a candle to the Alcazar in Seville, and is completely spoilt by the horrible people who work there.
A very disappointing visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank westbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“magnificent”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Really spectacular. Enormous grounds, gardens. Wonderful ceilings. A true historic treasure. We spent about 4 hours here in the rain and enjoyed every minute of it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank eab405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A world heritage historic site, beautiful setting.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are glad we included an overnight stop to Granada during our trip through southern Spain. The Alhambra was on my "bucket list". It did not disappoint. Centuries of history in a culturally diverse fortified hillside. Arrive as early in the day as possible and pay attention to times as some areas close earlier than others. By doing some advance reading, your trip will be more memorable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bily_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful but crowded”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Its a must - do visit. Go early and avoid some of the crowds. So many photo opportunities! Visit the area around the Alhambra for graceful gardens and excellent views.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alhambra also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to The Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing